Did you know?
Style Guides often have unique rules on to fomat. For APA check out this posting to make sure you are making appropriate changes.
APA Sentence Case
Some article titles in EBSCO databases are capitalized in Headline style rather than Sentence style when imported into Endnote. All the words in the title are capitalized, rather than just the first word, as APA requires.
To fix this problem in Endnote X7, follow the steps below or view this EndNote video:
You will need to capitalize any proper nouns that were changed to lower case by changing the style.
To set up APA to provide sentence case:
- Select Edit
- Select Output Styles
- Select Edit "APA 6th" (or latest version) from the list
- On the left side of the screen look for Bibliography, and the subheading Title Capitalization and change to Sentence style capitalization
- Save, and be sure to make a copy/save as a different name.
EndNote comes with thousands of filters for importing records from various electronic journals and databases. Filters are used when importing saved records from a database search into Endnote. However, there are constant additions to the filter library on the EndNote website.
- What is an Output Style?
- Templates that control appearance of in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies.
- Styles defined by journal, such as Nature, or publisher, such as American Psychological Association (APA).
- EndNote has the most popular Output Styles installed. Additional Output Styles can be downloaded.
- Style Manager
- Style Manager is used to add an Output Style to the Styles menu that appears in the toolbar along the top of the EndNote library window and in the EndNote menu in Microsoft Word.
- Style Manager is used to edit an Output Style. For example, you can change how an author's name is displayed in a bibliography.
- To open Style Manager, select Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager... from the menu bar in the EndNote library window.
- The Style Manager window will open.
Open Style Manager
- Adding to the Styles Menu
- The Styles menu is a list of 'favorite' styles that appears in the toolbar at the top of the EndNote library window and in the EndNote menu in Microsoft Word, providing easy access to the styles that you use commonly.
Styles Menu in EndNote
- To add an Output Style to the Styles menu, open Style Manager.
- Find the style(s) that you want. To quickly locate a style:
- Start typing the name of the style that you want to find.
- Click on the Find by button to browse styles by subject category.
- Click the box to the left of the style's name to select it as one of your favorites.
- Close the Style Manager by clicking the close button in the upper right corner of window or selecting File > Close Style Manager from the menu bar.
- The styles that you have selected will now appear in the Styles menu.
Style Manager with Ann Rev Neuroscience Selected
- Edit an Output Style.
Occasionally you may need a style which EndNote does not supply, or need to modify an existing style to meet a specific need.
- Open Style Manager.
- Click on the style that you wish to edit.
- Click the Edit button. The Style window will open.
- The left column of the window displays information about the style.
- The top four items in the column: About this Style; Anonymous Works; Page Numbers and Journal Names, contain information that apply throughout the style, in citations, footnotes and bibliographies.
- Click on each of these items to view the available formatting options.
- Make the desired changes.
- The rest of the options in the left column are arranged under four headings: Citations; Bibliography; Footnotes or Figures & Images. Click the + sign next to the heading to view the available options.
- Click on the element (Author Name, Numbering, etc.) that you want to edit.
- Make the desired changes to the element.
- Note: Before you make any changes, we strongly recommend that you read about formatting Output Styles. In your EndNote library, click on the Help button in the toolbar along the top of the window. In the EndNote X6 Help box, click on the search tab and enter 'Output Styles' into the search box. In the list of topics that appears, select 'Basic Components of a Style' to view information about how Output Styles work.
Style Window: Changing How Author Name Appears in Bibliography
- Once you have made your changes, select File > Save As from the menu bar. Save a copy of the revised style. Do NOT overwrite the original template.
- Close the Style window by clicking the close button in the upper right corner of window or selecting File > Close Style from the menu bar.
Journal Term Lists
Different journals have different standards for abbreviating journal names. For example, some styles may require "Proceedings of the National Academy of Science" to be abbreviated as "Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci.," "P.N.A.S." or "PNAS." EndNote's Journals term list provides a way for you import and store the accepted journal abbreviations in various disciplines, such as MLA, Medicine, Education, etc. for use in your bibliographies.
EndNote comes pre-loaded with a variety of journal term lists. These include the accepted journal abbreviations from the Modern Language Association (MLA) , the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and theAmerican Chemical Society (ACS) among others. Directions for importing these lists into your journal term list within an Endnote Library are given below.
Importing a journal term list
- Open your EndNote Library.
- Click Tools, then click Open Term Lists.
- Select Journals Term List.
Note: An EndNote Library can only have one journal abbreviation term list. If you have an existing set of journal abbreviations and want to replace it with a new list, you must first delete the existing list.
- Click Lists tab and select Journals.
- Click Import List.
- Select the EndNote Term Lists subfolder from the Look In: drop down menu.
- Click on the desired list and click Open.
chemicals.txt is the American Chemical Society
humanities.txt is the Modern Language Association
medical.txt is National Library of Medicine
The list will be imported into your EndNote library.
- Click Tools, Open Term Lists, and Journals to confirm.
Note: Check your Style to verify whether a journal abbreviation or full journal title is selected. Unless specified, the journal title will format as entered in the EndNote record itself.