PHIL 440 - Philosophy and Public Life: Journal Articles

A journal is a publication in any medium issued under the same title in a succession of discrete parts, usually numbered (or dated) and appearing at regular or irregular intervals with no predetermined conclusion. It is devoted to disseminating original research and commentary on current developments in a specific discipline, subdiscipline, or field of study.

Check the Journals List to see if the University Libraries has the journal, newspaper, or magazine for which you are looking.

The University Libraries' A-Z Databases list contains databases available to the USD communication for locating scholarly articles.  Use the Subject dropdown list to choose 'Philosophy' to see philosophy-specific databases.

Key Databases for Philosophy

• PhilPapers - A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the North American philosophy community. Monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. Through a partnership with the Philosophy Documentation Center, also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
• JSTOR - contains full-text, scholarly articles for important philosophy journals.
• Project Muse - contains full-text journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics
• Web of Science - created as an index to the citations in academic papers, it is now an index to a wide variety of philosophy content, especially in those topics that cross other with science or social science topics.
• Academic Search Premier - contains the full text for over 200 philosophy journals.
• Humanities International Complete - contains the citations of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to 1963.

What does this image mean? 

This icon indicates that full-text of the article is not available in THIS database.

The full text MAY BE AVAILABLE in a DIFFERENT database.  Click the icon to find out. 

If the full-text is available elsewhere at USD, the box that pops-up will have a link to the full-text.

If the full-text is not available at USD, you can request it through interlibrary loan (ILLiad)..