This is the "Discovery" page of the "Find Materials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find Materials  

How to search for many of the library’s resources at once.
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2015 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/discovery Print Guide RSS Updates
Discovery Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Where can I get help?

Questions? Contact the reference librarians at http://libanswers.usd.edu/.

 PhoneCall us at (605)677-6085

  SMS-Text us at (605) 868-8940.

 Visit us at the Reference Desk during regular hours.

 Subject specific questions can be answered by contacting the subject specialists.

Wegner Center Health Science Librarians

 

About Discovery

About Discovery


Discovery is a new search tool on the library homepage. It is an implementation of a product by OCLC called "WorldCat Discovery." Discovery allows you to quickly search many of the library’s resources at once. Discovery’s index of more than one billion items includes:

  • The University Libraries’ catalog
  • Items worldwide in the WorldCat database
  • Venn diagram showing how Summon searches the library catalog and most of the library's databases and digital collectionsSome of our database content 
  • Open access materials including Hathi Trust and DPLA
  • Other libraries’ digital collections

When should I use Discovery?

Discovery is great for:

  • Starting research on an unfamiliar topic
  • Doing interdisciplinary research
  • Finding scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles
  • Saving and exporting of records (citations, and EndNote export)
  • Limiting search by format, library location, discipline, and many other possibilities

Should I always use Discovery?

No. Discovery is a great starting place for research, but sometimes you will need more specialized tools. If you're not finding the materials you want in Discovery, try our list of databases. The catalog is the best place to look for books in our collection. For subject specific research starters, try our LibGuides - research guides.

Where can I get help?

Ask a Librarian via email, chat, phone or in person.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip