USD Histories
Richardson Collection Finding Aids
USD Archives
This is the "Herman P. Chilson" page of the "Archives and Special Collections - The Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives and Special Collections - The Collections   Tags: archives, usd publications  

Last Updated: Sep 25, 2017 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/ASC-Collections Print Guide RSS Updates

Herman P. Chilson Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Chilson Collection

The Herman P. Chilson Collection includes books, journals, maps, pamphlets, and print materials relating to local histories, South Dakota history, Native American cultures, and United States western expansion. Rare books by national and international authors are held in the Chilson Collection as well. Among the items in the Chilson Collection are books in the Norwegian language, Lakota and Dakota dictionaries, and one of the first translations of the Bible into the Dakota language by Stephen Return Riggs. Included are first edition works by South Dakota authors such as Ole Rolvaag, Native American authors such as Vine Deloria, Jr. and regional authors such as Willa Cather and John G. Neihardt. There are extensive materials on General George Custer and the Battle of Little Bighorn as well as both historical events at Wounded Knee.

Search the Chilson Collection in the University Libraries Online Catalog: 

 

Go to the Advanced Search for more catalog search options.

 

Recent Additions to the Chilson Collection

Select a link> find the call number > find in the library!

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

A Few Books in the Chilson Collection

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip