This guide highlights health data available at the state, federal and international level in several areas of health care and health administration. Primary sources are the Federal Government and international agencies.
Last Updated: Dec 21, 2016
This guide highlights some of the most frequently requested health data available. The guide also includes some health related web mapping sites.
Health data is collected by U.S. and international agencies and is often available for free.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. U.S. CDC
An alphabetical subject list provides links to health issues by topics such as diseases, aging, substance abuse and health issues such as airbags and air pollution.
More than seventy agencies in the United States Federal Government contribute to these statistics organized by topic.Topics range from vital statistics, diseases, medical expenditures and health insurance coverage.
- Global Health Facts- Kaiser Foundation
Statistics by country and category
- Health, United States NCHS
Chartbook from the NCHS indicating Trends in the Health of Americans. This resource includes over 140 trend tables including topics such as fertility, natality and mortality.
A federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Provides datasets an other public health information.
- Millenium Indicators Database U.N. Statistics Division.
Forty-eight social and economic indicators for 197 countries annually, 1985-2000 immunizations, AIDS, education, illiteracy, mortality, malnutrition.
- National Center for Health Statistics-Fastats A-Z
State level data from NCHS including birth and death rates, data from BRFSS and state health agencies.
International compilation of data from key government and agency sources such as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Data: Crime; Disasters; Education; Environment; Health; Immigration; Lifestyle and Mortality.
- Regional Core Health Data Table Generator System
108 essential health indicators to quantitatively characterize the health situation of 48 countries and territories of the Region of the Americas for the period 1995-2005. Table Generator System allow construction tables of indicators/countries.
- South Dakota Department of Health
South Dakota Vital Statistics: State and County Comparison of Leading Health Indicators
- State Health Facts-Kaiser Foundation
State Level data.
- Undata (United Nations)
Search multiple U.N. data databases for health and social indicators.
- WHO- World Health Organization
Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information from WHO. World Health Organization site also lists health related websites organized by country.
- Wonder: Centers for Disease Control
WONDER online databases utilize an ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
USD & Wegner Librarians