This is the "Home" page of the "Health Source: Consumer Edition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Source: Consumer Edition  

Last Updated: Jul 3, 2013 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/health_source_consumer Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

What is Health Source: Consumer Edition?

Health Source: Consumer Edition is an EBSCO database that provides access to over 80 full-text consumer health magazines including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, etc. It also includes searchable full text for health related pamphlets and 100 + reference books. It contains more than 9,900 Clinical Reference Systems Reports (in English and Spanish) and a medical dictionary. Topics covereed include AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging fitness, nutrition, women's heatlh and more.

This database was created with consumer in mind, so even it you are not a medical professional, the information should be understandable.

Here is an example of a search for articles about "older adults"

Here is a citation and part of an article: 

Various features can assit you with your search:

  • To perform a subject search, click on Thesuarus in the blue bar across the top of the screen. When you input "Older Adults", it will tell you to use the term "Older people". Using the subject term helps ensure that search covers all variations of your search terms.

 

  •  The Medical Dictionary allows you to search for the definitons of drugs and other medical terms.

 

 

Need Help? ASK!

Profile Image
USD & Wegner Health Sciences Librarians
Contact Info
Barbara.Harvey@usd.edu
677-5121
---
Timmi.Johnson@usd.edu
677-6615
---
Anna.Gieschen@usd.edu
357-1300
---
Molly.Youngkin@usd.edu
357-1531
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip