Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections - The Collections

Guide to archival resources at USD

About the USD Archives

The USD Archives holds the records of the academic and administrative departments of USD as well as materials relating to the history of USD and the activities of its students, faculty, and alumni. The primary purpose of the USD Archives is to collect and preserve records pertaining to the origin and history of the University of South Dakota. Collection materials date back to the founding of the University in 1882.

The University, along with its schools, colleges, departments, faculty, students, and alumni, has been the subject of a number of publications. See below for a list of USD histories with links to the catalog.

USD Histories

USD Histories

 

Publications about USD:

Christol, Carl. The early history of The University of South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: The University of South Dakota, 1964. LD5073 .C45x

Clow, Richmond L. The University of South Dakota, 1967-1982. Vermillion, SD: The University of South Dakota, 1983. LD5073 .C56x

Cook, William A. "Early history of the University of South Dakota: the first quarter century, 1862-87." South Dakota Historical Collections 13(1926): 181-249. F646 .S76 v.13

Cummins, Cedric. As it was in the beginning: The University of South Dakota. The fourteenth annual College of Arts and Sciences lecture on liberal education. Vermillion, SD: College of Arts and Sciences, University of South Dakota, 1966. LD5071.8 .H37 1966

Cummins, Cedric. The University of South Dakota, 1862-1966. Vermillion, SD: Dakota Press, 1975. LD5073 .C85x

Dow, John G. “Early history of the University, 1862-1889.” South Dakota Alumni Quarterly published in installments from vol. 3, no. 3 to vol. 6, no. 3 (1907-1910). Alumni Newsletters, Alumni Quarterly & South Dakotan Collection, box 2, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, The University of South Dakota. Also in Main Book Collection and USD Archives Collection as LD5078.3 .D69x

Grauvogl, Ann. 150 years of pride, persistence & progress: The University of South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: The USD Alumni Association, 2012. LD5073 .G72 2012

Hanson, Sarah A. The University of South Dakota Photograph Collection: preserving our past in images, 1930-1999. Vermillion, SD: Archives and Special Collections, I.D. Weeks Library, The University of South Dakota, 2005. LD5074.5 .U54 2005

Knutson, Wayne S. “A story of faith and endurance: The University of South Dakota.” In From idea to institution: higher education in South Dakota, edited by Herbert T. Hoover et al, 13-32. Vermillion, SD: University of South Dakota Press, 1989. LA364.5 .F76 1989

Schell, Herbert S. “Early history of the University.” In Clay County: chapters out of the past, 167-182. Vermillion, SD: Vermillion Area Chamber of Commerce, 1985. F657 .C6 S36

Stockton, Frank T. This is what we tried to do in Coyote land, 1917-1924. Vermillion, SD: University of South Dakota, 1968. LD5073 .S76x T4

Additional information on The University of South Dakota can be found at http://www.usd.edu/about-usd/.

 

Publications and manuscripts about USD's academic units, programs, organizations, etc.:

American Association of University Women: American Association of University Women. South Dakota Division. Actors or Spectators? : The History of the South Dakota Division of the American Association of University Women, 1917-1963. Sturgis, S.D: 1963. LC 1759 .A67x A2

Art: Art in the college of Fine Arts. College of Fine Arts Collection, box 1, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota.

Art: Historical overview – Art Department. College of Fine Arts Collection, box 1, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota.

Arts and Sciences College: Cummins, Cedric, Robert C. Hilderbrand, and Stephen R. Ward. The College of Arts and Science, 1882-1982: a history. Vermillion, SD: College of Arts and Science, University of South Dakota, 1982. LD5079.5 .A78x C85

Athletics: Haase, Richard T. "The history of intercollegiate football, basketball, track, and baseball at the State University of South Dakota." Master's thesis, State University of South Dakota, 1965. LD5071.3x .H1127

Athletics: Jackson, Charles Walter. “The history of physical education at the State University of South Dakota.” Master's thesis, State University of South Dakota, 1962. LD 5071.3x .J13252

Athletics: Schell, Herbert S. “Athletic beginnings at the University.” In Clay County: chapters out of the past, 183-193. Vermillion, SD: Vermillion Area Chamber of Commerce, 1985. F657 .C6 S36

Athletics: Schell, Herbert S. “Gaining recognition in the world of athletics.” In Clay County: chapters out of the past, 194-206. Vermillion, SD: Vermillion Area Chamber of Commerce, 1985. F657 .C6 S36.

Biology: Churchill, Edward P. Building Biology at SUSD (1959). Edward Perry Churchill Collection, box 1, Richardson Collection, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota.

Black Hills Playhouse: Harnish, Frank, J. “The history of the Black Hills Playhouse and School of the Theatre, 1946, 1947 and 1948. 1949.” Master's thesis, University of South Dakota, 1949. LD 5071.3x .H2296

Black Hills Playhouse: The story of the Black Hills Playhouse in Custer State Park. College of Fine Arts Collection, box 1, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota.

