This is the "Bound & Unbound II" page of the "Book Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to artist's books (books created or altered as original works of art).
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2013 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/bookart Print Guide RSS Updates

Bound & Unbound II Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Bound & Unbound II

August 28 - December 20, 2013 Bound and Unbound II: Altered Book Exhibition
November 1, 2013 Reception. University Libraries, 2nd floor

  • Final pieces in this exhibition are featured in a display on the second floor of University Libraries and showcase 45 pieces from 32 artists from Argentina, Canada, England, Hungary, Spain and the United States. The juror for the exhibition is Karen Bondarchuk, foundation area coordinator and associate professor at the Frostic School of Art, Western Michigan University. Juror’s Statement
  • Bound and Unbound II: Altered Book Exhibition” is photographed and cataloged, and has been placed in the Digital Library of South Dakota at http://bit.ly/un-bound. The exhibition is also open to the public during library operating hours (www.usd.edu/library/hours.cfm).  
 “El juego”,  Amparo B. Wieden. "Organic form #27", Peggy Johnston

             

 

Juror's Statement

Juror’s Statement

Bound and Unbound II: Altered Book Exhibition

In considering the submissions for this exhibition—admittedly, a labor of loveI did so with the hope of creating an exhibition that would demonstrate the breadth of work that encompasses the altered book. I was thrilled to discover that the entries included an international array of books, varying widely in style, subject, media, influence and approach. Inasmuch as the final selections were made with a desire to show a range of altered book possibilities, I ultimately chose works that had superlative attention to detail and crafting, as well as those that pushed the boundaries of conceptual, philosophical and formal intrigue.

The subject of the original book clearly inspired a number of the pieces in this exhibition, while some artists co-opted books as tabulae rasae. Some were whimsically and humorously translated, as with Marina Bancroft’s What Happened and Sue Sommers’s Encyclopedia Rebound, while others, like Carole Kunstadt’s delicate Sacred Poem series, Linda Gail Illumanardi’s Alchemy and Kaylynn Sullivan Two Trees’s stunning Sweet Songs from the Hive, are quiet and contemplative interpretations of sacred texts. Two beautifully considered works by Gina Pisello (Folding Cranes) and Curt Lund (Field Guide) manifest a literal interpretation of their chosen books, while Stephanie Dykes’s striking transformation series using Language in Culture and Society plays metaphorically with the complexity of the written word. Regardless of approach and inspiration, each altered book in this exhibition conveys an exceptional level of accomplishment and dedication. 

My sincere congratulations go to the artists for their remarkable books, as well as gratitude for sharing your work and making my task as juror a real pleasure.

-Karen Bondarchuk

A heartfelt thank-you to Sarah Hanson, Danielle Loftus, and Abby Moore at the University Libraries for the wonderful opportunity to serve as your first juror.  Your passion, enthusiasm and commitment is awe-inspiring! 


Bondarchuk is foundation area coordinator and associate professor at the Frostic School of Art, Western Michigan University in Kalamazoo, MI.

 

Artist info

Pat Badt is Professor of Art at Cedar Crest College.    She received her MFA from the University of Pennsylvania and her BA from the University of California, Santa Cruz.  She has been the recipient of many awards and prizes including an NEA for painting and artist residencies at the Bau Institute in Otranto, Italy and the Virginia Center for Contemporary Art.  She has exhibited widely including exhibitions in Brussels, New York, Philadelphia and Los Angeles.  Her work is included in collections at the American Embassy in Riga, Latvia, the Ruth Hughes Collection of Artist Books at Oberlin College and Bryn Mawr College and the University of Tennessee Knoxville.

Alicia Bailey is a studio artist working across multiple disciplines. She has focused on book arts and assemblage since the mid-nineties, producing artists’ books, sculptural books and limited edition books. Alicia’s work embraces a wide variety of methods and materials. It has been featured in dozens of solo and group exhibits throughout the world and is held in numerous public, private and special collections. www.aliciabailey.com

Marina Bancroft is a mixed media artist based in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. She has a background in biological sciences and the visual arts. In the last few years she has focused on experimenting with collage and using her artist’s books to express her ideas about the world. She has participated in numerous exhibitions throughout North America as well as in New Zealand and the UK. Her works are part of public and private collections. www.marinabancroft.com

                                                                                           

Aileen Bassis is a native of New York City who now lives in New Jersey, she holds a BA in studio art from SUNY Binghamton and an MA in creative art from Hunter College. She has been awarded multiple artist residencies including the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, Frans Masereel Center in Belgium and a Dodge fellowship to the Vermont Studio Center. She has received a fellowship from the NJ State Council on the Arts and a grant from the Puffin Foundation. Widely exhibited in galleries and universities, Bassis has had solo shows at Rutgers University, Moravian College, University of Pennsylvania and Ohio University. Her work is in the collections of Wellesley College, the Newark Public Library, the NY Public Library, Royal Museum of Fine Arts, Antwerp, St. Stephen Museum, Hungary, and the Nelimarkka Museum, Finland. She creates work in book arts, printmaking, installation and digital photography and is also a published poet. www.aileenbassis.com

Patty Bruce is currently a resident of Boston, Massachusetts. She earned a MSED from the University of Southern California and a degree in graphic design while in Texas. She trains at the American Academy of Bookbinding with Monique Lallier specializing in French binding and studies other archival structures from Jan Sabota in the Czech Republic. Her experiences now include printmaking, letterpress and sculptural binding allowing a fuller realization of the completed book. Bruce received a Master’s of Object/Sculptural Binding diploma from Society of Bookbinding of the Czech Republic. She works full time binding books in her studio in Massachusetts.

Stefanie Dykes is a co-founder of Saltgrass Printmakers. Established in 2003, Saltgrass Printmakers is a non-profit printmaking studio and gallery located in Salt Lake City, Utah. Stefanie has taught relief, screen and etching printmaking classes at the University of Utah, Westminster College, Snow College and Saltgrass Printmakers. Dykes received her MFA from the University of Utah in 2010. www.SaltgrassPrintmakers.org

Karen Hardy is a Pittsburgh-based artist who works primarily with non-traditional papermaking techniques in a variety of forms, including artist books, sculpture, and installation. A graduate of the Book Arts & Printmaking MFA Program at The University of the Arts in Philadelphia, her work is part of prominent national collections and is widely exhibited both nationally and internationally. Prior to beginning her career in art as proprietress of Hardy Letterpress in 2008, her academic and professional experience centered on botany, horticulture, and landscape architecture; this background in the natural sciences informs her current art practice and experimental approach to materials. Hardy has served as Letterpress Associate at Pyramid Atlantic Art Center, Artist-in- Residence at The Southwest School of Art, and as an intern at The Morgan Art of Papermaking Conservatory. http://www.khardy.com     http://hardyart.blogspot.com

Linda Illumanardi has been exploring handmade and altered books since 1979. With a M.A. in Painting, Linda has taught Visual Arts to grades K-adult, and has studied ceramics, printing, found object assemblage, and hand-bound books.  She began to take books seriously when she completed her first Coptic binding. Later a set of collagraph plates became the basis for “Remember Their Faces,” which will be released in Lark’s 500 Handmade Books, Volume II.  Linda continues to design and alter books on commission, and as personal mementos.

Carole P. Kunstadt received her BFA, magna cum laude, from the Hartford Art School, West Hartford, Connecticut. A tapestry designer, fiber artist, collagist, painter, and book arts artist. Her work is in the Book Arts Collection of the National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington, D.C.; The Permanent Collection of the Center for Book Arts, New York, NY; the Montclair State University Collection, Montclair, NJ and the Curt Teich Postcard Archives, Lake County Discovery Museum, Wauconda, IL. http://www.carolekunstadt.com

Curt Lund is an artist in screenprinting, found media collage, altered books, digital design, photography, fiber and textile, bookbinding and sculpture, and among others.But despite the variations in medium, technique or form, the resulting works often reveal a shared insight into the nerdy fascination with science and pseudo-sciences, geography, social studies, and systems and how they function: diagrams, technical drawings, charts and graphs, instructions and explanations.

Kerry McAleer-Keeler is Director of the Art and the Book graduate program and Assistant Professor at the Corcoran College of Art & Design in Washington, DC. She has an MFA from The George Washington University and a BA from Mount Holyoke College. Her work is in such collections as the Smithsonian American Art and National Portrait Gallery Library, Library of Congress, National Museum of Women In the Arts, The George Washington University, George Mason University, VA, St. Mary’s College, MD, Corcoran College of Art + Design Library, The Corcoran Gallery of Art and the Southern Graphics Council Archives. Her work has been selected for individual, group, and juried exhibitions throughout the U.S. and internationally.Kerry’s personal studio is part of the LibertyTown Arts Workshop in Fredericksburg, VA. Her work appears in such publications as The Book as Art: Artists’ Books from the National Museum of Women in the Arts and 500 Handmade Books, Vol. 2 by Lark Books. She has taught printmaking and book arts at the Corcoran since 1999.

Gina Pisello has a background in biology and secondary education. She has been a part of San Diego Book Arts for ten years and has grown as an artist thanks to the support and opportunities made possible by this organization. Her work has been seen in art publications, San Diego area public libraries and juried art shows around San Diego County and the country. Her work is in several private collections. Some of her work can be seen at www.sandiegobookarts.com/gallery_bio.aspx?id=27

Liliana Rothschild was born in Buenos AiresArgentina. Her studies include: National Fine Arts School , Buenos AiresArgentina - Diploma in painting and drawing. Her media is textile and printing workshops. She went to postgraduate school in Visual Arts, Buenos AiresArgentina. She is a member of the “Centro argentino de arte textile” (Argentine textile art center). http://smg.photobucket.com/user/lilianarothschild/library/

Mark Addison Smith’s design specialization is typographic storytelling, allowing illustrative text to convey a visual narrative through printed matter, artist’s books, and site installations. With his on-going, text-based archive, You Look Like The Right Type, he has been illustrating snippets of overheard conversations every day since 2008 and exhibiting them as larger-scale conversations in venues including Brooklyn Artists Gym, A+D Gallery in Chicago, and MAGMA Brand Design’s Slanted Magazine. He holds a Master of Fine Arts from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and is an Assistant Professor of design at The City College of New York. http://www.youlookliketherighttype.com     http://markaddisonsmith.com

Marilyn Stablein’s artist books and book sculptures have been exhibited at the University of San Diego, University of Nebraska, Pyramid Arts Center, Rhode Island School of Design, Delaware Center for Contemporary Art, University of Puget Sound and other venues including online in The Bone Folder, in 1000 Artists Books (Lark Publishers,) 500 Artists Books (Lark 2013) and in Bound & Lettered Magazine. She is represented by Vamp and Tramp booksellers.  Visit her website marilynstablein.com for upcoming shows, talks and workshops.

Pat Strakowski graduated from the Alberta College of Art and Design. Her statement: I use recycled materials and found objects to create my altered books.   I am always looking for that “special something” that attracts me to want to transform an ordinary book and make it   special.  I found the book “L’Alchimiste”  on my travels to Yellowknife, NWT, Canada  at their  city dump.  I knew at once this book had possibilities.  The title alone, “L’Alchimiste” told me this was not an ordinary “throw away” book .  It needed transforming.  Finding the right elements, colors, and found objects was the challenge.  The loose ends found throughout the book are attractors for found objects

Kaylynn Sullivan TwoTrees has spent a life at the crossroads where species, cultures, beliefs and the unknown collide and find both dissonance and resonance.   Based on over 30 years of learning, input and guidance of indigenous elders, all of her current work as an artist/activist/guide & tracker is focused on helping humans re-orient to our indigenous mind and regenerate our essential relationship with the Earth's wisdom. She is past recipient of the Lila Wallace International Artist Award and her installation, performance and sculptural work has been exhibited in the US, Europe and New Zealand. www.ktwotrees.com

Christy Turner earned her BFA with honors from Oregon State University in 2012, with an emphasis on printmaking and book arts. Though she works in a variety of mediums, Turner's work focuses on recurring themes of interpersonal relationships and biology. http://christyturnerart.com/home.html

Courtney Lee Weida is an Assistant Professor of Art Education at Adelphi University in Garden City, New York.  She has also taught courses in art education, studio art, and art history at Radford University, Columbia University Teachers College, and the State University of New York.  She serves as a teaching artist in New York public schools.  She is an artist with experience managing a graduate ceramic studio. Her recent publications address ceramic art, studio craft, technology, and gender issues in art education. http://www.courtneyweida.com/



Amparo Wieden enjoys creating work framed in photography, or painting, or printmaking. She started studying Find Arts in Valencia and got her Masters at New York University. She joined the Faculty of Fine Arts as a professor and at the UPV. Her awards include: Award of the Salon d’Automne Jacomart Paintings Estil Valencia and Prize for Painting, among others. www.ABWieden.com

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip