Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections - The Collections

Guide to archival resources at USD

About the Mahoney Music Collection

Comprised of more than 4,800 books, periodicals, pamphlets, and ephemera, the Mahoney Music Collection is one of the most complete collections in the United States pertaining to the violin and violin family instruments. When combined with the Witten-Rawlins Collection of Early Italian Stringed Instruments at the National Music Museum, as well as other archival and book collections at the National Music Museum and the University Libraries, the Mahoney Music Collection establishes USD as the preeminent place to study the history of the violin. The collection not only provides a wealth of research and teaching opportunities for faculty and students, but also offers a chance for outside researchers to access a large range of rare materials in one location.

Search for books with keywords or browse by subject in the Mahoney Music Collection website or on the University Libraries online catalog.  All the items in the Mahoney Music Collection are listed in the Mahoney Music Collection Web site.  While cataloging of the Mahoney collection is ongoing, please use the library catalog to search for the correct call number when able.  

Search for the Mahoney Collection in the University Libraries Online Catalog: 

 

Go to the Advanced Search for more catalog search options.

Refine your search by limiting the location to Mahoney Music Collection. 

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0