This is the "Getting Started" page of the "SciFinder Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SciFinder Scholar   Tags: science  

Last Updated: Oct 26, 2016 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/scifinder-scholar Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Tools & Assistance

Welcome to SciFinder Scholar (Access restricted to USD students, faculty, and staff)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

What's New:

April 2014

"Need-to-Know" Videos

. Structure Searching (http://www.cas.org/training/scifinder/need-to-know-structure-searching)

. Reaction Searching (http://www.cas.org/training/scifinder/need-to-know-reaction-searching)

. Reference Searching (http://www.cas.org/training/scifinder/need-to-know-reference-searching)

. General Topics (http://www.cas.org/training/scifinder/need-to-know-general-topics

Non-Java CAS Structure Updates  

Enhancements to the Non-Java CAS Structure Editor continue. The latest features to be added include:

  • Variable Attachment Point Tool: specify multiple positions on a ring system where a substituent can attach to broaden your search scope
  • Functional Groups Tool: create a reaction query where a reactant, reagent, or product is represented by a functional group to cast a wide net in your research area
  • Text node entry: Use text entry to specify atoms at node points.

 Commercial Sources Updates

  • Most importantly, commercial sources are now set as preferred or non-preferred on the Commercial Sources answer set page 
  • Distributors are now listed under their parent commercial source’s detail page
  • The terms “supplier” and “catalog” have been removed from the product

March 2014

Non-Java CAS Structure Editor Updates

The following features and enhancements have been added to the Non-Java CAS Structure Editor:

  • Molfile import/export allows users to conveniently transfer structures from third-party drawing tools such as ChemDraw to the structure editor in SciFinder
  • Structure Shortcut Keys allow users to change nodes and bonds using a single keystroke.

Sort by Number of Commercial Sources

This new Sort option allows sorting of substance answer sets by the number of commercial suppliers associated with each substance. Users can quickly identify widely available starting materials, reagents, and other substances of interest.

January 2014

Non-Java CAS Structure Editor Update

New features and enhancements in this update include:

  • The R-Group tool now includes all sub-menu options in a single window
  • Bond spouting of carbon nodes is enabled by clicking on an existing carbon node
  • The Non-Java CAS Structure Editor is now set as the default structure editor. If selected, the Java version becomes the default.

Substance Answer Set Display

A user's ability to quickly scan and read results is enhanced by the following:

  • Grid elements are now all left justified
  • Regulatory information now appears as a text link in the grid along with Experimental Properties and Spectra information
  • The commercial sources icon now includes a supplier count

December 2013

Highlights of this update include direct links to full text PDFs for U.S. patents and additions to the Non-Java CAS Structure Editor.

Full Text PDFs

The new direct PDF link for U.S. patents provides one-click access to a PDF of the patent's full text without the need to navigate to an external website. Initial coverage will include ~800,000 patents from 1998-2013, with new patents added moving forward. This feature is available in reference answer sets and in Reference Detail and Reaction Detail.

Non-Java CAS Structure Editor Update

Enhancements to the Non-Java CAS Structure Editor continue. The latest features to be added include:

  • Add to Editor tool: convert a CAS Registry Number® to a structure
  • Lock Atoms tool: block substitution at a designated atom
  • Selection tool: select all or part of a structure to copy, move or delete

November 2013

Highlights of this latest update include additions to the functionality of the Non-Java CAS Structure Editor, a new Display Options user interface and linking to myCAS from the Password and Account Information section of your SciFinder Preferences.

Enhancements to the Non-Java CAS Structure Editor

The following features are now available in the Non-Java version of the structure editor:

  • Reaction arrow tool
  • Undo/Redo with complete cycle of undo/redo actions
  • Chain tool
  • Structure drawing preferences for fixed drawing length and angle

Display Options Improvement

Answers per page and layout options for answer set detail are now available in a single pop-up window when Display Options is selected. This applies to all reference, substance, and reaction answer sets.

 

Content Enhancements

  • ~26,000 German patents were updated and now include corresponding patent front page graphics
  • ~23,000 experimentally determined heteroatom NMR spectra were added to the database (B11 , N15, O17)

 

October 2013

SciFinder now features a new version of the CAS Structure Editor that does not require a Java plugin. The Java version of the editor is still available and your users can now easily select their preferred editor.

The non-Java editor is a new option for your users' substance and reaction searching that queries the same industry-leading content that they've always trusted. Your users may notice that some features are missing. Although we would have preferred to release the editor with all functionality, we released the first available working version to address the pressing needs of some who are still experiencing Java-related issues. For more information on the Non-Java CAS Structure Editor, visit SciFinder System Requirements at http://www.cas.org/products/scifinder/system-requirements-web.

With the latest SciFinder release, your users can also:

 . Analyze reaction answer sets by reagent to more quickly identify their synthesis of interest

 . Quickly view substance and supplier information simultaneously without leaving their commercial sources answer set

 . Easily update their account information and access SciPlanner how-to guides

June 2013

SciFinder's new, streamlined design lets you access powerful search options in just one click; quickly identify the latest, most relevant research via a more intuitive layout; and more easily access saved searches and alerts.

Download an overview presentation or go to the following link to access an interactive tutorial

http://web.cas.org/support/scifinder/newinterface_helptutorial.html

April 2013

This SciFinder maintenance release features the introduction of experimental procedure data from Springer journals and an increase to 14 days for the time a user can remain logged in using the Remember Me option.

 On The Go:

Use your smart phone to check out the SciFinder Mobile website (http://scifinder.cas.org/mobile), you will need a SciFinder account to access this website.

 

 

 
Click here to create a new Scifinder account
You must use your UNL email address to create the account.

 

Find - Scifinder tutorials, webinars and guides - Online tutorials and videos.

SciFinder Presentations - Sign up to participate in upcomming online presentations on a variety of SciFinder Topics from reference to substance searching.

System Requirements - List of System Requirements


Former desktop client users, you may convert your client-saved .sfr files to web version .akx files using the new SciFinder file conversion tool

Explore the web version of SciFinder -- It's the SciFinder you know and love, only better!

Have more questions?  Contact Kiyomi Deards, by phone 402-472-2554 or by e-mail kdeards2@unl.edu with questions or to set up a personal consultation.

 

 

Contact Us

 

If you encounter problems with registration or using the SciFinder Scholar Web Version, please email  USD-LibraryAccessHelp@usd.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip