Health Wellness & Communication

USD or Partner login required for DynaMed, ClinicalKey, ClinicalKey for Nursing, JOVE, Lexicomp, Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, Atlas of Human Anatomy, AccessMedicine, Board Vitals databases.

Accessed from Wegner Health Science's list of databases.

       represents a freely accessible source.

  represents the mobile version from the Google Play.

      represents the mobile version from the App store.

Introduction

To know more about heat diseases, types, symptoms, risks, and rehabilitation, please check this page of Center for Disease & Control (CDC). Also please check here under 'The Nutrition Source'.

Also, Watch Learn and Live by the American Heart Association.

Some of history in Heart Surgery field

1893

1958

Content made on Kapwing

1967

2018

A Heart Safe Service Building

A public access defibrillator is present at the entrance of Wegner Health Sciences Library to treat any sudden life-threatening cardiac dysrhythmia.

Heart in Anatomage Table

What is Anatomage Table?

Check 'A Trip Inside the Human Body Using Anatomage' under Connective Issue Newsletter: December 2021 issue and Anatomage Libguide.

Scan the below QR codes to check out screenshots of the heart (the organ and the physiology) from Anatomage!

Changing YOUR Practice

In an attempt to avoid unnecessary medical and laboratory tests and procedures, the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) has created Choosing Wisely . It provides a list of evidence-based and updated recommendations from different specialty society partners.

For heart-related recommendations in Choosing Wisely is here  or here .

Critically Appraised Topics & Clinical Overviews

Critically Appraised Topical Information and Clinical Overviews can be found here:

• DynaMed     

• ClinicalKey 

Guidelines

To know more on heart disease guidelines, please visit the following pages:

• ClinicalKey 

• DynaMed   , offers guidelines from and not limited to Cardiology(ACC), American Heart Association(AHA), American Society of Echocardiography (ASE), European Society of Cardiology (ESC), Association for European Cardiovascular Pathology (AECVP), Society for Cardiovascular Pathology (SCVP), Association of European Paediatric Cardiology, Canadian Cardiovascular Society, please follow the steps in the video below that demonstrates how to reach Guidelines in DynaMed.

• National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) 

• CDC      ​​​​​​​

Facts & Figures

Heart disease is the leading cause of death for men, women, and people of most racial and ethnic groups in the United States (1 in every 4 deaths is caused by a heart disease).

In South Dakota, 56 per 100,000 is the death rate of Cardiovascular diseases and 66 deaths per 100,000 of Heart diseases.

Get to know more about facts and figures by clicking here and by accessing the Interactive Atlas of Heart Diseases and Stroke  (you can interact at County Level or State Level).

GBD Compare database  from 'Institute of Health Metrics and  Evaluation' is another interactive data visualization that provides data about heart diseases that can be filtered by state, years, gender, measure, categories, cause and risk, and units.

Databases

Some of which are:

• Critically appraised topics about heart and cardiovascular diseases can be found in DynaMed    

• Books, Images, Videos, Clinical Overviews and more can be found in ClinicalKey   

  • Searching 'arrhythmi*'

  • Searching 'heart*'

  • Searching 'cardio*'

• A list of free full text articles about thyroid awareness is present in PubMed . 

• You can access Book Chapters, cases, Patient Education resources, Tables and Quick Reference Resources on heart Awareness Topic via Access Medicine   or Access Pharmacy.

• American Heart Association eBooks .

• A large question bank database of expert-reviewed board questions to assist in preparation for USMLE steps 1-3, PANCE, and for specialty areas like cardiology is present in Board Vitals.

Multimedia

Videos

• Access Medicine-Procedural Video: Pericardiocentesis   

• Access Medicine-Physical Exam-Cardiology

  • Jugulovenous Pulsations   

  • Examination of the Chest and Major Vessels: Rib Cage, Thoracic Musculature, Lungs, Pleura, Heart, and Precordium   

• Access Medicine-Pharmacology-Cardiology   

• The Heart

• Cardiac Exam I: Inspection and Palpation

• Cardiac Exam II: Auscultation

• Cardiac Exam III: Abnormal Heart Sounds

• Examining the Heart more videos on Cardiovascular System found here

• Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine- Aortic Stenosis Pathophysiology and Compensation   

• Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine- Chronic Aortic Regurgitation   

• Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine- Comparison of Aortic Regurgitation vs. Aortic Stenosis

• Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine- Overview of Aortic Stenosis   

• Watch Learn and Live by the American Heart Association.

• Medlineplus.gov 

• DynaMed

• NEJM  

Infographics Guide to Medicine: Cardiology

Interactive Models

• Angina   

• Aortic Disection   

Images

• DynaMed  

  • Cardiovascular images

  • Heart images

 includes photos, radiographic images, histologies. 

• ClincalKey

• ClinicalKey Nursing

• Medlineplus.gov

• NEJM   

Articles

A sample of databases were you can find updated articles are:

• Annual Reviews  

• PubMed 

• Look under 'Cardiovascular Disease'  under 'Medicine' in 'Subjects' in Wiley.

• Type 'heart' or 'cardiovascular' in JOVE to get Articles and/or 'Articles with Videos'.

• ClinicalKey  

• ClinicalKey for Nursing

Journals

Wegner has access to more than 82% of QUARTILE ONE journals for the category 'Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems' exported from Journal Citation Report (which can be accessed form the University Library's list of databases) are represented by the table below.

Additionaly, you can browse through Wegner's Journals under the category of  'Cardiovascular Diseases' here.

If you need help retrieving the rest of the journals that lie in the other Quartiles, or help in analysis and evaluation of any journal, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Books

COVID-19 & Infection Control

These are some reliable resources that discuss the topic of COVID-19 and infection control articles, click here . What heart patients should know about the coronavirus, click here .

Grants

Some grant opportunities are listed below

• Institute Grants | American Heart Association

• Heart Disease and Stroke Program Grants and Projects (texas.gov)

• Rural Health Funding & Opportunities: Cardiovascular disease - Rural Health Information Hub

Evidence-based Updates & News

To receive clinically significant, reliable, and secondary evidence updates in your chosen specialty/ies, register in: 

• EvidenceAlerts 

• Accessss Smart Search 

• Knowledge Translation 

• EBM Focus by DynaMed

• NEJM

• 2 minute Medicine

• BMJ

• Access Pharmacy-Topics in Evidence-based Pharmacy Practice

• DynaMed (look under 'Recent Alerts' by scrolling down on the main page)

Hit Parade

Find out more about the most popular topics in research here

• PubMed  under 'Trending Articles'

• Accessss Smart Search 

• Access Pharmacy-Topics in Evidence-based Pharmacy Practice

• Access Pharmacy-FDA Medwatch

• Cochrane under 'Highlighted Reviews'

• Emergency Nurses Association 

• NEJM-Journal Watch

Legislations on Infection Control in the State of South Dakota

Find some laws and rules in South Dakota here .

Type 'heart' or 'cardiovascular' between quotations in the search box provided on the top right of the webpage.

Some results are 

• NINETIETH SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2015

• EIGHTY-SIXTH SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2011

• EIGHTY-THIRD SESSION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2008

Patient Education

Some patient education handouts are below:

• AccessMedicine

  • Ablation Treatment of Heart Rhythm Problems

  • Antiarrhythmic Medicines

• ClinicalKey

• ClinicalKey for Nursing

• Choosing Wisely  (you can type 'cardiovascular' instead of heart in the Search Resources box)

• Lexicomp (you can type 'cardiovascular' or 'heart'or 'stroke' for instance)

• Resources for Individuals and Patients offers more about Printable and Shareable Handouts, Learn About High Blood Pressure, and Quizzes, please click here .

• Medlineplus.gov 

OSCE Skills

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination offers OSCE clinical skills videos, please check here.

Continuing Medical Education Credits

Some databases that make you earn Continuing Medical Education(CME) Credits are:

• ClinicalKey

• DynaMed

• NEJM

• Access Medicine

More

Resources for Health Care Professionals offers information about Lifestyle Changes, Health Equity, Self-Measured Blood Pressure (SMBP) Monitoring, Medication Adherence, Standardizing and Improving Patient Care, and Identifying Patients With Hypertension, please click here.

Resources for Public for Health Professionals offers more about Communication Tools, Health Equity Tools, Evidence-Based Policy Tools, Hypertension Maps, Data, and Statistical Reports, please click here.

If you want to look up Open Educational Resources in Google and Youtube, please follow the steps in the video below.

• To create an NCBI Account in PubMed which allows you to save search strategies, create customized filters, and add bibliographies and other citations.

• To know what are health/medicine databases and helpful apps are available on mobile devices, check the libguide entitled 'Apps and Mobile Resources for Health and Medicine'.

• To get articles.

• To request articles, books, etc.