Downloading and Installing EndNoteAccess CodeUPDATES (Read This First)The First Time You Use EndNote
Downloading and Installing EndNote X5Downloading and Installing EndNote (Mac)Downloading and Installing EndNote (Vista - Windows 7)Downloading and Installing EndNote (XP)
BibliographyCreating an Annotated BibliographyEbscoEditEditing an EndNote Output StyleFiltersGroupsPreferencesSubject BibliographyWord 2003Word 2007Word 2010Attach Files to ReferenceDeleting a Citation
Removing Author Initials from in-text citations
Importing Citation from Ebscohost
CWYW-Word 2007: Find & Insert CitationsCWYW-Word 2007: Format Bibliography (Video)CWYW-Word 2007: Edit & Manage Citations
Direct Export from EBSCOhost databasesManual Data EntryDirect Export from the Web of ScienceDirect Export on Macintosh and Windows Using FirefoxWorldCat
This is the "Word 2003" page of the "Endnote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Endnote  

This guide will lead you through the process of downloading, installing, and setting up Endnote on your computer.
Last Updated: Jul 26, 2017 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Word 2003 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Word 2003

Word 2003 – During the EndNote X3 installation process a new option is added to Microsoft Office Word 2003.  Directions regarding how to access this toolbar are below.

This toolbar links you directly to EndNote and allows you to insert, edit, and manipulate the citations in your document.

Please note that you should have your references in your EndNote library before you start.  If you need to add references while you are writing, you can import them into EndNote and they will be ready for you to use immediately.  

Also, be aware that one of the unique functions of EndNote is that it generates a bibliography/references cited section at the end of your document.  As you insert citations, it will automatically populate, alphabetize, and update this section.  This will eliminate your need to create this list at the end of your document – it’s automatic!

   

EndNote Toolbar – To make sure that you have the EndNote toolbar, right click in the open space near any other tool bar.

Scroll down and select “EndNote X3” from the list.


If the toolbar appears as a floating tool bar, simply click, hold, and drag it to the toolbar space.    


  

Toolbar – This is what the toolbar should look like when properly installed.  

 

 

The first button on the EndNote toolbar allows you to go to EndNote.

 

 

Insert Citation – While you are writing, you can insert citations as you need them. 

The current or last used EndNote library is used. (make sure set this in your preferences).  

Click on Insert Citation. 

Once you click this, a new window will open.  This window is connected to the EndNote library. 

Enter your search term(s) in the box and click "Find." (You can search by keyword, author, title, etc.)

A preview window with the citation(s) will appear below.

Select the citation(s) you want to put in your document and click "Insert."

Note that you have options by the "Insert" button that will allow you to edit your inline citation.

 

Format Your Bibliography -- Word will automatically generate a bibliography based on the citations you use. 

However, you will need to choose the appropriate style for the bibliography. 

To do this, click on the Format Bibliography button from the EndNote X3 toolbar.

A new window will appear.

Click on the Format Bibliography tab.

Select the appropriate style from the drop-down box to the right of "With Output Style."

 

 

There are many additional functions for EndNote X3 in Word 2003.  If you have any questions, please let us know!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip