Downloading and Installing EndNoteAccess CodeUPDATES (Read This First)The First Time You Use EndNote
Downloading and Installing EndNote X5Downloading and Installing EndNote (Mac)Downloading and Installing EndNote (Vista - Windows 7)Downloading and Installing EndNote (XP)
BibliographyCreating an Annotated BibliographyEbscoEditEditing an EndNote Output StyleFiltersGroupsPreferencesSubject BibliographyWord 2003Word 2007Word 2010Attach Files to ReferenceDeleting a Citation
Removing Author Initials from in-text citations
Importing Citation from Ebscohost
CWYW-Word 2007: Find & Insert CitationsCWYW-Word 2007: Format Bibliography (Video)CWYW-Word 2007: Edit & Manage Citations
Direct Export from EBSCOhost databasesManual Data EntryDirect Export from the Web of ScienceDirect Export on Macintosh and Windows Using FirefoxWorldCat
This is the "Editing an EndNote Output Style" page of the "Endnote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Endnote  

This guide will lead you through the process of downloading, installing, and setting up Endnote on your computer.
Last Updated: Jul 26, 2017 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Editing an EndNote Output Style Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Output Styles

The Thomson Reuters EndNote Styles collection contains more than 5000 bibliographic styles for a variety of disciplines.

See this EndNote page to download all the styles, or search for a specific style.

 

Editing an EndNote Style

1. In EndNote, click on File

    Click on Output Styles

    Click on Edit ##### Style or Open Style Manager to select a different style to edit.

Style Manager

(Click to highlight the style you want to edit then click Edit in the lower right corner)

Style Editor gives you information about the style and all of the fields you can manipulate

Be careful with the changes you make.  If you make a mistake you will have to re-download the style from the EndNote website

2. Click on Template under Bibliography to make your edits

3. Put the cursor at the end of the line of the reference type you want to edit

Add several hard returns (enter button)

Click on Insert Field (upper right corner)


 (You can edit all of them if you wish but you should probably focus on the types you use most frequently)

4. Select Research Notes
    You may add any field you are using if you want it to print out in a bibliography, but for annotated bibliographies, you will want to use the Research Notes field

5. Add several more hard returns (Enter button) to add spaces between your references in a bibliography

6. Click File then Save As

7. Name the new Output Style

         (You should probably keep the original style name and just add “annotated” to the end

8. Click the lower “X” in the top right to close the style editor

Now when you click on the Output Style box and Select Another Style, you will see your new annotated style in the list

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip