Skip to main content

ERIC Documents: Home

The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.

Some ERIC Documents (ED numbers) not available in full text

The article I want says "PDF Restoration Pending". What does that mean?

This document was originally scanned from microfiche. Much of the text was lost in the digitization process and the resulting copy is barely legible.  In the meantime, the document can still be found on microfiche or obtained through interlibrary loan.

History of ERIC Documents

What is the history of ERIC?
ERIC was founded on May 15, 1964.  Learn more about the history of ERIC from the 50 Years of ERIC link below.

About ERIC Documents

The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is the world’s largest educational literature database of journal and non-journal documents. The ERIC database is sponsored by the United States Department of Education.  ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.6 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week.  If available, links to full text are included.  Within the ERIC Collection, you will find records for journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.  A growing number of full text materials are becoming available in the ERIC Collection as PDF documents.  About 65% of ERIC documents dating as far back as 1966 and as recent as 2004 are now available online.  If a specific ERIC document is unavailable online, check the ERIC Documents microfiche collection located on the 2nd floor of the University Libraries. Or you can get it through Interlibrary Loan.

Subject Guide

Diane Frigge's picture
Diane Frigge
Contact:
Rm 231, University Libraries
605-658-3391

Depository Logo

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0