Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5Page 6Page 7Page 8Page 9Page 10Page 11Page 12Page 13Page 14Page 15Page 16Page 17Page 18Page 19Page 20
Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5Page 6Page 7Page 8Page 9Page 10Page 11Page 12Page 13Page 14Page 15Page 16Page 17Page 18Page 19Page 20Page 21Page 22Page 23
Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5Page 6Page 7Page 8Page 9Page 10Page 11Page 12Page 13Page 14Page 15Page 16Page 17Page 18Page 19Page 20Page 21Page 22Page 23Page 24Page 25Page 26Page 27Page 28Page 29Page 30Page 31Page 32Page 33
Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5APage 5BPage 6Page 7Page 8Page 9APage 9BPage 10Page 11Page 12Page 13
Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 5
This is the "Page 18" page of the "USD Information Literacy Lessons" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

USD Information Literacy Lessons  

The broad focus of these lessons is understanding sources of information, including examples that can help you learn how to access information sources at USD. Each lesson is dedicated to a specific element of information competency.
Last Updated: May 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/infolit Print Guide RSS Updates

Page 18 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

A Sample Search

The following is a sample search on a current-interest topic, Islam, which is meant to illustrate the research process in action.

Begin by narrowing your topic: Islam and terrorism.

Articulate a thesis/claim: Islam does/does not condone acts of terrorism.

Begin your research by finding background information on your topic. Use the Library Catalog to find reference works on Islam.

A good general introduction appears in: Encyclopedia Britannica ("Islam," v. 22, pp. 1-43, with bibliography)

Other relevant reference sources (all in the first-floor Reference Area): Atlas of the World's Religions ("Islam," pp. 170-195) Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalist Movements in the Arab World, Iran, and Turkey The New Encyclopedia of Islam The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam  

Additional resources are also available in the main collection on the third floor: The Encyclopedia of Religion ("Islam," v. 7, pp. 303-464, with bibliography) World Religions: The Great Faiths Explored and Explained ("Islam," pp. 160-177) The Meaning of the Glorious Qur'an The Glorious Koran: Bilingual Edition

>> Next page

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip