Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free Resources During COVID-19 Disruptions

A list of free resources offered by publishers to ease the transition to remote instruction.

Book Platforms and Publishers

BOOK PLATFORMS/PUBRS

Barnes & Noble Education

Press release

“ Barnes & Noble Education, Inc. (NYSE: BNED), a leading solutions provider for the education industry, today announced the Company has joined VitalSource® in an effort to support students impacted by the recent COVID-19 (Coronavirus) pandemic. Beginning today and through the remainder of the Spring 2020 term, VitalSource will offer free access to eTextbooks for students at BNED campuses that have closed due to COVID-19.”

Bergahn Books

3/26 press release circulated on LibLicense

Unlimited User access for Library Ebooks

Berghahn Books supports its key library partners, ProQuest, EBSCO, and Gardners in granting students unlimited access to their library’s eBooks holdings for a 90-day period. Another important library partner for us, JSTOR, has always offered unlimited user access so you can find a wide selection of our titles going back many years there too. As an early advocate of unlimited-user eBooks, we are proud to contribute to such initiatives especially as a great way to enable broad student access now and in the future. If your library does not hold the book you need, you can recommend it here: Visit our eBooks page for details.

Free and extended digital exam copies

For deciding on books for your current or upcoming semester’s class, we provide free digital inspection copies and have also extended the standard review period to 90 days. Sign up for free e-inspection copies here.

Free individual ebooks for individual use

For your remote research needs, we are offering free eBooks for individual users directly through our website until April 30 (for course use, please refer to the above library ebook options). Use discount code REMOTE20.

Open access ebooks and journals

As courses transition to online, we are offering a growing number of Open Access texts (many offered in both ePub and .pdf format) available for direct download from our website. View the complete list of OA ebooks here.

For open access journals, visit our journals site to access a number of OA articles as well as to learn about our Berghahn Open Anthro pilot, which makes all 2020 issues of this select anthropology collection available in open access thanks to the Subscribe-to-open model.

Free access to all Berghahn Journals

In addition to those BOA journals available open access, all Berghahn Journals – new issues and all back issues - will be made freely available through June 30.

View the journals list here: https://www.berghahnjournals.com/page/journals

You can find the latest developments for how we continue to tackle this current situation here. If there are any other ways we can support you during this time, please get in touch. We will do our best. Our dedicated BB team is tackling these challenging times with creativity, positivity, and perseverance. Together we can get through this.

In the meantime, from our family to yours, we wish you and your loved ones good health. We hope for better times ahead for everyone.

British History Online

About the resource:

From 30 March, all transcribed content on BHO is now freely available to individual users, and will remain so until 31 July 2020. This post describes what’s included in this move.

British History Online (BHO) is a digital collection of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, and the British world, with a special focus on the period 1300 to 1800. The BHO collection includes over 1,280 volumes of primary content and secondary sources.

Cengage (ebooks)

https://www.cengage.com/covid-19-support/

If your campus has been closed due to COVID-19, your students on US campuses get a free subscription to Cengage Unlimited through the remainder of the term, which gives them access to all Cengage ebooks and platforms.”

De Gruyter

3/18 (nothing yet, solution planned by next week):

De Gruyter will be moving to an upgraded platform at the end of March 2020 and providing free access on our current platform would not be prudent.

However, we are currently working on a solution for making the thousands of De Gruyter and university press partner print titles in your library’s collection available digitally for an interim period. We hope to have a solution by the end of next week.  Apologies that we cannot do something sooner.

Should you have any questions in the meantime, please do not hesitate to reach out to your usual De Gruyter contact.

To access De Gruyter's open access books, follow this link. To access their open access journals, follow this link here.

EBSCO

Press release 3/19

To help your library manage the COVID-19 outbreak, EBSCO is partnering with publishers to offer free upgrades and discounted pricing for UU access e-book models. Scroll down to see nearly 200 publishers offering UU access at the 1U price.

Upgrades for Active EBSCO eBooks Customers

A growing number of publishers are automatically upgrading all 1U, 3U and Concurrent Access models to a UU model until June 30, 2020, at no cost*. The publishers offering upgrades are indicated in the list below. The complimentary upgrade for existing e-books has already occurred from the noted publishers below.

GOBI Customers

Free upgrades will automatically be applied and discounted pricing is also available through GOBI. GOBI customers can visit the Special Promotions section of Spotlight Lists in GOBI to easily find and order e-books from participating publishers.

*Upgrades are in effect for 90 days and will revert back to original model on July 1, 2020. The updated access model will be displayed on EBSCOhost in the detailed record and eBook viewer. Upgrades do not apply to Short Term Loans or inactive titles (titles not currently available for sale/upgrade.

Elsevier ScienceDirect Textbooks

ScienceDirect Textbooks: The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers (including those journals customers who do not currently have books) for a period of 90 days. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed.  Access the title list here (expected to be updated by end of day Wednesday, March 18).

Elsevier also participating in the VitalSource ebook access, and through ProQuest Ebook Central

Library of Congress OA collection

3/26: We are excited to share that anyone anywhere can now access a growing online collection of contemporary open access eBooks from the Library of Congress website.”  Check out their collection at https://www.loc.gov/search/?fa=partof:open+access+books.

Loeb Classical Library (Harvard University Press)

3/17: https://twitter.com/HarvardUPLondon/status/1239924881023737858 

“access to the digital Loeb Classical Library will be free to schools and universities impacted by COVID-19 until June 30th.”

Librarians: email loebclassics_sales@harvard.edu for access

Macmillan

Publishers Weekly 3/17

Abandoning embargo on new release e-books in libraries, effective this week; returning to the library e-book pricing model effect on October 31, 2019. Lowering some ebook prices.  

Ohio State University Press (the)

3/15: Contact: Tony Sanfilippo <sanfilippo.16@osu.edu>

We have opened all of this year’s scholarship at OSU Library’s IR Knowledge Bank, and at some point tomorrow all the titles from 2019 to 2015 will open up to join the 600ish other monographs we had rights to that were already open.

 

We also opened our linguistics textbook which is used at hundreds of universities worldwide. That can be found here: https://kb.osu.edu/handle/1811/91418

We have a list available for all of The Ohio State University Press open titles in The Ohio State University's Knowledge Bank: https://library.osu.edu/document-registry/docs/1086/stream

The open titles in the Knowledge Bank are available here: https://kb.osu.edu/handle/1811/131

Pearson

Press release 3/18

Press release aimed at faculty: “As you make the mid-semester transition to online classes, many of your students will need to switch from printed to digital versions of Pearson materials. We are committed to helping with this transition, and offer several ways to ensure your students can access materials at no additional cost for the remainder of the term.”

Access via VitalSource or Redshelf for campuses covered by those, or contact link for others.

Penguin Random House

Infodocket 3/17

To further encourage book reading, especially among students, and to support school and public libraries that are closed with the escalating CV-19 outbreak, Penguin Random House will discount the prices of the e-book and audio book  titles sold through wholesalers to these institutions. This discounting begins immediately and will be in effect for a 90-day period.”

Project MUSE

Press Release 3/18

Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on our platform. With many higher education institutions moving into an exclusively online learning environment for the foreseeable future, we hope that easy access to vetted research in the humanities and social sciences, from a variety of distinguished university presses, societies, and related not-for-profit publishers, will help to support teaching, learning, and knowledge discovery for users worldwide.

Among the publishers currently opting to make content free on Project MUSE are Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books). We expect to announce additional participants and will continually update the list of publishers offering free access to content.

Read the full announcement about free access to MUSE content. Please contact MUSE Customer Support with any questions.

ProQuest [unlimited access to subscribed titles]

Press Release 3/13

Starting next week, ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from over 50 publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period, helping librarians bridge the gap for their patrons in this rapidly changing environment. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June. No action is required by librarians to switch on unlimited access – this will be done automatically, and the transition will be seamless for users. You can learn more here: http://ow.ly/m9vX50yLyGT

 

Please feel free to contact your ProQuest representative, Jacqui Gilchrist (jacqui.gilchrist@proquest.com), or my colleague Joanna Keel (Joanna.keel@proquest.com) with any questions.

Rittenhouse R2 Digital Library

3/17 announcement

CONTACT: customerservice@r2library.com

The R2 Digital Library ebook database is now offering no charge, no obligation access:

  • Extended Trial Available – FREE 60-day access. If you aren’t currently an R2 Digital Library customer, you can open a FREE eBook collection of more than 5,000 health sciences titles for 60-days for your patrons to use
  • OER eBooks – You can provide FREE unlimited access to a collection of 29 eBooks (including the Merck Manual, 20e) . Rittenhouse will waive the maintenance fee for OER only collections
  • No-risk Patron Driven Acquisition (PDA) – create a database that makes sense for your patrons at no initial cost

Science Direct

https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/content/book-title-lists?sf231962732=1 

We have made all textbooks freely accessible to ScienceDirect customers to support students and lecturers whose classes have moved from campus to online. Visit the list of titles, now available to access.

  • Title lists are updated weekly
  • Generate a complete list of your institution's journal and book titles on ScienceDirect by clicking on Download holdings reports in the Journals & Books page in ScienceDirect
Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0