Downloading and Installing EndNoteAccess CodeUPDATES (Read This First)The First Time You Use EndNote
Downloading and Installing EndNote X5Downloading and Installing EndNote (Mac)Downloading and Installing EndNote (Vista - Windows 7)Downloading and Installing EndNote (XP)
BibliographyCreating an Annotated BibliographyEbscoEditEditing an EndNote Output StyleFiltersGroupsPreferencesSubject BibliographyWord 2003Word 2007Word 2010Attach Files to ReferenceDeleting a Citation
Removing Author Initials from in-text citations
Importing Citation from Ebscohost
CWYW-Word 2007: Find & Insert CitationsCWYW-Word 2007: Format Bibliography (Video)CWYW-Word 2007: Edit & Manage Citations
Direct Export from EBSCOhost databasesManual Data EntryDirect Export from the Web of ScienceDirect Export on Macintosh and Windows Using FirefoxWorldCat
This is the "Importing Citations" page of the "Endnote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Endnote  

This guide will lead you through the process of downloading, installing, and setting up Endnote on your computer.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Importing Citations Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Add Citations Electronically

This chart from EndNote lists directions for importing citations into EndNote by database vendor. If you do not see your database or vendor listed here, check EndNote Filters.

Many databases support a Direct Export feature for electronically importing records into your EndNote Library. Due to a security feature, Direct Export will not work with Safari.

Moving Records between EndNote Basic and EndNote

If you have EndNote X or above you can transfer references to and from EndNote Basic libraries with EndNote installed on your desktop. Transfers are initiated through EndNote. Refer to the EndNote documentation for detailed instructions.

 

Editing References

Editing References 

  1. If a reference you imported from a database has problems (the title is in all capital letters, for example) you can edit the reference in EndNote by double clicking on it.
  2. The form will open.  You can retype or make changes in any of the fields.
  3. Click on the smaller “x” in the upper right corner to close the form. 
  4. Choose Yes when you are asked if you want to save the changes.
 

Transferring data from Google Scholar to EndNote

While Google Scholar is a very popular and often useful way to research, it does not cleanly transfer elements such as author names, abstracts, and other citation components into EndNote.  Use with caution!

1. Go to Google Scholar, scholar.google.com/ and at the top of the page,you will find a link to "Settings".

2. On the Settings page at the bottom there is a section for "Bibliographic Manager."  Click on the choice to “Show links to import citations into” and then choose EndNote from the drop down menu.

3. Select "Save".  (You do not need to be signed into Google to use this feature.)

4. Search for the items you need.  When you find a citation you wish to import, click on “Import into EndNote”.

5. Select "OK".

6. Depending on how your browser handles downloads, the reference will appear in your library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip