Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5Page 6Page 7Page 8Page 9Page 10Page 11Page 12Page 13Page 14Page 15Page 16Page 17Page 18Page 19Page 20
Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5Page 6Page 7Page 8Page 9Page 10Page 11Page 12Page 13Page 14Page 15Page 16Page 17Page 18Page 19Page 20Page 21Page 22Page 23
Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5Page 6Page 7Page 8Page 9Page 10Page 11Page 12Page 13Page 14Page 15Page 16Page 17Page 18Page 19Page 20Page 21Page 22Page 23Page 24Page 25Page 26Page 27Page 28Page 29Page 30Page 31Page 32Page 33
Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5APage 5BPage 6Page 7Page 8Page 9APage 9BPage 10Page 11Page 12Page 13
Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 5
This is the "Page 15" page of the "USD Information Literacy Lessons" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

USD Information Literacy Lessons  

The broad focus of these lessons is understanding sources of information, including examples that can help you learn how to access information sources at USD. Each lesson is dedicated to a specific element of information competency.
Last Updated: May 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/infolit Print Guide RSS Updates

Page 15 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What to Do With an Article Citation

Once you've searched databases and print indexes/bibliographies for periodical literature, you'll have citations for articles on your topic. Some databases give full-text access to articles, but some of the best ones don't offer much full text access (for instance, the Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute and the MLA Bibliography). If you cannot get the full text of an article from a database, you need to follow these steps to get your article.

  • Look up the journal using the "Journals/E-Books" search widget on the University Libraries home page. It is located just under the images towards the top of the homepage. Clicking on the tab will open up the search widget. If the Library subscribes to the journal you need, you'll be taken to a list of the databases that give access to it. Check to make sure the database covers the publication date of your article.

 

  • If you cannot access the article using the Journals/E-Books search widget, check the Library Catalog to see whether the Library subscribes to the journal in paper form. The library catalog is accessed using the "Books & More" search widget also located under the images towards the top of the homepage. If the Library has the journal, go to the second floor, find the journal issue you need (current journals--up to one year old--are located on the west side of the second floor; older journals, bound in hard covers, are located on the second floor, beginning on the west side. All journals in the University Libraries are shelved alphabetically by complete title.

 

  • If the University Libraries does not provide access to the journal you need, order the article through Interlibrary Loan. Go to the University Libraries homepage, and click on the "Interlibrary Loan" widget located just below the images on the homepage. This widget will ask you to sign in using your USD user name and password.

 

  • If you've never used the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan System before, you'll have to fill in a "new user" form to create your ILLiad account before you can borrow materials. (Interlibrary Loan is quick, but it cannot perform miracles. Be sure to give yourself time when doing research, so that Interlibrary Loan items can arrive in time for you to use them effectively in your research. Interlibrary Loan cannot get you items overnight.)

 

>> Next page

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip