This is the "Home" page of the "Suffrage in South Dakota" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Suffrage in South Dakota   Tags: gender studies, history, south dakota, suffrage, woman suffrage, women's studies  

Last Updated: Sep 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/womansuffrage Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Searching

Women and Social Movements in the U.S., Scholar's Edition 
Trial availble until 11/30/2017

Ancestry Library (via Proquest)
Available on campus only. Provided by the South Dakota State Library

Ancestry.com Freely available

Digitized Collections

The USD Archives and Special Collections are in the process of digitizing suffrage collections.

  • Jane Rooker Breeden Papers
    The Breeden Papers consist of correspondence, pamphlets, administrative records, newspaper clippings and print materials extending from 1895 to 1933. The papers relate to the woman suffrage movement in South Dakota, including material from the South Dakota Equal Suffrage Association, the South Dakota Universal Franchise League, the State Council of Defense and the National American Woman Suffrage Association. Additional materials relate to the South Dakota Federation of Women's Clubs.
  • Mamie Shields Pyle
    (Not the digitized link)

    The Mamie Shields Pyle Papers consist of correspondence, pamphlets, newspaper clippings and miscellaneous printed material extending from 1910-1929. The bulk of the papers document the campaign activities of the South Dakota Universal Franchise League. The League, organized in 1911, succeeded in its campaign with the passage of the suffrage amendment to the state constitution in November 1918. The correspondence also contains materials pertaining to the Woman's Committee of Council of National Defense, South Dakota Division.

South Dakota Woman Suffrage

 

As the centennial of the Nineteenth Amendment approaches in 2020, the USD Libraries have collected a variety of resources relating to woman suffrage - nationally and in regard to South Dakota, whose male citizens voted to enfranchise women in 1918. This LibGuide is not an exhaustive collection of research but rather various research tools to help students and academics to conduct research on a variety of woman suffrage related topics.

 

South Dakota State Historical Society.

Photograph: Woman Suffrage Parade, Douglas County, SD

http://sddigitalarchives.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/singleitem/collection/photos/id/2440/rec/4

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip