LibGuides: ENGL 210: Introduction to Literature: Subject Specific Databases

Anthropology

These databases focus on anthropological topics.

Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute This link opens in a new window
900 journals in the Library of the British Museum Department of Ethnography, now known as the Anthropology Library, which incorporates the former Royal Anthropological Institute library.

Literature and Language

Humanities International Complete
A database of literary criticism and creative writing.
MLA International Bibliography
Citation database of journal articles, books and dissertations; coverage dating back to 1963. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database of scholarly articles.

Project Muse
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language.

Medicine

CINAHL
CINAHL Complete provides full text articles from nursing & allied health journals and is useful for focused information on medical topics.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “MW Main Word in Subject Heading” if you are using a CINAHL Subject heading term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “CINAHL Headings” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for CINAHL subject terms.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
This is a useful database for many general medical topics across the medicine field. Most of the articles are full text.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Subject Term” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.
MedLine
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Use this database for in-depth medical information .
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “MeSH” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms. MeSH stands for Medical Subject Headings and are specialized subject terms for the medical field.
PubMed
PubMed provides articles and research papers on all topics of medicine. This database is useful if you want to know in-depth medical research. PubMed provides citations but may not provide full text access.

Sociology

SocINDEX with Full Text
This database covers the sociology field and offers full text articles from over 700 journals. Use this database if your topic involves social issues.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Subject Term” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.

Sports

SPORTDiscus
Comprehensive bibliographic database about sports, including: physiology, kinesiology, physical therapy, nutrition, coaching, management, education, leisure studies, and tourism, among others. Contains journal articles and monographs as well as dissertations and theses, magazine articles, books, conference proceedings, and more.

Library & Information Science

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provided by the South Dakota State Library
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text indexes more than 600 periodicals, more than 100 are available in full-text plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wlison) (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This database indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year. Charts, graphs, photos, and other valuable graphical information.

Business/Economics

Business Source Premier
Use Business Source Premier if your topic includes a business or economic issue.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab at the top of the database toolbar to search for subject terms.

Communication Studies

Communication & Mass Media Complete database
This database focuses on the fields of communication studies and mass media/advertising.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject Terms” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab at the top of the database toolbar to search for subject terms.

History

America: History and Life
This index provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
American Memory
A collection of digital texts and images, including books, manuscripts, photographs, and film created from the collections of the U.S. Library of Congress
Avalon Project: Historical Documents
Historical Abstracts
Covers the world's scholarship in history from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR
Index to JSTOR, full text academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
New York Times Historical Database
Provides access to the New York Times newspaper from 1851 to 2010.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

Psychology

PsychARTICLES
Contains full text articles from 60+ journals published by the American Psychological Association. This is a good starting point for information involving psychology but should not be the only psych database you search.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.
PsychINFO
This dataabase provides the most complete coverage in the field of pyschology. Many of the articles are available in full text.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.

Law

Hein Online
Full-text legal periodicals database with browse and full-text search features.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (via EBSCOhost)
Full text plus expert indexing of the most important legal journals and books. Users will appreciate international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals, and others involved with the law.
Nexis Uni
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference.

Newspaper databases

ProQuest Newsstream
This database provides same day access to newspapers around the country including the Argus Leader and the Minneapolis Star and Tribune.
Argus Leader (via Proquest)
the Argus Leader is South Dakota's paper of record.
Nexis Uni
Provides full text access to major newspapers and wiresevices in the US and worldwide.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Selecting the "Power Search" function in the upper left corner of the page will allow you to limit your search to US newspapers only.
New York Times (Present)
New York Times (1923-2015)
New York Times (1857-1922) Proquest
Allows full text searching of the New York Times newspaper from 1857 through 1922.
Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest)

Science

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides broad coverage in both the social and natural sciences.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Largest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented. Citation analysis tools. Accessible from mobile devices.

Education

Education Research Complete
This database covers topics involving education and is a good complement to the ERIC database.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.
ERIC
NOTE: The ERIC database is currently undergoing updates such that no full text articles are available at the present time. . ERIC stands for the Educational Resource Information Center which is a government sponsored database of articles and papers on all facets of education. Most of these results are available in full text.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.

Native American Subjects

American Indian Histories and Cultures
Database covering Native American history and related topics.
JSTOR
Index to JSTOR, full text academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Environment and technology

Agricola
This database provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 600 periodicals, as well as USDA and state experiment station and extension publications, and selected books on agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics, and rural sociology.
BIOSIS Previews (Web of Science)
Life science and Biomedical research
Energy Citations Database
Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
EPA Web Archive
"Content in EPA's Web Archive is no longer being updated and links may not function; however, the materials in this archive may be useful as background documents to supplement current information or to provide a historical perspective on a topic."
Greenfile
This database focuses on the environment and environmental technologies as well as on human's impact on the environment.
Science Direct
Broad coverage and browsability of high quality journals in many natural and social sciences, easy to use search screen, inclusion of meeting abstracts and pre-publication articles, and the ability to search texts of articles are among the special features of this resource.
Science Reference Center
Provides access to full-text science-oriented content. Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Science.gov This link opens in a new window
This website is the US Government web portal for science, environment, and technology information made available by a cross section of government agencies.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A working biologists index to world literature on mammals, amphibians, reptiles, and birds; includes studies on all aspects of their life cycles and behaviors, including hunting and management research.

South Dakota Newspapers

SDNA Membership Directory
Complete listing of South Dakota's weekly and daily newspapers.
SDNA Public & Legal Notices
Public and legal notices published in South Dakota Newspapers. Notices are archived for three months.
South Dakota Newspaper Indexes
Historical newspaper indexes from the following: Deadwood/Black Hills (1877-1900), Indian Country Today (1991-2003), Rapid City Journal (1999-2005), SDSU Collegian Index (1970-2000), and Sioux Falls Argus-Leader (1979-2003).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
To link to USD holdings, select Settings in your browser. If you don’t see a Settings option, you can access the Scholar Settings page directly at http://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings. Select Library Links on the left and choose USD University Libraries - U. Get It.! if that is an option; if not, type University of South Dakota into the search box and choose it from the options listed. Click on Save.

To Send your citations to End Note - look under Bibliography Manager, click on the radio button labeled Show links to import citations into. Choose EndNote from the options and click on Save.