This is the "Indexes to Government Publications" page of the "Early U.S. Government Publications" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Early U.S. Government Publications  

This guide is a list of some of the pre-1900 U.S. government publications and the resources available for your research.
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2013 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/earlygovinfo Print Guide RSS Updates

Indexes to Government Publications Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Early Government Publications


Early government publications have a great deal of information. Many older U.S. documents are NOT in ALEPH so other sources need to be consulted. This is a list of some of the pre-1900 U.S. sources available for your research. 

Indexes

Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909 - Located on 2nd Floor, Government Documents Index Shelves.
The 1909 Checklist has documents published from 1789-1909.  It provides the SuDoc numbers and the Serial Set volume numbers.

You can also search the 1909 Checklist by typing Checklist of United States Public Documents in the Google Search box.

 

Google Book Search

 

CIS U.S. Serial Set Index - 1789-1969 - Located on 1st Floor, Reference collection (KF 49 .C62)
This is a subject index of the American State Papers and the 15th - 91st Congress.

Monthly Catalog  - Located on 2nd Floor, Government Documents Index Shelves.
Indexes U.S. Governmenht publications and lists the SuDocs call number.

Subject Index to Monthly Catalog - Located on 2nd Floor, Government Documents Index Shelves.

Proquest Congressional
Provided by the South Dakota State Library.  Restricted access. Access with State Library Ecard only.

This is one a good resources for finding older materials. It indexes congressional hearings, prints, and the Serial Set from 1789 to 1969. The early volumes of the Serial Set contain many executive agency publications, such as annual reports. See the LexisNexis coverage chart for specifics. USD owns many of these materials in paper. 

My Profile

Profile Image
Diane Frigge
Contact Info
Room 130
(605) 677-6091
Send Email
 

Depository Logo

 

    Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip