Databases
Where to start? This list of databases below will help you to find current and retrospective articles on your topic. The scope of the health sciences is highly interdisciplinary; the following list is not intended to be exhaustive but should be used as an introduction to indexes in the areas of major interest serving the various academic programs. Link to complete A to Z list of library databases.
Note: Access to the Library's subscription databases, e-journals and e-books is restricted to users with USD or Wegner accounts. From off-campus, you will be prompted to log in to the USD EZProxy Server using your USD or Wegner Partner ID and password. Details at: http://libguides.usd.edu/proxy
Contents:
- Key Databases in the Health Sciences
- Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- Behavioral and Social Aspects of Health
- Public Health
- Consumer Health/Patient Information
- Diseases
- Drug Information
- Evidence-Based Healthcare
- Health Education
- History of Medicine
- News and Current Events
- Nursing
- Nutrition/Diet
- Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Rehabilitation
- Science--Interdisciplinary
- Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
- Statistics
1. Key Databases in the Health Sciences
- CINAHL With Full-Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
Indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937. Topics covered are related to nursing, physical therapy, health education, social service/healthcare, occupational therapy, and related disciplines. CINAHL also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing. - MEDLINE/Pubmed 1966-present
Widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources in the areas of allied health, physical therapy, health education, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. More than 9.5 million records from more than 3900 journals are indexed. Use the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) vocabulary to determine appropriate search terms. Vocabulary mapping also available online. Select "tools" from the MEDLINE main search page. Read more about MeSH at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/meshhome.html -
(Non-USD users may access MEDLINE and related databases free via the www at: PubMed http://pubmed.gov
OLD MEDLINE (citations from 1958-1965) is searchable via the NLM gateway at: http://gateway.nlm.nih.gov/gw/Cmd -
Web of Science 1945-present
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Also includes acoustics, general and internal medicine, medical informatics, nutrition/dietetics, OB/GYN, pediatrics, psychiatry, surgery, rehabilitation, and public, environmental & occupational health. The Web of Science databases have the ability to link to relevant prior research and perform cited reference searches to track subsequent research.
2. Complementary and Alternative Medicine
See also CINAHL, MEDLINE (Section 1)
- Link to MEDLINEPlus aggregated CAM site at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/alternativemedicine.html
3. Behavioral and Social Aspects of Health
- Ageline 1978-present
Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) AGELINE provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology, which is the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. The delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies is particularly well covered, as are consumer, employment, and public policy issues. Literature covered is of interest to researchers, health professionals, service planners, policymakers, employers, older adults and their families, and consumer advocates. - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) 1985-present, with many earlier measures
Access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) from a variety of fields including public health, nursing, psychology, human resources, sociology, and communication. Records include publication information, abstracts, and references. Records are indexed according to the MeSH subject headings. - Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) 1989 to present
Frequently referred to as "Buros," after its longtime editor the late Oscar Buros, this series compiles original reviews of and citations to articles about many commercially available educational, psychological, and vocational tests. - "Population Studies" category at Project J-STOR,
Offers a searchable archive of a collection of full-text electronic journals related to Demography and Family Planning. - PsycINFO 1887-present
A bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Covers many health-related fields, including all aspects of mental health, nursing, health administration, pharmacology, rehabilitation, and epidemiology. Articles cited cover topics such as the behavioral causes and effects of physical disorders, health promotion and disease prevention, behavioral aspects of care, behavioral treatments for physical illness, linguistics and language. Heavy emphasis on literature related to substance abuse, addiction, and rehabilitation. Also covers cognitive, vocational, and psychosocial rehabilitation, speech-language pathology, ergonomics, occupational therapy, health education, counseling and guidance. - Web of Science 1956-present
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Also includes acoustics, general and internal medicine, medical informatics, nutrition/dietetics, OB/GYN, pediatrics, psychiatry, surgery, rehabilitation, and public, environmental & occupational health. The Web of Science databases have the ability to link to relevant prior research and perform cited reference searches to track subsequent research.
5. Consumer Health/Patient Information
See CINAHL, Section 1, and Nutrition Section 13.
- MedlinePlus
Authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
6. Diseases
See also: CINAHL, and MEDLINE (Section 1),
- NORD
Over 1,130 disease reports including symptoms, causes, treatments, and investigative therapies.
- OMMBID
Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease is a compendium of genetic disorders. Includes pathophysiology and treatment.
- NIAAA Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (ETOH) Late 1960s-present
Link via the www at: http://etoh.niaaa.nih.gov/Commonly referred to as ETOH,the most comprehensive online resource covering all aspects of alcohol abuse and alcoholism. Produced by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), ETOH contains over 110,000 records and is accessed by both researchers and clinicians worldwide. Includes abstracts and bibliographic references to journal articles, books, dissertation abstracts, conference papers and proceedings, reports and studies, and chapters in edited works. Updated monthly.
7. Drug Information
Drug information in the journal literature is indexed in MEDLINE, CINAHL, and other databases in Section 1. Clinical reference sources are listed below.
- Micromedex
PDR, drug information, drug interactions, product identification, acute diseases, and CareNotes, Martindale, Formulary Advisor. - Gold Standard Drug Information
MD Consult. Includes generic and brand name drugs, investigational medications, neutraceuticals, and nutritional products.
- ePocrates
- Johns Hopkins ABX Guide
8. Evidence Based Healthcare
Resources for Evidence Based Healthcare are linked at: Evidence Based Pyramid
9. Health Education
The best indexing coverage for Health Education is found in MEDLINE, EMBASE (Section 1) and PsycINFO (Section 3). See also: CINAHL, and ERIC below.
- ERIC (1966 to present)

Provides citations to educational materials indexed by the U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resources Information Center, including articles appearing in more than 700 journals and hundreds of significant research reports (federal, state and local) covering all aspects of the field of education. Includes abstracts. - Education Full Text
This database provides good coverage of topics involving education. - Education Research Complete
This database covers topics involving education and is a good complement to the ERIC database.
10. History of Medicine
- MEDLINE/Pubmed 1966-present
Search by topic [e.g., tuberculosis] limited to publication type historical article by typing the following command: tuberculosis AND historical article [pt]
11. News and Current Events
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
A version of the LEXIS-NEXIS database specially tailored for universities and colleges. Nearly 5,000 publications on the service span news, financial, medical, and legal information, including newspapers, medical and health journals, FDC Newsletters, JCAH Perspectives, JCAHO Quality Review Bulletin, and the New England Journal of Medicine. The vast majority of the titles on LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe are available in full text, with a limited number available in abstract form. Also includes biographical information from the American Medical Information's Physician & Surgeons Database (Select "Reference," then "Biographical Information") - ProQuest National Newspapers Abstracts
A multidisciplinary resource for research on contemporary topics or for the beginning stages of a research project. Offers citations from a wide range of English language academic journals, news magazines, and the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
12. Nursing
See also: Key Indexes in the Health Sciences (Section 1) Social Sciences Citation Index, PsycINFO (Section 3).
See also: Health and Wellness Resource Center (Section 1), Alternative Medicine (Section 2), Periodical Abstracts (Section 11)
- AGRICOLA 1984-present
Citations and abstracts of literature relating to agriculture, food and nutrition, food service management, natural resources and pollution, consumer protection and home economics.
14. Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Rehabilitation
The literature of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy is primarily indexed in MEDLINE and CINAHL (Section 1). See also Indexes for Behavioral and Social Aspects of Health (Section 3)
- NARIC's REHABDATA Literature Database (1956-present)
Link via the www at http://www.naric.com/research/rehab/
Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The main file, 1993-present, describes over 12,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The types of documents described in REHABDATA include research reports, books, journal articles, and audiovisual materials. - OT Search (AOTA Occupational Therapy Search) Includes monographs, proceedings, reports, doctoral dissertations, master's theses and retrospective collection of OT journals and newsletters held in the Wilma L. West Library, a national clearinghouse of occupational therapy information for AOTA members and personnel.
- Safety Lit Injury Prevention Literature An online source for current and past scholarly research about all aspects of injury prevention. A searchable archive of more than 95,000 items from anthropology, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics, law and law enforcement, medicine, physiology, psychology, public health, public safety, nursing, social work, traffic safety, and other fields.
- ebooks
- Frontera: Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
from MD Consult
-
Johnson & Mair: Clinical Sports Medicine
from MD Consult - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Board Review
from NCBI Bookshelf
- Harrison's
Good internal medicine textbook
- Frontera: Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
15. Science--Interdisciplinary
- BiosisPreviews
Indexes and abstracts from 6,000 international journals in most life science disciplines, including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, and toxicology.
- Dissertation Abstracts 1861-present
Indexes doctoral dissertations in all disciplines which were completed at accredited North American colleges and universities, and some foreign universities. This database includes abstracts only for dissertations completed since 1980. Can be searched by author, discipline, subject keywords, and institution. - Web of Science 1945-present
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Also includes acoustics, general and internal medicine, medical informatics, nutrition/dietetics, OB/GYN, pediatrics, psychiatry, surgery, rehabilitation, and public, environmental & occupational health. The Web of Science databases have the ability to link to relevant prior research and perform cited reference searches to track subsequent research. an access Journal Citation Reports via this link.
16. Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
The literature of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is primarily indexed in MEDLINE, (Section 1), PsycINFO (Section 3), and Web of Science above. Also consider:
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) 1973 - present
Coverage of over 1300 journals focusing on the nature and use of language in three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language (speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language forms, spelling, phonetics); and research in speech, language, and hearing pathology. The database consists of over 285,000 bibliographic records with abstracts citing journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and reviews of books and other media. English abstracts of publications in over 30 languages.
17. Statistics
- FedStats Link via the web at: http://www.fedstats.gov/
FedStats is the new window on the full range of official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by more than 70 Federal government agencies. - Statistical Universe(early 1960's-present)
Abstracts and index to geographical, demographical, and economic statistics, U.S. & state governments and privately published & international and intergovernmental statistical sources.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
- A very useful compilation of statistical information about the US including population, employment, etc.
Need Help? ASK!
Contact Info Barbara.Harvey@usd.edu 677-5121 --- Timmi.Johnson@usd.edu 677-6615 --- Anna.Gieschen@usd.edu 357-1300 --- Molly.Youngkin@usd.edu 357-1531 Subjects: Health Sciences/Medicine |


Loading...
