Downloading and Installing EndNoteAccess CodeUPDATES (Read This First)The First Time You Use EndNote
Downloading and Installing EndNote X5Downloading and Installing EndNote (Mac)Downloading and Installing EndNote (Vista - Windows 7)Downloading and Installing EndNote (XP)
BibliographyCreating an Annotated BibliographyEbscoEditEditing an EndNote Output StyleFiltersGroupsPreferencesSubject BibliographyWord 2003Word 2007Word 2010Attach Files to ReferenceDeleting a Citation
Removing Author Initials from in-text citations
Importing Citation from Ebscohost
CWYW-Word 2007: Find & Insert CitationsCWYW-Word 2007: Format Bibliography (Video)CWYW-Word 2007: Edit & Manage Citations
Direct Export from EBSCOhost databasesManual Data EntryDirect Export from the Web of ScienceDirect Export on Macintosh and Windows Using FirefoxWorldCat
This is the "Creating an Annotated Bibliography" page of the "Endnote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Endnote  

This guide will lead you through the process of downloading, installing, and setting up Endnote on your computer.
Last Updated: Jul 26, 2017 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Creating an Annotated Bibliography Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

1. Select the citation you want to annotote.

    Double click the citation to open and edit. 

2. Scroll down the page to find the Research Notes field.

3. Type your notes (annotations) into the Research Notes field.

    Click the bottom "X" to close the citation and return to the main EndNote library window.

4. EndNote will ask you if you want to save your changes.

    Click yes to save your changes. (Clicking NO will erase all of the changes you have made.)

5. Now that you have entered all the research notes you want, you need to select the citations you want to include in the bibliography.

6. Click File, then Export to begin the process.

7. Select your Save Location.

    Name your file.

    Set the file type to Rich Text Format (.rft) to preserve the formatting.

    Select the correct (annotated) output style.

    Click Save to complete the process.

8. There should be a new Word icon in your save location.

    Double click to open the document.

9. The Word document should have all of your citations with the appropriate annotations listed.

    You can change the format of this document since it is now a separate Word document.

    These changes will not affect the citations in your EndNote database.

    If you need to make a change in the EndNote citation you will need to o back to EndNote to make the changes there. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip