USD Histories
Richardson Collection Finding Aids
USD Archives
This is the "USD Histories" page of the "Archives and Special Collections - The Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives and Special Collections - The Collections   Tags: archives, usd publications  

Last Updated: Nov 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/ASC-Collections Print Guide RSS Updates

USD Histories Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

USD Histories

USD Histories

Publications and Manuscripts about USD

Akeley, Lewis E. This is what we had in mind: early memories of The University of South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: The University of South Dakota, 1959. LD5073 .A6

Christol, Carl. The early history of The University of South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: The University of South Dakota, 1964. LD5073 .C45x

Churchill, Edward P. Three thousand coyotes and I: memoirs of a zoology professor, State University of South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: State University of South Dakota, 1962. QL31 .C54 A3 

Clow, Richmond L. The University of South Dakota, 1967-1982. Vermillion, SD: The University of South Dakota, 1983. LD5073 .C56x

Cook, William A. "Early history of the University of South Dakota: the first quarter century, 1862-87." In vol. 13 of the South Dakota Historical Collections, 181-249. Pierre: South Dakota State Historical Society, 1926. F646 .S76 v.13

Cummins, Cedric. As it was in the beginning: The University of South Dakota. The fourteenth annual College of Arts and Sciences lecture on liberal education. Vermillion, SD: College of Arts and Sciences, University of South Dakota, 1966. LD5071.8 .H37 1966

Cummins, Cedric. The University of South Dakota, 1862-1966. Vermillion, SD: Dakota Press, 1975. LD5073 .C85x

Dow, John G. “Early history of the University, 1862-1889.” South Dakota Alumni Quarterly published in installments from vol. 3, no. 3 to vol. 6, no. 3 (1907-1910). LD5078.3 .D69x

Grauvogl, Ann. 150 years of pride, persistence & progress: The University of South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: The USD Alumni Association, 2012. LD5073 .G72 2012

Hanson, Sarah A. The University of South Dakota Photograph Collection: preserving our past in images, 1930-1999. Vermillion, SD: Archives and Special Collections, I.D. Weeks Library, The University of South Dakota, 2005. LD5074.5 .U54 2005

Knutson, Wayne S. “A story of faith and endurance: The University of South Dakota.” In From idea to institution: higher education in South Dakota, edited by Herbert T. Hoover et al, 13-32. Vermillion, SD: University of South Dakota Press, 1989. LA364.5 .F76 1989

Lewis, Faye Cashatt. The University I knew. Health Sciences Archives, University of South Dakota., 1973. WZ 100 L673u 1973. She started at USD in 1915.

Schell, Herbert S. “Early history of the University.” In Clay County: chapters out of the past, 167-182. Vermillion, SD: Vermillion Area Chamber of Commerce, 1985. F657 .C6 S36

Solenberger, Edith Reeves. “Some recollections of the University of South Dakota and Vermillion, September 1901 to June 1906.” Cedric Cummins papers. Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota, 1967.

Stockton, Frank T. This is what we tried to do in Coyote land, 1917-1924. Vermillion, SD: University of South Dakota, 1968. LD5073 .S76x T4

 

 

 

 Additional information on The University of South Dakota can be found at http://www.usd.edu/about-usd/ 

 

 

 

Publications and Manuscripts about USD's Academic Units and Programs  

Amundson, Loren H. An aesculapian centennial trilogy: a history of the University of South Dakota School of Medicine, 1907-1989. Sioux Falls, SD: The University of South Dakota, School of Medicine Alumni Foundation, 1989. W19 AS8 U58h 1989

Churchill, Edward P. “Building Biology at SUSD.” Edward Perry Churchill papers. Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota, 1959.

Collins, Betty Jean. “The history of dramatic art at the University of South Dakota 1892-1948.” Master's thesis, University of South Dakota, 1948. LD 5071.3x .C69211

Colton, Winfred R. “History of the College of Fine Arts.” College of Fine Arts records. Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota, 1955. Other folders in the same box contain chapters from this book.

Cummins, Cedric, Robert C. Hilderbrand, and Stephen R. Ward. The College of Arts and Sciences, 1882-1982: a history. Vermillion, SD: College of Arts and Science, University of South Dakota, 1982. LD5079.5 .A78x C85

Grauvogl, Ann, and Danielle De Jager-Loftus. Committed to care: a century of medical education in South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: The University of South Dakota, 2007. R747 .S36 G72 2007

Haase, Richard T. "The history of intercollegiate football, basketball, track, and baseball at the State University of South Dakota." Master's thesis, State University of South Dakota, 1965. LD5071.3x .H1127

Harnish, Frank, J. “The history of the Black Hills Playhouse and School of the Theatre, 1946, 1947 and 1948. 1949.” Master's thesis, University of South Dakota, 1949. LD 5071.3x .H2296

“Historical overview – Art Department.” College of Fine Arts records. Archives and Special Collections, University of South Dakota. Undated.

Jackson, Charles Walter. “The history of physical education at the State University of South Dakota.” Master's thesis, State University of South Dakota, 1962. LD 5071.3x .J13252

Meeks, Donald Norman. "A history of the University of South Dakota School of Law." Master's thesis, University of South Dakota, 1967. LD5071.3x .M4716

Patterson, Robert F. The School of Business at the State University of South Dakota: a history of thirty years, 1927-1957. Vermillion, SD: Business Research Bureau, School of Business, State University of South Dakota, [1958]. HF5006 .S6 no. 57

Schell, Herbert S. “Athletic beginnings at the University.” In Clay County: chapters out of the past, 183-193. Vermillion, SD: Vermillion Area Chamber of Commerce, 1985. F657 .C6 S36

Schell, Herbert S. “Gaining recognition in the world of athletics.” In Clay County: chapters out of the past, 194-206. Vermillion, SD: Vermillion Area Chamber of Commerce, 1985. F657 .C6 S36

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip