Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Storytelling

Educational Uses of Digital Storytelling

SD Oral History Center

Preserving the Voices of the Northern Plains 

The South Dakota Oral History Center collects and preserves voices of the people of the Northern Plains.

Included in the collection are over 5500 interviews which preserve indigenous memories and experiences from the 1890s to the present. This makes the collection an especially vital and valuable record of the historical, social and cultural legacy of the state.

The collection has been digitized and catalogued and is available to researchers and historians.

The American Indian Research Project was originally funded by a grant from the Doris Duke Foundation in 1967, and contains approximately 2400 recordings. The recordings in this collection pertain solely to Native Americans of the Northern Plains.

The South Dakota Oral History Project aimed to collect recordings from every county in South Dakota. Currently containing about 3200 recordings, this large collection covers a broad range of topics.

Sam Herley, Ph.D. Curator
Samuel.Herley@usd.edu
605-658-3382
sdohc@usd.edu

USD Honors Project

Of Drunkards and Scofflaws: Vermillion's Prohibition Story. (podcast)

Wet Hen image

Class in archives

Back row: Jacob Taylor, Matt Yetter. Middle row: Irene Aplan [back to camera], Jess Tisher, Samantha Jungers [obscured by Jess], Cash Anderson. Front row: Hannah Hofmaier.

Left: From The Wet Hen, Military Inspection Number Vol. 7 #4, 1932, p. 6, in Box 1 of the Wet Hen. Archives and Special Collections.

 

USHMM

https://www.ushmm.org/

The Holocaust Museum is doing interesting things with digital and hologram technology. 

The New York Times on YouTube: https://youtu.be/6-E70bul6Fo

The sharing of personal experiences by Holocaust survivors has been an important act of collective memory, and a warning against the dangers of prejudice and hatred. But more than six decades after the end of World War II, the population of Holocaust survivors is diminishing quickly. In “116 Cameras,” director Davina Pardo introduces us to Eva Schloss, a holocaust survivor who, having told shared her experience for more than thirty years, takes part in an innovative new attempt to preserve survivors’ stories in holographic form for future generations.

Read the Director's Statement: https://nyti.ms/2J4f8qK

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0