Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5Page 6Page 7Page 8Page 9Page 10Page 11Page 12Page 13Page 14Page 15Page 16Page 17Page 18Page 19Page 20
Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5Page 6Page 7Page 8Page 9Page 10Page 11Page 12Page 13Page 14Page 15Page 16Page 17Page 18Page 19Page 20Page 21Page 22Page 23
Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5Page 6Page 7Page 8Page 9Page 10Page 11Page 12Page 13Page 14Page 15Page 16Page 17Page 18Page 19Page 20Page 21Page 22Page 23Page 24Page 25Page 26Page 27Page 28Page 29Page 30Page 31Page 32Page 33
Page 1Page 2Page 3Page 4Page 5APage 5BPage 6Page 7Page 8Page 9APage 9BPage 10Page 11Page 12Page 13
Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 5
This is the "Page 3" page of the "USD Information Literacy Lessons" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

USD Information Literacy Lessons  

The broad focus of these lessons is understanding sources of information, including examples that can help you learn how to access information sources at USD. Each lesson is dedicated to a specific element of information competency.
Last Updated: May 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/infolit Print Guide RSS Updates

Page 3 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a Database?

You will use many resources when searching for information including databases, search engines, and the library catalog. A database is a searchable but closed set of records. This means that the content of a database is limited to the materials that have been selected and entered into the database, usually following a strict set of criteria. Content within a database is organized, often so you can search by subject or by keywords in all of the text of each item in the database. A database's content doesn't reflect the holdings of any specific library, but is a collection of high quality scholarly resources compiled by editors and made available through vendors (EBSCOHost, ProQuest, etc.). A search engine accesses content that is not organized and that has not been edited or scrutinized for its information value.

A search engine scours the web looking for whatever is out there regardless of the quality or information value of the item. This is why you might have several million hits using a search engine yet find none of the information is helpful or useful.

The library catalog is a database, but it contains only the resources available in a given library. Like a research database, a library catalog is a closed set of records. The information entered into the library catalog is limited to brief descriptions of the items such as its title, the author, where the item was published, and perhaps a table of contents. Thus, a full text search in the library catalog is limited to the brief descriptions of the items, whereas a database enables searching the full text of all articles within the database.

 

>> Next page

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip