Title PageScope and Contents
This is the "Contents List" page of the "Plains Anthropological Society (PAS)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Plains Anthropological Society (PAS)  

Please e-mail speccoll@usd.edu with comments & questions.
Last Updated: Sep 13, 2016 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/pas Print Guide RSS Updates

Contents List Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contents List


Box 1

ADMINISTRATION

Board of Directors

Correspondence (3 folders)

1979-1999

Briefing Packets

1993

1995

1996

1998

General Business Meeting Minutes

1979-1997

Meeting Minutes (2 folders)

1979-1997

Officer and Board of Directors Membership Lists, 1968-1996

Student Membership Drive, 1991-1999

Committees

Archives, 1986-1999

By-Laws

Correspondence, 1980-1996

Amended Articles of Incorporation of Plains Anthropological Society, 1982-1988

Articles of Incorporation of Plains Anthropological Society, 1967

Proposed Changes, 1968-1996, n.d.

Conference Handbook, 1996

Distinguished Service Award

Correspondence, 1984-1999

Award Winner Biographies

Founders Award, 1992-1995

Native American Student Award, 1991-1998

Nominations

Correspondence, 1982-1994

Ballot Forms

Reports 1990-1998

Resolutions, 1985-1996

Student Paper Award

Correspondence, 1984-1996, n.d.

Submissions

1987

1992

1995

1996

2001 (2 folders)

Officers

Treasurer

Correspondence, 1979-1998

Financial Reports, 1968-1999

Financial Statements (4 folders)

1978-1996

Plains Anthropologist Budgets, 1993-1998

Plains Conference Statements, 1981-1993

Reports, 1998

 

 

Box 2

CONFERENCE

1931

1932

1936

1940

1941

1947-1950 (4 folders)

1952-1954 (3 folders)

1955

Conference Transcript

Panel Discussion: The Concept of the Plains in Anthropology

1956-1962 (7 folders)

1964-1968 (5 folders)

1969

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1970

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1971

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1972

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1973

Program and Abstracts

1974

Program and Abstracts

1975

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1977

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1978

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1979

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1980

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1981

1983

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

Symposiums

1984

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

 

Box 2, cont.

CONFERENCE, cont.

1985

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1986

Program and Abstracts

1987

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1988

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1989

Program and Abstracts

1990

1991

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1992

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1993

1994

Program and Abstracts

1996

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1997

1998

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

1999

Correspondence and Conference Materials

Program and Abstracts

2000

Program and Abstracts

2001

Program and Abstracts

 

Box 3

CONFERENCE, cont.

Audio/Visual

Cassettes

Papers delivered at the 1976 symposium “Anthropology on the Great Plains: The State of the Art, 1976” at the 34th Plains Conference, in Minneapolis, Minnesota: organized by Margot Liberty and W. Raymond Wood

Taped by W. Raymond Wood on the dates and occasion indicated

 

 

 

Box 3, cont

CONFERENCE, cont.

Audio/Visual, cont.

Cassettes, cont.

Part 1 (October 20, 1976)

Tape 1

Side 1

W. Raymond Wood (University of Missouri-Columbia): Opening Remarks

E. Adamson Hoebel (University of Minnesota): History of Anthropology on the Plains [questions: Omer Stewart; two unidentified; Margot Liberty].

Richard Scaglion (University of Pennsylvania): The Plains Culture Area: A Critical Review (continued, side 2)

Side 2

Scaglion (concluded) [questions: one unidentified]

Wayne M. Wendland (University of Illinois): Holocene Man in the Plains: The Ecological Setting and Climactic Background (continued, tape 2)

 

Tape 2

Side 1

4. Wendland (concluded) [questions: George Frison]

James C. Knox (University of Wisconsin): Geomorphic and Hydrologic Characteristics of Great Plains rivers During the Holocene [questions: one unidentified]

W. Raymond Wood: Intertribal Relations (continued, side 2)

Side 2

6. Wood (concluded) [no questions: break for lunch]

 

Tape 3

Side 1

George C. Frison (University of Wyoming): Man-Bison Relationships on the Plains [questions: two unidentified]

B. Miles Gilbert (University of Missouri-Columbia): Exploitative Strategies Utilizing Floral and Faunal Resources (continued, side 2)

Side 2

8. Gilbert (concluded) [questions: none]

X. Joe Ben Wheat (University of Colorado Museum): The Paleo-Indian Period in the Great Plains [paper not delivered]

Alfred E. Johnson (speaker) and W. Raymond Wood (University of Kansas and University of Missouri-Columbia): The Archaic and Later Cultures [questions: one unidentified]

Richard L. Jantz (speaker) and Douglas Owsley (University of Tennessee): Recent Developments in Skeletal Studies in the Plains (continued, tape 4)

 

 

 

 

 

Box 3, cont

CONFERENCE, cont.

Audio/Visual, cont.

Cassettes, cont.

Tape 4

Side 1

10. Jantz and Owsley (concluded) [questions: one unidentified; B. Miles Gilbert; Dale R. Henning]

Douglas R. Parks and Robert C. Hollow (both speakers) (Mary College and State Historical Society of North Dakota): Plains Linguistics (continued, side 2)

Side 2

11. Parks and Hollow (concluded) [questions: Patricia Albers, Margot Liberty]

Mildred Mott Wedel and Raymond J. DeMaille (both speakers) (Smithsonian Institution and Indiana University): Ethnohistory (continued, tape 5)

 

Tape 5

Side 1

12. Wedel and DeMaille [questions: none]

Discussants: Waldo R. Wedel (Smithsonian Institution) and Eldon Johnson (University of Minnesota) [questions: none]

Part 2 (October 21, 1976)

 

Side 2

Margot Liberty (University of Pittsburgh): Opening Remarks

Alan M. Klein (Pacific Lutheran University): Economic Analysis on the Great Plains: A Marxist Compliment [questions: four unidentified]

John H. Moore (Albion College): Plains Kinship Studies (continued, tape 6)

 

Tape 6

Side 1

3. Moore (concluded) [questions: Ray De Mallie; one unidentified]

Garrick Bailey (University of Tulsa): Social Control [questions: Ray DeMallie]

Margot Liberty (University of Pittsburgh): Religion I: The Sun Dance (continued, side 2)

Side 2

5. Liberty (concluded)[questions: Omer Stewart; Alice Kehoe; Patricia Albers; one unidentified; Omer Stewart; Carlyle Smith; Dave Miller; unidentified]

Omer C. Stewart (University of Colorado-boulder): Ghost Dance [questions: three unidentified; break for lunch]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Box 3, cont

CONFERENCE, cont.

Audio/Visual, cont.

Cassettes, cont.

Tape 7

Side 1

Omer C. Stewart (University of Colorado-Boulder): The Native American Church [questions: one unidentified; Margot Liberty]

Mary Jane Schneider (University of North Dakota-Grand Forks): A Critical Examination of Current Knowledge of Visual Arts (continued, side 2)

Side 2

8. Schneider (concluded)[questions: one unidentified; Alan Klein; Karen Peterson; Ray Wood; Omer Stewart; Margot Liberty; unidentified; Omer Stewart]

Jane Goldstein Ahler (University of North Dakota-Grand Forks): Plains Indians and Formal Education Systems (continued, tape 8)

 

Tape 8

9. Ahler (concluded) [questions: one unidentified; Alice Kehoe; four unidentified]

Katherine M. Weist (University of Montana): Women’s Studies [questions: one unidentified; Alice Kehoe; Margot Liberty; Omer Stewart]

XX. Luis S. Kemnitzer (San Francisco State University): Research in Health and Healing in the Plains Area [paper not delivered]

Patricia C. Albers (University of Utah): Regional and Pan-Indian Relations in Contemporary Perspective (continued, side 2)

Side 2

11. Albers (concluded) [questions: one unidentified; Omer Stewart]

Margot Liberty: closes session

 

Selected Papers delivered at the 1976 symposium, “Trends in Middle Missouri Prehistory: a Festschrift Honoring the Contributions of Donald J. Lehmer” at the 34th Plains Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota

 

Organized by W. Raymond Wood and F. A. Calabrese

 

Taped by W. Raymond Wood on the dates and occasion indicated

 

[The first part of Tape 1 is not part of the Festschrift, but was accidentally recorded over Festschrift material from an undated reel to reel tape in the possession of Flavia Waters Champe, at her home in Lincoln, sometime after the death in 1978 of her husband, John L. Champe. The original tape obviously was made in Champe’s home the evening following the 13th Plains Conference in Lincoln in 1955.]

Box 3, cont

CONFERENCE, cont.

Audio/Visual, cont.

Cassettes, cont.

Tape 1

Side 1:

Party noise: Preston Holder drumming/chanting || Holder chatter, background party noise || John L. Champe: Plains conference talk highlight, “On the Plains” || Rattle, drumming chanting, chatter || Champe: Plains Conference talk, continued: Plains “has everything but feral children” || Champe at the piano, party noise singing || Unidentified Plains Conference speaker on utility of culture areas || Donald J. Lehmer closing the 13th Plains Conference.

October 22, 1976

 

The Lehmer Festschrift began at the conference with an appreciation of Lehmer by Wilfred D. Logan. The following papers were given, but the following is only a selection of those given, and they were not given in the order in which they are recorded here. How the mixing occurred is not recorded. The Festschrift overlapped with Part One of the “Anthropology on the Great Plains” symposium that Wood chaired the same morning.

 

Thomas D. Thiessen (Midwest Archeological Center: talk begins mid-stream): A Tentative Radiocarbon Chronology for the Middle Missouri Tradition.

W. Raymond Wood (speaker) and Alan S. Downer (University of Missouri-Columbia): Notes on the Crow-Hidatsa Schism (continued, side 2)

 

Side 2

Wood and Downer (concluded)

Douglas W. Owsley (speaker), Hugh E. Berryman, and William M. Bass (University of Tennessee): Demographic and Osteological Evidence for Warfare at the Larson Site (39WW2), Walworth County, South Dakota.

C. L. Dill (State Historical Society of North Dakota) The Knife River Phase

Discussant: Carlyle S. Smith (cut off in mid-sentence)

 

Tape 2

Side 1

F. A. Calabrese (Midwest Archeological Center: talk begins in mid-stream): Ceramic Classification in Middle Missouri Prehistory.

Craig M. Johnson (University of Nebraska): Temporal and Spatial Variation in Ceramics from the Medicine Crow Site (39BF2), South Dakota.

Carl R. Falk (University of Nebraska): Animal Bone and Plains Archaeology: A Quarter Century of Progress.

 

 

Box 3, cont

CONFERENCE, cont.

Audio/Visual, cont.

Cassettes, cont

Side 2

Falk (concluded)

Discussants: Carlyle S. Smith, Craig M. Johnson, Richard A. Krause

Robert K. Nickel (Midwest Archaeological Center): The Study of Archaeologically Recovered Plant Materials from the Middle Missouri Sub area.

Stanley A. Ahler (University of North Dakota): Lithic Resource Utilization Patterns (cut off in mid-sentence)

 

Box 4

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST

Editor

Correspondence (12 folders)

1980-1999

Book Reviews (7 folders)

Elections, 1984-1997

Obituaries, 1990-1998

Obituary Index

Permissions, 1990-1998

Reports, 1968, 1980-1999

 

Box 5

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts

Amick, Daniel S.

Patterns of Technological Variation among Folsom and Midland Projectile Points in the American Southwest, 1995

Applegate, Roger D.

Are Bison a Keystone Species in the Tall Grass Prairie, 2000

Artz, Joe Alan

Cultural Response or Geological Process? : A Comment on Sheehan, 1996

Aufderheide, Arthur C., Elden Johnson, and Odin Langsjoen

Health, Demography and Archaeology of Mille Lacs Native American Mortuary Populations, 1994

Baenziger, Marsha S., Douglas B. Bamforth, Larry L. Tieszen, Nancy Hamblin and Robert Hitchcock

Woodland Period Bison Hunting on the Central Plains: A Perspective Using Bone Chemistry, Paleoethnobotany, and Bison Nutrition, 1993

Ballenger, Jesse A.M.

Late Paleo-Indian Land Use in the Oklahoma Panhandle: Goff Creek and Nall Plaza, 1999

The Southern Plains Craft Lithic Cache, 1996

Bamforth, Douglas B.

Archeological Theory and Archaeological Inference on the Great Plains, 1999

An Empirical Perspective on Little Ice Age Climatic Change on the Great Plains, 1991

Box 5, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Bamforth, Douglas B., cont.

Flint knapping Skill, Communal Hunting, and Paleo-Indian Projectile Point Typology, 1991

Banforth, Douglas B. and Mark Becker

Core/Biface Ratios, Mobility, Refitting, and Artifact Use-Lives: A Paleo-Indian Example, 2000

Banks, Kimball M.

Indians, Reclamation, and Historic Preservation, 1999

Banks, Kimball M. and J. Signe Snortland

Every Picture Tells a Story: Historic Images, Tipi Camps, and Archaeology, 1995

Banks, William E., Rolfe D. Mandel, Donna C. Roper, and Christopher J. Benison

The Macy Site (14RY38): A Multi-component Early Ceramic Occupation in Northeastern Kansas, 2000

Barnes, Ethne and Kenneth Ashworth

BioArcheology of Some Plains Woodland Burials from Waurika Lake, Southwest Oklahoma, 1991

Barnes, R.H.

Lounsbury’s Analysis of Republican Pawnee Terminology: Comparison with Lushbaugh’s Original Data, 1995

Beatty, John

An Example of Creativity in Apache, 1999

Beck, Margaret

Ceramics and Community Structure: A Reanalysis of Material from the Minneapolis Site (14OT5), 1998

Pottery Production at the Mugler Site (14CY1-A): A Central Plains Tradition House in North Central Kansas, 2000

Social Organization in the Central Plains Tradition: Ethnographic Analogy and Archaeological Models, 1996

Bement, Leland C.

The Cooper Site: A Stratified Folsom Bison Kill in Oklahoma, 1997

On the Significance of Radiocarbon Dates from a Bison Kill Site in Western Oklahoma, 1993

The Thunder Valley Cache: Group Investment in a Central Texas Sinkhole Cemetery, 1991

Bement, Leland C. and Kent Buehler

Preliminary Results from the Certain Site: A Late Archaic Bison Kill in Western Oklahoma, 1994

Benedict, James B.

Sacred Hot Springs, Instant Patinas, 1991

Billeck, William T.

Fluted Point Distribution in the Loess Hills of Southwestern Iowa, 1997

Black, Kevin D.

Archaic Origins and Chronology in the Colorado Rockies: The Mountain Tradition, 1990

 

 

Box 5, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Blackmar, Jennette M.

Regional Patterning in the Paleo-Indian Record from Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas, 1999

Regional Variability in Clovis, Folsom and Cody Land Use, 2001

Blakeslee, Donald J.

Reassessment of some Radiocarbon Dates from the Central Plains, 1994

Blasing, Robert, K.

Consultation between the Bureau of Reclamation and the Pawnee Tribe, 1999

Bleed, Peter

Purveying the Past: Structure and Strategy in the American Antiques Trade, 2000

Boldurian, Anthony T.

Folsom Mobility and Organization of Lithic Technology: A View from Black Water Draw, New Mexico, 1991

Lithic Technology at the Mitchell Locality of Black Water Draw: A Stratified Folsom Site in Eastern New Mexico, 1990

Boldurian, Anthony T. and Susanne M. Hubinsky

Folsom Performs, Recycling, and Organization of Lithic Technology: A View from Black Water Draw, New Mexico, 1994

Boszhardt, Robert F.

Additional Western Lithics for Hopewell Bifaces in the Upper Mississippi River Valley, 1997

Bouchet-Bert, Luc

From Spiritual and Biographic to Boundary-Marking Deterrent Art-A Reinterpretation of Writing-On-Stone, 2000

Bousman, C. Britt

Paleoenvironmental Change in Central Texas: the Palynological Evidence, 1998

Bousman, C. Britt and David O. Brown

Recent Paleoclimatic and Paleoenvironmental Research in Texas

Bousman, Britt and S. Alan Skinner

Assemblage Composition and Occupation Span at Salt Gap, Texas, 1989

Bowman, Bradley F.

The Foster Site Cremation A Single Individual, Partition Cremation in Milam County, Texas, 1990

Boyd, Matthew

Interdependence and Power: Lessons from the Northeastern Plains, 1997

Bozarth, Steven

Identification of Maize (Zea mays) Cob Phytoliths at 14MN328: A Great Bend Aspect Village in Central Kansas, 1993

Bozell, John R.

Culture, Environment, and Bison Populations on the Late Prehistoric and Early Historic Central Plains, 1995

Fauna from the Hulme Site and Comments on Central Plains Tradition Subsistence Variability, 1990

 

Box 5, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Bozell, John R. and James V. Winfrey

A Review of Middle Woodland Archeology in Nebraska, 1994

 

Box 6

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Broce, Gerald

Juris: An Ethnic Cemetery on the High Plains, 1996

Broihahn, John H. and David M. Gradwohl

A Grass Rope Ware Vessel and Associated Artifact from the Central Des Moines River Valley, Iowa, 1997

Brooks, Robert L., Michael C. Moore and Douglas Owsley

New Smith, 34RM400: A Plains Village Mortuary Site in Western Oklahoma, 1992

Brooks, Robert L. and Robert J. Stokes

Archaeological Investigations at Graystone Estates #1 (34TU129), Tulsa County, Oklahoma, 2000

Brown, David O.

Late Holocene Climates of North Central Texas

Brunswig, Robert H. Jr.

Terminal Paleo-Indian and Early Archaic Culture Dynamics and Processes of Northeastern Colorado’s Central High Plains and Rocky Mountain Front Range, 1994

Bruseth, James E., Diane E. Wilson, and Timothy K. Perttula

A Spiroan Entrepot in Texas? Another Look at the Place of the Sanders Site in Southern Plains and Southeastern U.S. Prehistory, 1995

Buehler, Kent J

Getting over the Hump: Some Concluding Remarks on Southern Plains Bison Procurement/Utilization Studies

Where’s the Cliff: Late Archaic Bison Kills in the Southern Plains

Buenger, Brent A.

Patterns of Appendicular Skeletal Disarticulation: A Taphonomic Investigation of the Hudson-Meng Bonebed, 2000

Burley, David V.

Tipi Rings and Alberta Prehistory: Toward a Historical and Critical Review of a Legislated Archaeology, 1990

Caran, S. Christopher

Quaternary Paleoenvironmental and Paleoclimatic Reconstruction: A Discussion and Critique with Examples from the Southern High Plains

Carlson, Gayle F., John R. Bozell, Terry L. Steinacher, Marjorie Brooks Lovvorn, and George W. Gill

The Sidney Burial: A Middle Plains Archaic Mortuary Site from Western Nebraska, 1998

Chaffee, Scott D., Lawrence L. Loendorf, Marian Hyman, and Marvin W. Rowe

A Dated Pictograph in the Pryor Mountains, Montana, 1994

 

 

Box 6, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Charles, James N.

Involvement of Native Americans in Cultural Resources Programs, 1999

Church, Tim

Bijou Hills Orthoquartzite: An Updated Description, 1993

Lithic Resources of the Bear lodge Mountains, Wyoming: Description, Distribution, and Implications, 1996

Collins, James M.

A Shell Mask Gorget from Allamakee County, Iowa, 1995

Connor, Melissa A., Kow-Ling Chyi, Denise C. Carlevato, and Kenneth P. Cannon

Ceramics and Clay Nodules from Jackson Lake, Wyoming: Description and Mineralogical Analysis, 1990

Creel, Darrell, Robert F. Scott IV, and Michael B. Collins

A Faunal Record from West Central Texas and Its Bearing on Late Holcene Bison Population Changes in the Southern Plains, 1990

Davis, Carl M. And James D. Keyser-McKean

Complex Projectile Point Typology and Function in the Pine Parklands, 1999

Davis, Leslie B., John W. Fisher Jr., Michael C. Wilson, Stephen A. Chomko, and Richard E. Morian

Avonlea Phase Winter Fare at Lost Terrace, Upper Missouri River Valley of Montana: The Vertebrate Fauna, 2000

Dawe, Bob

Tiny Arrowheads: Toys in the Toolkit, 1997

De Mauriac, Caroline M.

Plains Indian Narratives: The Hide Painting Tradition and a Changing Warfare Complex, 1989

Dixon, E. James and Richard Marlar

A New Discovery at the Folsom Type Site, 1997

Dormaar, J.F.

Soil Transformation under Boulders in Situ as a Means of Relative Dating of Archaeological Sites, 1990

Drass, Richard R.

Macro-botanical Remains from Two Early Plains Village Sites in Central Oklahoma, 1992

Redefining Plains Village Complexes in Oklahoma: The Paoli Phase and the Red Bed Plains Variant, 1998

Drass, Richard R. and Timothy G. Baugh

Cultural Continuity in the Southern Plains: The Wheeler Phase Revisited, 1997

Drass, Richard R. and Peggy Flynn

Temporal and Geographic Variations in Subsistence Practices for Plains Villagers in the Southern Plains, 1990

Duke, Phillip

Ideology and the Practice of Plains Archaeology, 1993

Duke, Phillip and Mona Charles

The Excavation of Aboriginal Scarred Trees in the Montana West, 1992

 

Box 6, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Duncan, Marjorie A.

Middle Archaic Environmental Constraints and the Calf Creek Foragers

Dyck, Ian

Does Rodeo Have Roots in Ancient Indian Traditions?, 1996

Eighmy, Jeffrey L. and Jason M. LaBelle

Radiocarbon Dating of Twenty-Seven Plains Complexes and Phases, 1995

Eighmy, Jeffrey L., Randall S. Taylor, and Pamela Y. Klein

Archaeomagnetic Dating on the Great Plains, 1992

Ellwood, Priscilla B.

Native American Ceramics of Eastern Colorado, 2000

Emerson, Thomas E. and Randall E. Hughes

De-Mything the Cahokia Catlinite Trade, 2000

Fagin, Nancy L.

Any Certain Thing: The Simms Collection of Crow Shields at FMNH, 1990

Fair, Rhonda S.

Becoming the White Man’s Indian: An Examination of Native American Tribal Web Sites, 2000

Feraca, Stephen E.

The History and Development of Ogallala Sioux Tribal Government, 1990

Fisher, John W. Jr. and George C. Frison

Site Structure and Zoo Archaeology at the Boar’s Tusk Site, Wyoming, 2000

Flint, Richard and Shirley

The Location of Coronado’s 1541 Bridge: A Critical Appraisal of Albert Schroeder’s 1962 Hypothesis, 1990

Fox, William A.

Aboriginal Peoples, Archaeology and Parks Canada, 1999

Francis, Julie E.

Gender Studies in Plains Anthropology a Commentary to the 1987 Symposium, 1987

Frederick, Charles D.

Late Quaternary Clay Dune Sedimentation on the Llano Estacado, Texas

Fredlund, Glen G., C. Britt Bousman and Douglas K. Boyd

The Holocene Phytolith Record from Morgan Playa in the Rolling Plains of Texas

Fredlund, Glen, Linea Sundstrom, and Rebecca Armstrong

Crazy Mule’s Maps of the Upper Missouri, 1877-1880, 1995

Freeman, Gordon R. and Phyllis J. Freeman

Majorville Medicine Wheel Complex: Accurate Markings of the Solstices and 12.00 Hour Days by Outliers, 1992

Frison, George

The Eden-Farson Pronghorn Kill 48SW304: Taphonomic Analysis and Animal Behavior, 2000

Observations on Pronghorn Behavior and Taphonomic Analysis of Bone Beds: Implications for Analysis of the Eden-Farson Pronghorn Kill, 2001

Box 6, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Frison, George C. and Zola Van Norman

Carved Steatite and Sandstone Tubes: Pipes for Smoking or Shaman’s Paraphernalia, 1992

Gibbon, Guy

Old Copper in Minnesota: A Review, 1998

Gillam, Christopher J.

A View of Paleo-Indian Settlement from Crowley’s Ridge, 1996

Gray, Mark A.

Patronage and Kinship among Lao Refugees in Storm Lake, Iowa 1994

The Role of Nonmarket Processes in Mobilization of Lao and Mennonite Labor in Storm Lake, Iowa, 1994

Green, William

The Paul Rowe Archeological Collection: A Key to Central Plains Prehistory, 1990

Greene, Candace S.

Exploring the Three “Little Bluffs” of the Kiowa, 1996

Soft Cradles of the Central Plains, 1992

Greer, Mavis and John Greer

Handprints in Montana Rock Art, 1999

 

Box 7

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Gregg, John B. and William M. Bass

Erosion of the Supraorbital Plate, 1993

Osteitis Pubis in the Male, 1995

Gregg, Michael L.

An Early Plains Woodland Structure in the Northeastern Plains, 1990

Greiser, Sally T.

Behavioral Interpretation of Floor Space Utilization at the Sun River Site, Montana, 1991

Grisafe, David A.

Preservation of Native American Petroglyphs on Porous Sandstone Using an Ethyl Silicate Solution, 1996

Guenther, Todd R.

The Horse Creek Site: Some Evidence for Gender Roles in a Transitional Early to Middle Plains Archaic Base Camp, 1991

Haberman, Thomas W. and Marion Travis

Radiocarbon Dates for the Stelzer Site, 39DW242, Dewey County, South Dakota, 1995

Habicht-Mauche, Judith A.

Coronado’s Querechos and Teyas in the Archeological Record of the Texas Panhandle, 1992

Hamill, James

Being Indian In Northeast Oklahoma, 2000

Hamilton, Scott

Ecological “Islands” And Vickers Focus Adaptive Transitions in the Pre-Contact Plains of Southwestern Manitoba, 1999

Box 7, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Hanna, Margaret G.

A Time to Choose: “US” Versus “Them,” Or “All of us Together”, 1999

Hanson, Jeffrey A., Kimberly K. Kvernes, and Daniel E. McGregor

Chronology and Cultural Affiliation in North Central Texas: The Late Prehistoric Period of the Upper Trinity Region, 2000

Hanson, Jeffrey R. and David Moore

Applied Anthropology at Devils Tower National Monument, 1999

Hartwell, William T.

The Ryan’s Site Cache: Comparisons to Plainview, 1995

The Ryan’s Site Cache: Plainview Lithic Technology in Plain View, 1994

Hassler, Robert C.

Computer Cartography and the Validity of Surface Site Sampling, 1990

Hatfield, Virginia

Triple S Ranch Site a Multicomponent Campsite in North Central Texas, 2000

Hawley, Marlin F.

European Contact and Southwestern Artifacts in the Lower Walnut Focus Sites at Arkansas City, Kansas, 2000

Hawley, Marlin F. and Richard E. Hughes

A Source Study of Obsidian from the Infinity Site (14MY305), Kansas, 1998

Henderson, Norman

Replicating Dog Travois Travel on the Northern Plains, 1994

Henning, Dale R.

The Adaptive Patterning of the Dhegiha Sioux, 1993

Hickerson, Nancy P.

The Big Buffalo Hunt of 1684: An Episode from the History of the South Plains, 1991

Hill, Mathew E. Jr.

Paleo-Indian Bison Remains from the 12 Mile Creek Site in Western Kansas, 1996

Hill, Matthew E. Jr. and Jack L. Hofman

The Waugh Site: A Folsom-Age Bison Bonebed in Northwestern Oklahoma, 1996

Hill, Mathew Glenn, Vance T. Holliday, and Dennis J. Stanford

A Further Evaluation of the San Jon Site, New Mexico, 1995

History of Investigations, Geoarchaeology, and Reexamination of the Extant Lithic and Faunal Collections from the San Jon Site, New Mexico, 1995

Hocket, Scott

Interpreting Lagomorph Bones: Taphonomy of Raptor Pellets and Significance to Archaeology, 1990

Hofman, Jack L.

Salt Creek, Recent Evidence from the Eastern Folsom Margin in Central Oklahoma, 1990

 

 

Box 7, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Hofman, Jack L., Daniel S. Amick and Richard O. Rose

Shifting Sands: A Folsom-Midland Assemblage from a Campsite in Western Texas, 1990

Hofman, Jack L. and Lawrence C. Todd

Reinvestigation of the Perry Range Plainview Bison Bonebed, Southwestern Oklahoma, 1997

Hofman, Jack L., Lawrence C. Todd, and Michael B. Collins

Identification of Central Texas Edwards Chert at the Folsom and Lindenmeier Sites, 1991

Holland, Susan A.

Evidence of the Spring Planting Ceremony to Evening Star and Her Sacred Garden, 1998

Howard, Calvin D.

The Clovis Point: Characteristics and Type Description, 1990

Natural Indicators of Artifact Authenticity, 1994

Projectile Point and Hafting Design Review, 1994

River Patina on Flint Artifacts: Features and Genesis, 1999

Hudson, Luann

Protohistoric Pawnee Lithic Economy, 1993

Huebner, Jeffery A.

Late Prehistoric Bison Populations in Central and Southern Texas, 1991

Hughes, Richard E.

Source Area Analysis of Obsidian Flakes from a Lower Loup Phase Site in Nebraska, 1999

Hughes, Susan S.

Division of Labor at a Besant Hunting Camp in Eastern Montana:

The Sheepeater Myth of Northwestern Wyoming, 1999

Hyland, David C. and Thomas R. Anderson

Blood Residue Analysis of the Lithic Assemblage from the Mitchell Locality Blackwater Draw, New Mexico, 1990

Johnson, Alfred E.

Early Woodland in the Trans-Missouri West, 1992

Kansas Origins: An Alternative, 1989

A Steed-Kisker Effigy Pipe, 1994

Johnson, Eileen

Late Quaternary Bison Utilization at Lubbock Lake, Southern High Plains of Texas, 1997

Johnson, Eileen, and Vance T. Holliday

Analysis of Paleo-Indian Bone Beds at the Clovis Site: New Data from Old Excavations, 1996

Johnson, Jay K.

North American Biface Production Trajectory Modeling in Historic Perspective, 1992-1993

Johnson, LeRoy and T.N. Campbell

Sanan: Traces of a Previously Unknown Aboriginal Language in Colonial Coahuila and Texas, 1992

Johnson, LeRoy

The Reconstructed Crow Terminology of the Titskanwatits, or Tonkawas, with Inferred Social Correlates, 1994

Box 7, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Kay, Marvin, Gary Dunn, James Cogswell, Hector Neff, and Michael Glascock

Helb Site Pots: Is it Huff or Memorex?, 1999

Kelly, Michael E.

It’s a Beautiful Day to Die!: A Cultural Ecological Analysis of Plains and Prairie Indian Warrior Societies, 2000

Kenmotsu, Nancy A., Timothy K. Perttula, Patricia Mercado-Allinger, Thomas R. Hester, James E. Bruseth, Sergio Iruegas, and Curtis Tunnell

Medicine Mounds Ranch: The Identification of a Possible Comanche Traditional Cultural Property in the Rolling Plains of Texas, 1999

Keyser, James D.

Painted Bison Robes: The Missing Link in the Biographic Art Style Lexicon, 1995

A Thing to Tie on the Halter: An Addition to the Plains Rock Art Lexicon, 1991

Keyser, James D. and Timothy J. Brady

The Schoch War Shirt: Documenting Individual Artistic Expression, 1992

Keyser, James D. and Mark Mitchell

Decorated Bridles: Horse Tack in Plains Biographic Rock Art, 2000

Kibler, Karl W.

Late Holocene Environmental Effects on Sandstone Rock Shelter Formation and Sedimentation on the Southern Plains

Klassen, Michael A., James D. Keyser, and Lawrence L. Loendorf

Bird Rattle’s Petroglyphs at Writing-On-Stone: Continuity in the Biographic Rock Art Tradition, 2000

Knudson, Ruthann

The San Jon Points and Paleo-Indian Typology, 1995

 

Box 8

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Knudson, Ruthann, Eileen Johnson, and Vance T. Holliday

The 10,000-Year-Old Lubbock Artifact Assemblage, 1998

Koch, Amy

The Mcintosh Fauna: Late Prehistoric Exploitation of Lake and Prairie Habitats in the Nebraska Sand Hills, 1995

Koontz, John E.

Siouan Linguistic Notes on Roper’s ‘A Note on the Quail and the Pawnee’, 1994

Kornfeld, Marcel

Approaches to Gender Studies in Plains Anthropology: An Introduction, 1989

Kornfeld, Marcel and George C. Frison

Paleo-Indian Occupation of the Hight Country: The Case of Middle Park, Colorado, 1999

Kraft, Kenneth Charles

An Update on Corner-Tang Artifacts, 1992

Box 8, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Krause, Richard A.

Attributes, Modes and Tenth Century Potting in North Central Kansas, 1995

Kuehn, David D.

A Geoarchaeological Assessment of Bison Kill Site Preservation in the Little Missouri Badlands, 1997

Kvamme, Kenneth L.

Geographic Information Systems in Plains Archaeology, 1989

A Predictive Site Location Model on the High Plains: An Example with an Independent Test, 1992

Largent, Floyd B. Jr.

The Texas Folsom Culture Revisited: New Additions to the Texas Folsom Point Database, 1995

Largent, Floyd B. Jr., Michael R. Waters, and David L. Carlson

The Spatiotemporal Distribution and Characteristics of Folsom Projectile Points in Texas, 1991

Larson, Mary Lou

Housepits and Mobile Foragers: A Consideration of the Wyoming Evidence, 1997

Latham, Mark A.

Reliability of Phase I Surveys Compared to Documented Historic Settlement Patterns, 1998

Solomon River Phase Site Distribution: A Review of the Possible Criteria for Site Placement, 1999

Laurencich-Minelli, Laura

Antonio Spagni and His Collection in Reggio Emilia, 1990

Lees, William B.

Chronological Placement of the Booth Site: Implications for the Wilmore Complex and Southern Plains Culture History, 1991

A Historic Burial from the Southern Plains of Kansas, 1991

Lewis, Thomas H.

The Origins of Writing: Mind and Thought in the Archaic, 1998

Tlaloc and the Far Chichimeca: An Olmecan Element in Plains Iconography, 1992

Loendorf, Lawrence L.

A Dated Rock Art Panel of Shield Bearing Warriors in South Central Montana, 1990

Logan, Brad

The Fat of the Land: White Rock Phase Bison Hunting and Grease Production, 1998

The Richland Crematorium: New Evidence of Plains Woodland Mortuary Practices, 1990

Logan, Brad, Richard E. Hughes, and Dale R. Henning

Western Oneota Obsidian: Sources and Implications, 2000

Lopinot, Neal H. and Jack H. Ray

The Calf Creek Horizon in Southwest Missouri, 1996

Lubinski, Patrick M.

Prehistoric Fishing in the Middle Rocky Mountains, 2000

 

 

Box 8, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Lubinski, Patrick M. and Vicki Herren

An Introduction to Pronghorn Biology, Ethnography and Archaeology, 2000

MacDonald, Douglas H.

Modeling Folsom Mobility, Mating Strategies, and Technological Organizations in the Northern Plains, 1999

Malainey, Mary E. and Barbara L. Sherriff

Adjusting our Perceptions: Historical and Archeological Evidence of winter on the Plains of Western Canada, 1996

Manson, Joni L

Transmississippi Trails: The Buffalo Plains and Beyond, 1998

Martin, Terrell L.

The Barrington Site: Middle Archaic Cache from the St. Louis Area, 2000

Martin, William

The Carter Site in Northwest Plains Prehistory, 2000

Matchen, Paul M.

Antelope Creek Phase Resource Procurement Strategies in the Texas Panhandle, 1998

McCleary, Timothy P.

The Crow Road Chief as Healer, 1989

Mead, A. Holly

Fur Trade Archaeology: Then and Now

Mehrer, Mark W.

