Title PageScope and Contents
This is the "Overview" page of the "Caroline Bowersox Collection of William Henry Jackson Photochroms" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Caroline Bowersox Collection of William Henry Jackson Photochroms  

Please e-mail speccoll@usd.edu with comments & questions
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2016 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/bowersox Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collection Summary

 

Title                                Caroline Bowersox Collection of William Henry Jackson Photochroms
Span Dates 1898-1901
Bulk Dates 1901
Quantity 0.5 linear feet
Location     Archives and Special Collections, University Libraries, University of South Dakota.
Summary

Born on April 4, 1843, in Keeseville, New York, William Henry Jackson was an American photographer and artist who started his career in a studio retouching photographs at the young age of 15. Working at diverse photography related jobs and building up a portfolio, Jackson eventually found himself shifting into publishing at the Detroit Publishing Company.

Jackson sold his entire collection, consisting of about 10,000 negatives, in 1897 to the company and in 1898 Jackson became president, with archives which produced pictures arraying from postcards to mammoth-plate panoramas.

The Caroline Bowersox Collection of William Henry Jackson contains photochroms made by Detroit Publishing Company from photographs taken by William Henry Jackson. 

Finding Aid Permalink Cite or bookmark this finding aid as: libguides.usd.edu/bowersox
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip