**Login with your USD username and password to access any of the online resources.**
Provides access to several commonly used medical e-books including Harrison’s Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, and Goodman & Gilman’s The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. Also contains systematic reviews in the medical news, practice guidelines, drug information, common laboratory tests, USMLE-format questions for self-assessment, case files, patient education, and many videos, audio clips, images and illustrations. Available on mobile devices.
ACP Smart Medicine (American College of Physicians-Physicians’ Information and Education Resource) via STAT!Ref
Provides evidence-based summaries with level of evidence ratings for diseases and conditions commonly encountered in clinical settings. Topics such as screening and prevention, alternative and complementary medicine, ethical and legal issues, and quality measures relevant to internal medicine are included. Available on mobile devices.
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, reviewed evidence which can impact healthcare decision-making. Information includes systematic reviews of the literature, methodologies for the operation of controlled trials, health technology assessments, and economic evaluations of healthcare interventions.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
Contains summaries of systematic reviews not done by Cochrane, with commentary on their quality. Summaries and critiques are from an affiliate of the British National Health System. Part of the Cochrane Library.
Dynamed is an evidence-based clinical reference tool created by physicians intended for use at the point-of-care. Contains clinically-relevant topic summaries created through critical review, guideline, and drug information sources. Level of evidence ratings on references are included. Available on mobile devices.
Evidence-based resource designed to provide healthcare professionals with point-of-care diagnostic and treatment information. Includes sections for differential diagnoses of patients’ symptoms, medical procedures (some with videos), and extensive information on various medical topics. Available on mobile devices.
Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. In addition to systematic reviews, HTA contains ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires and economic evaluations. When available, links to summaries, full text or the web site of the research agency are included. Part of the Cochrane Library.
ClinicalKey
Upgraded and expanded from MD Consult, this Point of Care research and "clinical insight engine" contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical books, textbooks and current journals, Procedures Consult's procedural videos,the First Consult POC interface, additional videos and images, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Clinical Pharmacology.
Well-organized, frequently updated, access point for reliable sources of consumer-friendly health information from government agencies, disease-specific associations, and other healthcare organizations. Includes medical definitions, drug information, videos of procedures, age-relevant focus, and material in Spanish and other non-English languages in addition to English. Available on mobile devices.
Detailed drug information for health professionals who prescribe and administer medications, plus easy-to-read CareNotes patient teaching sheets. Available on mobile devices.
For herbal, dietary, mind-body, exercise, and other integrative therapies, Natural Standard's panel reviews available evidence from studies and expert opinion. A standardized evidence grading system is used in evaluations. Summaries of findings are provided in several levels of depth and detail to suit general readers, primary care providers, pharmacists, chiropractors, and others. In-depth video intro available at http://naturalstandard.com.ezproxy.usd.edu/demo/
National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
NORD contains in-depth, plain-language reports of over 1,200 rare diseases, including symptoms, causes, treatments, and investigative therapies. Click on “Rare Disease Information” for access to the reports.
Pubmed is the National Library of Medicine’s web interface for searching the MEDLINE database as well as other related citations. MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts to the world’s literature in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, public health, allied health, health administration, and the pre-clinical sciences. Choose the red “UGetIt!” button for each citation to determine if full-text articles are available. Available on mobile devices.
Specializes in review of clinical effectiveness research with summaries and full text of selected systematic reviews. Clinical effectiveness research reviews find answers in medical and health care on what works. There is information for consumers and clinicians based on those reviews.
Provides access to electronic resources such as: Stedman’s Medical Dictionary, the ICD-9-CM, American Hospital Formulary Service (AHFS) Drug Information, American College of Surgeons (ACS) Surgery, Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care and the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) Perioperative Standards and Recommended Practices. Available on mobile devices.
Largest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented. Citation analysis tools. Available on mobile devices.
Can't Locate Your Article Online?
**Use the U GET IT button available from most databases to locate the entire article online.
**If the article is available online, click on the Article or Journal links.
**If your article is not available in print or via another research database, request it using interlibrary loan. Your username and password for interlibrary loan (ILLIAD) are the same as your My USD login and password.