Endnote

Build a Library

Importing Citations Electronically

1. Search your database and save desired citations as plain text ".txt" files.
2. In EndNote Basic click Collect and Import References.
3. Click Browse to select the import file.
4. Select the file format or database/vendor from which you obtained the citations at the Filter: drop down menu.
   HINT: The vendor is the company from which we obtain the database and is usually prominent on the screen
   Example: Academic Search (database) has EBSCO as the vendor.
   OPTIONAL: If you cannot find the filter you need in the drop-down menu, click Customize this list to see all options.
5. Click Import.
   All imported citations are imported to the Unfiled group.

Online Searching within EndNote Web

You can perform searches of ISI Web of KnowledgeSM products, PubMed, and many other library catalogs directly through EndNote Web.

1. Click Collect at top of the screen.
2. Select the desired resource from the Select database or library catalog connection drop-down list..
3. Click Connect.
4. Enter search terms in the search box(es).
   Optional: Select a field from the In: box.
5. Click Search.
6. Number of records retrieved will be displayed. Click Retrieve.
7. Citations will be displayed on the screen. Click in the box to the left of desired citations or click on All or Page.
8. Select the desired group from the Add to group drop down menu.

Manually creating a new reference

1. Click Collect and New Reference.
2. Select appropriate reference type from the Reference Type drop-down menu.
3. Enter the information from your reference in the appropriate fields.
   Note optional fields further down the screen.
4. Check the box for the desired group at the bottom of the screen.
5. Click Save.

Organize Records

Creating groups in EndNote Basic

1. Click the Organize tab.
2. Click New Group under Manage My Groups.
3. Name your group and click OK.

Putting references in groups

When records are imported into EndNote Basic they are placed in the Unfiled group by default.

1. Click in the box to the left of desired records
   Or
   Click All or Page.
2. Select the desired group from the Add to Group drop-down menu.
   All selected records will be moved to the group of your choice.

View/Edit Records

1. Click title to view full record.
2. Click FindIt to the right of screen for full-text availability.
3. Click the right or left arrows to move between records.

Link to Full text

Link to a Web site or PDF

1. Type the full URL for a resource in the URL field.
   Include "http://", "ftp://" or other pertinent prefixes to provide a full address.
2. Click Save.
3. Click the URL to open the link.

Search Records and Groups

Quick Search

You can easily search your EndNote Basic library using the Quick Search feature. This tool searches your entire library - all fields for all references in all folders.

1. Enter a search term in the Quick search: box.The search term must be 3-120 characters in length. To search for a specific phrase enclose the phrase in double quotes.
   Example: "dna fingerprinting"
2. Use* to replace one or more characters at the end of a search term.
   Example: drug* (retrieves drug, drugs, druggist)
3. Select a group or use the default All My references to search your library.
4. Click Search.

Create a Bibliography

1. Click Format tab at the top of the screen.
2. Select desired group or All references in my library from the References: drop-down menu.
3. Select desired output style from the Bibliographic style: drop-down menu.
   NOTE: If your desired output style is not listed in your favorites, click Select Favorites and add the style to My Favorites. If EndNote Basic does not have the output style you need, contact one of our campus EndNote/EndNote Basic consultants. We can upload an Endnote Desktop output style to our campus-wide EndNote Basic account.
4. Select desired file format from the File format: drop-down menu.
   RTF (rich text file) is the appropriate file format for Word documents.
5. Click Save, Email or Preview and Print as desired and follow on-screen directions.

Cite While You Write

Use the EndNote Basic Cite While You Write Plug-in to insert references, and format citations and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Word. To download plug-ins, log into the EndNote Basic site in a Web browser, click the Download Installers link at the bottom of any page.

Inserting cited references in your Word document

1. With your Word document open, place the cursor in the location where the citation should appear.
2. Select EndNote Web at the top of the screen (in some word processors it will appear under the Tools menu).
3. Click Find Citations
   This tool searches your entire library (i.e., all reference fields for all references in all groups)
4. Enter a search term in the Find Citations box to find the reference or references to insert.
5. Click Search.
6. Select the desired reference. To insert multiple references in one citation, click each reference while holding the Ctrl key.
7. Click Insert.

The citation appears at the cursor location, formatted according to the bibliographic style specified. The reference information is also automatically added to the bibliography at the end of your manuscript.

Share Records and Groups

You can share your folders with anyone who has an EndNote Basic account.

1. Click Organize at the top of the screen.
2. Click Manage My Groups
3. Click Share Group to the right of the desired group.
4. Enter the desired email address(es) for sharing.
5. Click Apply.