Skip to main content

South Dakota Library Association (SDLA)

Please e-mail speccoll@usd.edu with comments & questions.

Contents List


Box 1

PHOTOGRAPHS (2 folders)

Color, 1989 Conference (31 unidentified photos)

Color, 1995-1999

1995, Health Sciences Section Officers (1 photo)

1996, Health Sciences Section Officers (2 photos)

1996, Ballooning USA (1 photo)

1997 Convention (2 photos)

Awards Winners

David Patneaude, 1996 Prairie Pasque winner

1998 Convention (5 photos)

Tom Fairbanks, Friend of the School Library Media

Delores Berger, Distinguished Service Award

Norma Millard, New Librarian of the Year

Barbara Robinson, Prairie Pasque Winner

Ronelle Thompson, Librarian of the Year

Harry Willens, Conference Keynote Speaker

1999 Convention (5 photos)

Dorothy Liegl, Distinguished Service Award and Mary Quiett Librarian of the Year

Brenda Standiford, New Executive Secretary

Suzanne Miller, new State Librarian

Elecia Pena, Best of Show Winner

William R. Gordon ALA Executive director, conference speaker

1999, Madison Libraries Precision Book cart Drill Team

 

CORRESPONDENCE

1948-1998, n.d. (29 folders)

 

ADMINISTRATION

Conference and Convention

1905-1927 (18 folders; contains all years except 1907-1910; 1915)

1927-1935 Convention Minutes Binder

1928-1952 (23 folders; contains all years except 1930 and 1945)

 

Box 2

ADMINISTRATION, cont.

Conference and Convention, cont.

1953-1963 (11 folders)

1964 (2 folders)

Convention Correspondence

Convention Materials

1965-1968 (4 folders)

1969 SDLA-NDLA Convention

1970-1974 (5 folders)

1975 SDLA-NDLA Convention

1976 (1 folder)

1977 SDLA-NDLA Convention

1978-1979 (2 folders)

1980 (2 folders)

Convention Correspondence

Convention Materials

 

1981 (2 folders)

Convention Correspondence

SDLA-NDLA- MPLA Convention Materials

1982-1984 (3 folders)

1985 (2 folders)

Convention Correspondence

Conference Materials

1986 (1 folder)

1987 SDLA-MPLA-NDLA Convention (1 folder)

1988 (2 folders)

Convention Materials

Conference Survey

 

Box 3

ADMINISTRATION, cont.

Conference and Convention, cont.

1989-1991 (3 folders)

1992 (11 folders)

Convention Manuals

Conference Booklet (SDLA)

Conference Manual (SDLA)

Exhibits Committee Guidebook (2 folders) (SDLA)

MPLA Convention Manual 1990

Planning Chapter Conferences: A Guide (ALA) 1990

Convention Materials

Convention Planning Committee

Correspondence, 1991 – 1992

Minutes and Reports

Convention Presenters Correspondence, 1992

1993

1994 (2 folders)

Convention Materials

Convention Manual

1995 (2 folders)

Tri - Conference

Tri - Conference Binder Materials

1996 (2 folders)

Conference Materials

Conference Speakers

1997-2001 (5 folders)

2002 Triconference

2003 SDLA / MCMLA

2004

 

Box 4

ADMINISTRATION, cont.

Conference and Convention, cont.

2005 (2 folders)

Convention Materials

Local Arrangements Committee Minutes

2006

2007

2008

2009

2010

2011

2012

2013

2014

 

Executive Board

Correspondence (11 folders)

1945-2007, n.d.

Minutes (43 folders)

1944-2011

 

Box 5

ADMINISTRATION, cont.

Executive Board, cont.

Minutes

2012-2015

Strategic Plan

2005-2007

2008-2011

2012-2014 (3 folders)

 

Box 6

ADMINISTRATION, cont.

Officers

President

Virgil T. Massman, 1970-1971

Correspondence, 1971 (1 folder)

Mona Swanson, 1972-1973

Correspondence, 1972-1974 (1 folder)

Dora Ann Jones, 1980-1981

Correspondence, 1981 (1 folder)

Joseph Edelen, 1984-1985 (61 folders)

Correspondence, 1984-1985

ALA

Councilor

Comparable Worth Pay

Copyright Subcommittee Liaison

Federal Relations Coordinator

Legislative Day

Let’s talk about it

Membership Information

Membership Task Force

“A Nation of Risk”

National Library Week

Nuclear Freeze Resolution

Status of Women Committee

We the People

Book Marks

Editor

Newsletter Information

Centennial Project

Committees

Auditing

Certification & Accreditation

Constitutions and By-laws (ad-hoc)

Documents

Finance/Membership

Intellectual Freedom

Library issues

Loan and Scholarship

Nominating

Public Relations

School Standards

Trustee Award

Conference

Challenge Grants

Exhibits

General information

Incentive Program

Potential Programs

Pre-Conference Mailing

Resolution

Sites

Executive Reorganization (1984) South Dakota

Executive Secretary

Governor’s Centennial Tree Planting Campaign

Internal Revenue Service

Janklow vs. Viking Press

LSCA Funding

MPLA Representative

Organization Structure Study (1981-1982)

Parliamentarian

Box 6, cont.

ADMINISTRATION, cont.

Officers , cont.

President, cont.

Joseph Edelen, 1984-1985, cont.

Procedures Manual

Roundtable Paraprofessional

SDLA Secretary

Sections

Academic

Health Sciences

Public Library/Trustees

School Library/Media

SD Authors, Catalog

SD Women’s Network

State Librarian

State Library Board

Statewide Automated Online System

Treasurer

WHC List Representative

Leon Raney, 1991-1992

Correspondence (2 folders)

1988-1991

1992

Terri Davis, 1992-1993

Correspondence, 1993-1994 (1 folder)

Bonnie Bauman Harrison, 1995-1996

Correspondence, 1995-1996 (1 folder)

Jane Larson, 1996-1997

Correspondence, 1996-1997 (1 folder)

Rise Smith, 1997-1998

Correspondence, 1997-1999 (1 folder)

Mike Mullin 1999-2000

Correspondence, 1999 (1 folder)

Dennis Nath, 2003-2004

Correspondence, 2004 (1 folder)

Deb Hagemeier, 2004-2005

Correspondence, 2004-2005 (1 folder)

Greta Chapman, 2006-2007 (1 folder)

Robin Schrupp, 2007-2008 (1 folder)

Box 7

ADMINISTRATION, cont.

Officers , cont.

ALA Councilor (5 folders)

Correspondence, 1955-1998

Arbuthnot Lectureship, 1991-1994

Printed ALA Materials, 1993-2000

Reports, 1958-1999, n.d.

Typescripts, 1964-1968

Book Marks (2 folders)

Correspondence, 1984-1998, n.d.

Reports, 1959-1989

Executive Secretary (3 folders)

Correspondence 1998

Position Description and Contracts

Reports 1998-2006

Federal Relations Coordinator (1 folder)

Reports 1996-2003

Historian (3 folders)

Correspondence, 1961-1998

Archives Presentation, 1988

Reports, 1953-1985

MPLA Representative (3 folders)

Correspondence, 1956-1998, n.d.

Reports, 1956-2002

MPLA Conference Manual, 1993

Past President (1 folder)

Correspondence, 1993-1998

Secretary (4 folders)

Correspondence, 1959-1998, n.d.

Secretary Book

1906-1919

1920-1928

1937-1941

Treasurer (24 folders)

Correspondence, 1954-1998

Bond Insurance, 1970-1989

Budget, 1955-2008

Financial Reports and Statements, 1957-1983

Ledger Books

1906-1926

1931-1953

1955-1975

1974-1984

1983-1989

1994-1995

Procedures

Reports

1945-1976

1980-1989

1990-1999

2000-2006

Tax Exemption Forms

1982-2006, n.d.

Vice-President/President-Elect (1 folder)

Correspondence, 1979

 

Box 8

PHOTOGRAPHS (6 folders)

Black and White, 1940-1959

Vermillion Public Library 1940

ALA Convention South Dakota Table, 1959

Black and White, 1977 (13 photos)

Square Dancing

Exhibits

Dorothy Liegl

Unidentified

Emily Guhin

Unidentified (2 photos)

Jon Olson

Jay Paulukonis

Vince Anderson

Jane Kolbe

Membership at conference

Unidentified

Black and White, 1978 (22 photos)

Dorothy Liegl (3 photos)

Unidentified (19 photos)

Black and White, 1982 (3 photos)

Hospital Library Booth

Black and White, 1984 (14 photos, 3 proof sheets)

Executive Board

Librarians of the Year

Joseph McFadden

Newly Elected Officers

Black and White, 1985, n.d.

Centennial Committee Presenting Posters to Governor Janklow 1985 (6 photos)

Scholarship Winners 1985(1 photo)

Eleanor Fergusson, n.d.

 

PRINTED MATERIALS

9th Biennial Report of the Superintendent of Public Instruction 1907-1908

Intellectual Freedom Manual, 1988

Libraries of South Dakota : A report, 1910

Membership Lists and Directories

1910-2013 (41 folders)

Newspaper Clippings (29 folders)

Aberdeen American News, 1931-1997

Argus Leader, 1951-1995, 1999

Armor Chronicle, 1973

Beresford Republic, 2003-2004

Bismarck Tribune, 1962

Brookings Register, 1973, 1996

Canton News, 1973

Christian Science Monitor, n.d.

Dell Rapids Tribune,1973

Des Moines Register, 1981

The Faith Independent 1989-1990

Fargo-Moorhead Forum, 1981

Huron Daily Plainsman, 1952-1991

Lead-Deadwood, 1973

Mitchell Daily Republic, 1963-1973

Northern State Exponent, 1989

The October, 1951

Onida Watchman, 1981

Pierre Capital Journal, 1961-1981

Rapid City Journal, 1952 -1981, 2000-2005

St. Paul Pioneer Press, 1997

Sturgis Black Hills Press, 1970

The Washington Post, 1983

Watertown Public Opinion, 1957-1998

Yankton Press and Dakotan, 1951-1968

Unidentified Clippings, 1925-1997

SD Library Bulletin, 1947-1957

SDLA Brochures

SDLA History 1904-1969 (bound book)

“South Dakota Library Association”, In Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science Vol. 28, 1980

South Dakota Library Directory 1985

South Dakota State Library Commission to the Governor (one folder)

1958-1968

 

Box 9

PRINTED MATERIALS, cont.

SDLA Newsletter

SDLA News Index 1949-1971

News (22 folders) (note: 1961 None published)

V.1 1949- V.22 1971

Catalyst (4 folders)

V.23 1972-V.26 1975

Book Marks

Bound volume V.27 1976-V.34 1983

V.35 1984- V.58 2007 (23 folders)

 

Box 10

PRINTED MATERIALS, cont.

SDLA Newsletter, cont.

Book Marks, cont.

V.59 2008- V.65 2015 (8 folders)

 

Box 11

PRINTED MATERIALS, cont.

South Dakota: Changing, Changeless, 1899-1989

A selected Annotated Bibliography (2 copies)

Subject Index to a Selected Annotated Bibliography (2 copies)

A selected Annotated Bibliography: supplement (2 copies)

 

PHOTOGRAPHS

Negatives, 1984

Negatives, 1989

 

SUBJECT FILES

Committees

Centennial

Correspondence, 1981-1986

Changing Changeless 1889-1989 Project

Advisory Board

Correspondence, 1983-1986, n.d.

Meeting Minutes, 1984-1986

Progress Reports, 1984-1985

Awards, 1986, (Oversize folder along the side of box)

Bibliography

Correspondence, 1982-1986, n.d. (2 folders)

Fiscal Agent

Correspondence, 1984-1986, n.d.

Consultant Materials

Insurance, 1986

NEH

Correspondence, 1983-1986

Financial Reports, 1984-1985

Interim Performance Reports, 1984-1986

Proposal Guidelines

Taxes, 1985

Gifts and Matching

Correspondence

1983-1985

Declined, 1983-1985

Processed, 1983-1985

Printed Materials

News clippings, 1984-1986

Changing Changeless 1889-1989 Project, cont.

Project Materials

Correspondence, 1982-1986, n.d.

ETV Program, 1984-1985

Exhibit, 1983-1986, n.d.

Films

Boom or Bust, 1984-1986

Cultural Variety, 1984-1986

Prairie Politicians, 1984-1986

Schedule, 1985

Forms

Posters, 1983-1985

Press Releases, 1984-1986

Program Speakers, 1984

 

Box 12

SUBJECT FILES, cont.

Committees, cont.

Centennial, cont.

Changing Changeless, 1889-1989 Project, cont.

Project Materials, cont.

Public Education Programs (41 folders)

Correspondence

Aberdeen

Belle Fourche

Brookings

Chamberlain

Crooks

Custer

Deadwood

Dell Rapids

De Smet

Eagle Butte

Ellsworth

Eureka

Faith

Gettysburg

Gregory

Hill City

Hot Springs

Huron

Lead

Madison

Menno

Miller

Mission

Mitchell

Mobridge

Newell

Pierre

Rapid City

Sioux Falls

Sisseton

Spearfish

Sturgis

Timber Lake

Vermillion

Watertown

Webster

White Lake

Winner

Woonsocket

Yankton

Publicity, 1986

Typescripts

Bibliography

Introduction

Subject Index

Changing Changeless Manual

Local Coordinators Handbook

NEH

Proposal Draft (4 folders)

Proposal Original (3 folders)

Project Directors Manual

Ad-Hoc Committees, 1954-1993

Audit, 1985-2004

By-Laws and Procedure (Constitution Committee)

Correspondence, 1954-1998

Constitution, 1919 –1983 (17 folders)

Constitution Changes since 1972 with Documentation

Proposed Constitution Changes, 1949-1995

1985 By-law Revisions (2 folders)

Bylaws Revised 1991 and 1995

Constitution and By-law Committee Reports, 1951-1998

Procedural Manual 1985

Procedural Manual 1988

Procedural Manual 1993

Procedural Manual 1995

Reports and Changes, 1985-1998

Carl Gaumer Award, 1974-1978

Certification and Accreditation (Certification)

Correspondence, 1956-1994, n.d.

Certification Information, 1955-1983

Certification of Public Librarians in US, 1965

Dorthea Heins Loan Fund, 1943-1965

Librarian Certificates, 1951-1972

Reports, 1944-1984, n.d.

SD Certification Plan for Libraries, 1924-1978

 

Box 13

SUBJECT FILES, cont.

Committees, cont.

Children’s Book Award, 1984-1986

Committee lists, 1992-2008

Documents (State Documents)

Correspondence (3 folders)

1962-1998, n.d.

Draft of South Dakota State Plan for Federal Documents Depository System

Minutes and Reports, 1958-91

Research Notes on the Analysis of Depository Selectors in South Dakota by Margaret Bezpaletz (4 folders)

Survey, 1988, 1992

Finance and Membership (Finance)

Correspondence, 1962-1998

Reports, 1957-1999

Financial Statement, 2004

Handbook

Handbook for Officers, 1955, 1965

General Code, n.d.

Hot Pink, Inc. Focus Group, 2005

Intellectual Freedom

Correspondence (5 folders)

1961-1998, n.d.

Censorship Complaints

Committee Members (1 folder)

Lawyers for Libraries, 1998

Meeting Minutes and Reports, 1953-1999, n.d. (1 folder)

Miscellaneous (14 folders)

Censorship Materials

Children’s Internet Protection Act, 1999

Confidentiality Materials

Exemption from Child-Porn Law

Correspondence, 1998

Family Protection Act 1981

“Go Ask Alice,” 1971-1999

House Bill 1186, 1999

Hugh M. Hefner Award

Interpretation of Library Bill of Rights

Selections Policy Material

Senate Bill 177, 1998

State Intellectual Freedom Chairpersons

Statement on Professional Ethics

30th Anniversary Gala and Awards

Printed Materials (4 folders)

Academic Freedom Group Workshop Resource Book

Attacks on the Freedom to Learn 1986-1987

Coalition Building Resource Book

Freedom to Read and Lobbying for Freedom

Intellectual Freedom Manuals from Other States (2 folders)

Typescripts

Intellectual Freedom Manual (4 folders)

1982, Sept. 27 Draft

Intellectual Freedom Manual (folders 2-4)

1998-1999, Revised Draft

1999, Apr. Draft

1999, Oct. Draft

Program Planning made easier

Marjorie Smith Scholarship Award, 1957-1965

Legislative:

Correspondence, 1962-1985

Legislative Issues, 1962-2004

Lobbyist 1998-2007

Reports, 1949-1968

Reports, 1990-2008

Washington Newsletter, 1962-1963

 

Box 14

SUBJECT FILES, cont.

Committees, cont.

Library Issues

Correspondence, 1982-1989

Correspondence 1990-2004, n.d.

Committee Members, 1980-1996

Miscellaneous, 1985-1995, n.d.

Reports, 1972-2003

National Library Week

Correspondence, 1959-1969

Committee Information 1966-2005, n.d.

Nominating:

Correspondence, 1962-1998

Reports, 1950-2007

Professional Development (Loan and Scholarship, Scholarship)

Correspondence, 1967-1998

Committee Information 1981-1999, n.d.

Grants Applications and Evaluation Reports, 1982-1998 (14 folders)

Reports, 1967-1993

Public Relations

Correspondence

1961-1964

1976-1998, n.d.

Awards (14 folders)

Ballots, 1981-1998

Nominations:

Distinguished Service Award, 1994-1999

Distinguished Service Award, 2011

Friend of School Library/Media Centers, 1985-1994, n.d.

Friend of the Library, 1980-1999, n.d.

Friend of the Library, 2011

Librarian of the Year, 1980-1981

Librarian of the Year, 1988-1999

Librarian of the Year, 2011

New Librarian of the Year, 1983-1994

New Librarian of the Year, 2011

Trustee of the Year, 1989-1999, n.d.

Trustee of the Year, 2011

Winners, 1953-1999

Committee Notes 1987-1996, n.d.

Grants and Contests 1981-1989, n.d.

Press Releases, 1957-1993, n.d.

Phone Tree, 1994-1997

Reports, 1953-1993

Recruitment:

Correspondence, 1962-1965

Reports, 1953-1961, n.d.

Resolution of Work:

Correspondence, 1954-1967, n.d.

Reports, 1946-1963, n.d.

School Standards:

Correspondence 1997-2004

Reports, 1981-2000, n.d.

Snowbird Selection, 1992-1998

 

Box 15

SUBJECT FILES, cont.

Sections

Academic Library

Correspondence, 1966-1998, n.d. (7 folders)

Academic Libraries Directory 1992-1993

ACRL

Annual Report, 1989-1990

ACRL Funding Conference, 1983-1985

Chapters Roster 1990

Guide to Policy and Procedures, 1990, 1991

Organizational Materials

By-laws and Constitutions

Interlibrary Loan Code

Minutes and Agendas, 1946-1979

Minutes and Agendas, 1980-2001

Miscellaneous 1969-1987, n.d.

Reports, 1972-1994

Health Sciences Libraries: (Dissolved January 31, 2001, merged with Academic and Special library sections)

Correspondence, 1983-1993

Correspondence, 1994-2001

Agendas and Minutes, 1984-1992

Agendas and Minutes, 1994-1999, n.d.

By-Laws and Constitution

Collection Development Application

Guidelines for Interlibrary Loan Cooperation, 1986, Sept.

Merger 2000-2001

Reports, 1984-2001

Surveys, 1994-2000, n.d.

South Dakota Council of Health Science Librarians, 1983

South Dakota Hospital Library Association:

Correspondence, 1980-1984, n.d. (3 folders)

Minutes, 1982-1984, n.d.

Newsletters, Bylaws, and Membership Lists, 1983

South Dakota Hospital Library Managers and Medical Librarians Association, 1982-1983

Public Library/Trustees

1984 SDLA Public Library Personnel Survey (3 folders)

Correspondence, 1975-1998, n.d.

Certification and Accreditation Standards, 1978

Meeting Minutes, 1946-2000

Miscellaneous

Prairie Pasque Committee, 1988-1998, n.d.

Reports, 1991-1993

Summer Reading Club, 1995-1996

 

Box 16

SUBJECT FILES, cont.

Sections, cont.

Public Library/Trustees, cont.

Trustees (4 folders)

Constitution and By-Laws

Correspondence, 1952-1978

Meeting Minutes, 1950-1978

Trustee Notebook, 1963-1976

Miscellaneous Materials

School Library Media

Correspondence, 1993-2001, n.d.

Minutes, 1949-2004

Reports, 1983-1998, n.d.

School Library Media Association, 1974-1975

Staff Survey, 1997

Treasurer Reports, 1989-2006

YARP (Young Adult Reading Program), 1989-2007

SDACT (Association for Communications And Technology)

Correspondence and misc. materials, 1984-2001

Constitution 1984, 1990

SDACTion Line Newsletter 1982-1989

Section Lists, 2008

Support Staff, 1996-2002

South Dakota State Library (4 folders)

Correspondence and Reports, 1993-1997. n.d.

Facility/Operations Study, 1993

Film Service, 1994-1998, n.d.

Newsletter, 1974, 1978

Topical Files (24 folders)

ALA/LAMA Marketing Workshops 2005

ALA/ALTA National Advocacy Honor Roll Nominees, 1999-2000

ALA/ALTA National Advocacy Honor Roll Nominees, 2005

Committee for Education in South Dakota, 1950-1969

Continuing Education Task Force, 2006

Education Activities of Library Associations, 1966

Friends of South Dakota Libraries, 1984-1997

Library Advocacy Training, 1998

Long Range Plan for Library Services in South Dakota, 1989-1993 (Sept. 16, 1988)

Long Range Plan for the Development of Libraries in South Dakota

(Sept. 25, 1992)

Milkweed Books Giveaway, 1994

Municipal League, 1993-1994

Nebraska Library Association Handbook, 1954

Pioneer Assoc. of Libraries Huron, SD, 1990, Sept 13

Round Tables

Junior Member, 1967

Public Library, 1950

SD Student Library Association, 1974-1981, n.d.

SDLA Banner Designs

SDLN, 1983-1994

State Fair Booth and Storytelling, 1996-1997

Statewide Library Card,

1993-2000, n.d.

Colorado Example

Sunshine Week, 2005

Web Site Redesign 2006

WICHE/USOE Staff Development Plan for South Dakota Public Libraries, 1976

White House Conference on Libraries and Information Services Task Force (WHCLIST), 1984

TYPESCRIPTS (4 folders)

Book Marks Columns 1985 –1991 Edith Siegrist

Libraries of South Dakota: A Report on their condition with tables of Statistics 1910

SDLA History Supplements 1961-1984

South Dakota Libraries on a shoestring by Selma Dunham

 

EPHEMERA (1 folder plus 5 items)

Invitations

Life Membership to SDLA Certificates (2)

Outstanding Trustee Certificate (2)

Gavel from Health Science Section

Stamp from the South Dakota Library Hospital Association (2)

Stamp from Trustees section

Dakota Book Rush 1889-1989 South Dakota Centennial Reading Club Badge

 

AUDIO/VISUAL

Videocassettes

“Dancing with Change”, 1997, Feb. 28

“The Future for Librarians: Positioning Yourself for Success”, 1997, Mar. 20 (2)

“The Role of the Library in Accreditation” SDLA/HSS program, 1996, Mar. 13

“Prairie Politicians” (Sony U-matic format)

[VHS version Chilson Collection JK6516 .P73]

 

Box 17

FILMS

“Cultures” Cottonwood Productions

[“may be same as South Dakota A meeting of cultures” VHS version in circulating library collection F660 .A1 W5 c.2 and 3]

“Boom and Bust” Unity Productions

“Prairie Politicians”

[VHS version Chilson Collection JK6516 .P73]

 

Oversize Materials 1 (Light Gray Map Case)

SUBJECT FILES

Committees

Centennial

Changing Changeless, 1889-1989 Project

Project Materials

Posters

Boom and Bust

“Cornfield Ghosts” and Other Lore

A Land of Contrasts

Our People

A Sense of Place

 

EPHEMERA

AASL Leadership Development Award

Convention bags from 1977, 1985, 1988

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0