Skip to main content

Book Art

A guide to artist's books (books created or altered as original works of art).

Useful Websites

Artists' Books Online

Book Arts Web

Glossary of Binding TermsFrom the Preservation Department at the University of Florida.

The Magic Box: Fun folded box-binding by Edward Hutchins

Booklyn Education ManualLots of downloadable tutorials for one sheet, accordion, pamphlet, coptic and more.

George Mason University Book Arts: Artists' Books as Visual Language

Vamp and Tramp Booksellers

Women's Studio Workshop

The NY Art Book Fair

Other Artists' Books Collections

The Directory of Artists' Books Collections

This directory has been compiled to increase awareness of artists' books collections. It currently contains collections primarily in the United States and Canada. Special thanks to members of the Art Libraries Society (ARLIS) for their contributions.

Associations

  • American Printing History Association (APHA)
    The American Printing History Association (APHA) is a membership organization that encourages the study of the history of printing and related arts and crafts, including calligraphy, typefounding, typography, papermaking, bookbinding, illustration, and publishing. The organization does this through a wide variety of programs and services: the annual three-day conference and Lieberman Lecture series; the oral history project; the fellowship program; the scholarly journal Printing History and other special publications; and the annual individual and institutional awards that honor distinguished achievement in the field of printing history.
  • The College Book Art Association
    The College Book Art Association supports and promotes academic book art education by fostering the development of its practice, teaching, scholarship and criticism.
  • Designer Bookbinders of America (DBOA)
    Founded in June 2011, DBOA preserves and maintains the highest standards in technique and design used in the creation of design bookbinding, through teaching, discussion, and displaying the work of those members living and working within North, Central, and South America.
  • Fine Press Book Association (FPBA)
    The Fine Press Book Association (FPBA) is an organization of individuals interested in the art of fine printing, formed with the goal of promoting the appreciation of beautiful books and printing skills.
  • Guild of Book Workers: the National Organization for All the Book Arts
    The Guild of Book Workers promotes interest in and awareness of the tradition of the book and paper arts by maintaining high standards of workmanship, hosting educational opportunities, and sponsoring exhibits.
  • Society of Book Binders
    The Society of Bookbinders is a UK-based educational charity dedicated to traditional and contemporary bookbinding and to the preservation and conservation of the printed and written word. The society is organised into eight UK regions plus a ninth region for overseas members. The UK regions hold regular meetings at which masterclasses, lectures and demonstrations are given on various bookbinding or binding-related subjects and techniques. The regions also hold social events, organise visits and exhibitions and represent the SoB at local book and craft fairs. At a national and international level, the society organises a biennial Education & Training Conference accompanied by an International Bookbinding Competition. A smaller E&T Seminar is held in non-Conference years. Members receive regular Newsletters as well as the society's flagship journal, BOOKBINDER, which is published annually. The SoB also produces educational and documentary bookbinding DVDs.

Pyramid Atlantic Art Center

The art center (located in Silver Springs, Maryland)  is dedicated to contemporary books, paper, and prints. It was founded by Professor Helen Frederick.

The Book Artists Process

See artist Julie Chen talk about her process when creating artists' books.

Book Arts News

  • Book Arts Listserv (BOOK_ARTS-L FAQ)
    This listserv will send subscribers an email digest of news related to book arts. News includes technical tips; publication, workshop & conference announcements; as well as other helpful banter. The listserv archive is fully searchable. Instructions for subscribing are available at this site.
  • College Book Art Association (CBAA LISTSERV)
    The College Book Art Association supports and promotes academic book art education by fostering the development of its practice, teaching, scholarship and criticism. The CBAA Yahoo group is open to everyone interested in issues related to Book Art at the college level.

Blogs

The Book Art Blog

A blog for book artists and their lovers.
Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0