Living Space at the McCall Site: A Buried Late Archaic Component in Southwestern Iowa, 1991

Meyer, David and Henri Liboiron

A Paleo-Indian Drill from the Niska Site in Southern Saskatchewan, 1990

Meyer, David and Henry T. Epp

North-South Interaction in the Late Prehistory of Central Saskatchewan, 1991

Michlovic, Michael G. and Fred E. Schneider

The Shea Site: A Prehistoric Fortified Village on the Northeastern Plains, 1993

Miller, Elizabeth

Evidence for Prehistoric Scalping in Northeastern Nebraska, 1994

Miller, Jay

Changing Moons: A History of Caddo Religion, 1996

Miller, Mark E. and Paul H. Sanders

The Trappers Point Site (48SU1006): Early Archaic Adaptations and Pronghorn Procurement in the Upper Green River Basin, Wyoming, 2000

Miller, Mark E., Michael D. Stafford, and George W. Brox

The John Gale Site Biface Cache, 1991

Mobley, Charles M.

Reconstruction of Broken Points: An Experiment, 1991

Molloy, Paula

Hunting Practices at a Historic Plains Indian Village: Kansa Ethnoarchaeology and Faunal Analysis, 1992

Box 8, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Moore, Jerry, Cynthia Blaker and Grant Smith

Cherished are the Dead: Changing Social Dimensions in a Kansas Cemetery, 1990

Morlan, Richard E.

Bison Carpal and Tarsal Measurements: Bulls versus Cows and Calves, 1991

Myers, Thomas P.

Minnesota Homeland of the Sioux, 1996

Paleo-Indian Occupation of the Eastern Sand Hills, 1995

Nagy, Imre J.

A Typology of Cheyenne Shield Designs, 1994

Nami, Hugo G.

On Clovis Callahan’s Model: A Comment on Bement’s Article, 1991

Nelson, Patricia, E.

Low Relief Valley Margins: Some Evidence for Ancestral Ceramic Tradition in the Central Plains Periphery, 1992

Nicholson, B.A.

Orientation of Burials and Patterning in the Selection of Sites for Late Prehistoric Burial Mounds in South-Central Manitoba, 1994

Niven, Laura B. and Mathew Glenn Hill

Seasonality of Three Wyoming Plains Archaic Bison Kills, 1997

 

Box 9

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

O’Brien, Patricia J.

Evidence for the Antiquity of Women’s Roles in Pawnee Society

Oetelaar, Gerald A.

Beyond Activity Areas: Structure and Symbolism in the Organization and Use of Space Inside Tipis, 1999

Owsley, Douglas W., David R. Hunt, and Larry A. Lahren

Clovis and Early Archaic Period Crania from the Anzick Site (24PA506), Park County, Montana, 2000

Owsley Douglas W. and Robert W. Mann

An American Indian Skeleton with Clubfoot from the Cabin Burial Site (A1184), Hemphill County, Texas, 1990

Patterson, Leland W.

The Preservation of Archaeological Data, 1990

Peck, Trevor R. and John W. Ives

Late Side-Notched Projectile Points on the Northern Plains, 2001

Penman, John T. and James N. Gundersen

Pipestone Artifacts from Upper Mississippi Valley Sites, 1998

Perttula, Timothy K.

New Folsom Point Finds from Eastern Texas, 1993

Pitblado, Bonnie L.

The Foothills-Mountain Paleo-Indian Concept in Southwest Colorado: A Study of Paleo-Indian Projectile Points from that Region, 1998

 

Box 9, cont.

PLAINS ANTHROPOLOGIST, cont.

Manuscripts, cont.

Pyszczyk, Heinz W.

Historic Metal Projectile Points and Arrows, Alberta, Canada: Their Use and Utility for Aboriginal People, 1999

Quigg, Michael J.

Bison Isotopic Data from the Southern Plains, 1992

Bison Processing at the Ruch Site 41TG346, and Evidence for Pemmican Production in the Southern Plains, 1997

A Late Archaic Bison Processing Event in the Texas Panhandle, 1998

Ransom, Jay Ellis

Big Horn Medicine Wheel (The Birth of Humanity) and its Successor the Aztec Calendar Stone, 1992

Ray, Jack H., Neal H. Lopinot and Edwin R. Hajic

The Big Eddy Site: A Multicomponent Paleo-Indian Site on the Ozark Border , Southwest Missouri, 1998

Redmond, Louis A.

An Indian Archeologist’s Perspective on the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act and the National Historic Preservation Act Amendments of 1992

Ricklis, Robert A.

Intercultural Spread of a Late Prehistoric Bison Hunting Complex: Evidence from the Coastal Prairie of Texas, 1992

Ricklis, Robert A. and Kim A. Cox

Holocene Climatic and Environmental Change in the Texas Coastal Zone: Some Geoarchaeological and Ecofactual Indicators

Riley, Thomas J. and Chaksana Said

Fly Ash Analysis of Possible Agricultural Soils from the Lunsford Pulcher Site (11S40), an Emergent Mississippian Settlement in the American Bottom, 1993

Ritterbush, Lauren W. and Brad Logan

Late Prehistoric Oneota Population Movement into the Central Plains, 1999

Robertson, Morgan M.

The Theme of Bushfire in the Cultural Ecology of Grassland Hunter-Gathers, 1994

Robinson, David G.

Stratigraphi

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip