This is the "Home" page of the "Government Information Basic Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Information Basic Collection   Tags: government  

This guide serves as a point of access to government information titles in the “Basic Collection”.
Last Updated: Nov 16, 2016 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/BasicCollection Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Depository Libraries

Government Documents at Depository Libraries 

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government's information.  Since 1813, depository libraries have collected government documents and provided free access to them for the public. Anyone can visit one of the 1,250 Federal depository libraries and use the Federal depository collections.

 

     

    Welcome!

    Publications included in the Basic Collection are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of their federal government. The Basic Collection serves as a good resource when developing and maintaining a depository collection.

    The list of titles constituting the Basic Collection was first developed in 1977 to identify the most basic federal publications for inclusion in depository collections. This list has been periodically updated since then.

    A depository library is REQUIRED to have the titles in the Basic Collection accessible for immediate use.

     

     

    USD Libraries News

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding

    My Profile

    Profile Image
    Diane Frigge
    Contact Info
    Room 231
    (605) 677-6091
    Send Email
     

    Depository Logo

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip