LibGuides: Intro to Persons with Exceptionalities (SPED 100): Where to Look

Where's What

Articles: Use a database to search for articles indexed in that resource.

Journals: Search in Journals/E-Books to see if USD subscribes to a particular journal.

Books or library resources other than articles and databases: Search a library catalog; from Books & More or the Advanced Search for items at USD or in the South Dakota Library Network, or search WorldCat (find under Databases) to see what USD and libraries from all over the world have.

Education Resources

Here are some of the primary databases you may want to use. Other databases may be useful as well depending on your particular topic.

ERIC
ERIC is a databases that contains over 900,000 citations for journal articles and documents in the field of education. Also freely available at http://eric.ed.gov.
Education Research Complete
Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
MMY, from the Buros Institute, contains the most recent descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 9th and more recent Yearbooks. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language; TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Psyc Info
Contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.
WorldCat
Covers all subjects. Provides bibliographic citations of books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films and machine-readable data files published worldwide. Provides holdings information for nearly 30,000 libraries. Producer/Publisher is OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc.
Dissertations and Theses Full-Text
Provides access to a full collection of dissertations and theses and provides full-text access to all currently available titles.

What is U.Get It?

If the article you want isn't available in the database you are using. . .

**Use the button available from most databases to see if you have access to the article via another resource.

**If the article is available from one of the online sources, click on the Go button beside the source you want to use.

**If your article is not available in print or via another research database, request it via the appropriate link to Interlibrary Loan.