Book store: Jemson, Robert. USD Book and supply store: the first eighty years, 1911-1991. Vermillion, SD: University of South Dakota, 1991. LD5075.U83 J45 1991

Buildings and infrastructure: Tour of the University of South Dakota's historic buildings. Vermillion, SD: Clay County Historical Preservation Commission, 2010. Date of contents 1883 – 1945. Copy in Special Books is a later reprint that one in main collection or Chilson Collection and has errors corrected. LD 5075 .C52 2010

Business Administration: Coolidge, Henry Pomroy. “A history of the school of business administration in the University of South Dakota 1927-1952.” Master's thesis, University of South Dakota, 1953. LD 5071.3x .C7778

Business School: Patterson, Robert F. The School of Business at the State University of South Dakota: a history of thirty years, 1927-1957. Vermillion, SD: Business Research Bureau, School of Business, State University of South Dakota, [1958]. ED 375:B 874/no.57

Dental Hygiene: “Dental Hygiene celebrates 50th anniversary.” South Dakotan 12 no. 2, (fall/winter 2017): 5. Alumni Newsletters, Alumni Quarterly & South Dakotan Collection, box 11, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, The University of South Dakota.

Dental Hygiene: Steil, Martha, 50 years of Dental Hygiene. Dental Hygiene Collection, box 2. USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota.

Economics: Stockton, Frank T. “The evolution of Economics in the University of South Dakota.” The Alumni Quarterly 14 no. 4 (January 1919) 99-105. Alumni Newsletters, Alumni Quarterly & South Dakotan Collection, box 2, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, The University of South Dakota.

Faculty Woman's Club: Bouniol, Eileen and Muriel Bunge. A history, 1913-1983: Faculty Woman's Club of the University of South Dakota, 1983. HQ 1906 .V47x B85

Fine Arts College: History of the College of Fine Arts. Music Collection, USD2014.05, box 9, folder CFA, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, The University of South Dakota.

Fine Arts College: The Continuing Harvest: A history of the College of Fine Arts at the University of South Dakota. College of Fine Arts Collection, box 1, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota.

Fine Arts College: History of the College of Fine Arts. College of Fine Arts Collection, box 1, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota. 1955.

Geological Survey: Vanorny, Patricia M. A History of the South Dakota Geological Survey. Series South Dakota Geological Survey, Educational Series 4 Cn. Vermillion: Science Center, University of South Dakota, 1970. QE164.S8 V3

Graduate School: Stockton, Frank T. “Development of graduate work at the University.” The Alumni Quarterly 15 no. 4 (January 1920); 115-124. Alumni Newsletters, Alumni Quarterly & South Dakotan Collection, box 2, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, The University of South Dakota.

Honors Program: Peterson, Malachi. “Marking 50 years at USD, Honors Program continues to instill ‘fearlessness’ in students.” South Dakotan 12 no. 2, (fall/winter 2017): 33-35. Alumni Newsletters, Alumni Quarterly & South Dakotan Collection, box 11, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, The University of South Dakota.

Law School: Meeks, Donald Norman. "A history of the University of South Dakota School of Law." Master's thesis, University of South Dakota, 1967. LD5071.3x .M4716

Medical School: Amundson, Loren H. An aesculapian centennial trilogy: a history of the University of South Dakota School of Medicine, 1907-1989. Sioux Falls, SD: The University of South Dakota, School of Medicine Alumni Foundation , 1989. W19 AS8 U58h 1989

Medical School: Grauvogl, Ann, and Danielle De Jager-Loftus. Committed to care: a century of medical education in South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: The University of South Dakota, 2007. R747 .S36 G72 2007

Phi Beta Kappa: Richardson, Mable. “The institution of the Alpha Chapter of South Dakota.” The Beta Kappa Key 6 (1926): 280-289. Student Organizations Collection, box 33, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, The University of South Dakota.

Radio and TV: Allen, Roger Byron. “A History of Radio and Television at the State University of South Dakota, 1949-1961.” Master's thesis, University of South Dakota, 1963. LD 5071.3x .Al546

Radio and TV: Dalen, Adrian Eugene. “A history of KUSD, the University of South Dakota radio station.” Master’s thesis, University of South Dakota, 1949. TK6558.V5 D3

Radio and TV: Phillips, Doug. “South Dakota adventures in ITV series.” 12th Annual Dakota History Conference (1980): 76-81. F 646 .D35x 1980

Shakespeare garden: Knutson, Wayne. The Shakespeare garden at the University of South Dakota. Speech given at Shakespeare Garden Festival, October 18, 2007. English Department Collection, box 1, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, The University of South Dakota.

Sororities and fraternities: McCahren, Nancy. History of Greek life at USD. Circa 1987. Student Organizations, box 35, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota.

Speech: Truman, Margot. “The history of speech education in the University of South Dakota from 1882-1942.” Master’s thesis, University of South Dakota, 1947. LD 5071.3x .T7715

Theatre: Dramatic Art in the College of Fine Arts. College of Fine Arts Collection, box 1, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota.

Theatre: Collins, Betty Jean. “The history of dramatic art at the University of South Dakota 1892-1948.” Master's thesis, University of South Dakota, 1948. LD 5071.3x .C69211

 

Newspaper articles and supplements: organized by date:

“SD’s University was born 7 years before state itself.” Volante October 8, 1957.

1968, a goal of excellence, a tradition of excellence: The University of South Dakota.” Supplement to the Vermillion Plain Talk October 17, 1968. LD5077.7 .D3 1968

“The University of South Dakota.” Supplement to the Vermillion Plain Talk October 9, 1969. LD5077.7 .D3x 1969

 

Autobiographies and biographies:

Abell, Usher: Abell, Usher. A fiddler's reflections on perseverance. Given to the fifty-seventh USD summer session commencement, August 7, 1986. National Music Museum, LD5077.2 1986

Akeley, Lewis: Akeley, Lewis E. This is what we had in mind: early memories of The University of South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: The University of South Dakota, 1959.  LD5073 .A6

Churchill, Edward: Churchill, Edward P. Three thousand coyotes and I: memoirs of a zoology professor, State University of South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: State University of South Dakota, 1962. Date of contents 1922-1961. QL31 .C54 A3

Clodfelter, Dwane: Clodfelter, Kim. Cloddy: Coach Dwane “Cloddy” Clodfelter, a pioneer in the integration of NCAA College basketball. Murfreebora Tennessee: Leone Press, 2018. GV884 .C56 C563 201

Colton, Winfred: Winfred R. Colton Dean College of Fine Arts 1921-1951. College of Fine Arts Collection, box 1, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota.

Epstein, Ephraim: Kerr, Susan Lee. The Extraordinary Dr. Epstein. 2015. PS374.H5 K477 2015

Epstein, Ephraim: Tingley, Ralph. “Ephraim Menachem Epstein.” Papers of the Twenty-First Annual Dakota History Conference (1989): 832-847. F646 .D35 1989

Farber, William: Farber, William Ogden, Footprints on the prairie: the life and times of W.O. Farber. Rapid City, SD: Chiesman Foundation for Democracy, Inc., 2005. F656 .F37 2005

Foss, Joe: Foss, Joe, and Donna Wild Foss. A Proud American: The Autobiography of Joe Foss. New York, NY: Pocket Books, 1992. D790 .F614 1992

Grabill, Ethelbert: Ethelbert W. Grabill. Dean of Music 1900-1918. College of Fine Arts Collection, box 1, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota.

Gutzman, Wayne: Gutzman, Wayne W. The career of a Kansas farm boy. Vermillion, SD: University of South Dakota, [1987?]. LA2317.G87 A3 1987

Hoy, Carl: Hoy, Carl B. According to Hoy: memoirs of a university coach. Vermillion, SD: State University of South Dakota, 1960. Bulk date of content 1927-1954. GV711 .H67

Lee, Warren M.: Rahn, Elizabeth Ann “Warren Marion Lee 1908-1978.” Papers of the Twenty-Second Annual Dakota History Conference (1990): 774-784. F646 .D35 1990

Lewis, Faye: Lewis, Faye Cashatt. The University I knew. 1973. She started at USD in 1915. Health Science Archives WZ 100 L673u 1973

Milton, John: Gasque, Thomas J. “John R. Milton: A Retrospective.” Papers of the Twenty-seventh Annual Dakota History Conference (1995): 220-229. F646 .D35 1995

Moses, Lloyd: Moses, Lloyd R. Whatever It Takes: The Autobiography of Lloyd R. Moses. Vermillion, SD: Dakota Books, University of South Dakota Press, 1991. E745.M57 A3 1991

Over, W.H.: James, Billie. “W. H. Over (1866-1936).” Papers of the Twenty-fourth Annual Dakota History Conference (1992): 218-234. F646 .D35 1992

Simonds, John Wesley: “President John Wesley Simonds.” The Alumni Quarterly 14 no. 2 (July 1918) 59-63. Alumni Newsletters, Alumni Quarterly & South Dakotan Collection, box 2, USD Archives, Archives and Special Collections, The University of South Dakota.

Solenberger, Edith: Solenberger, Edith Reeves, Some recollections of the University of South Dakota and Vermillion. Cedric Cummins Collection, box 5, Richardson Collection, Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota, 1967. Date of contents 1901-1906.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0