It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
German Language Resources for Students and Teachers: Dictionaries
This guide provides resources to support learning and teaching of the German language.
There are many good online dictionaries for German learners. The top few are those I highly recommend for both their usefulness and their interfaces. Dictionaries with more specialized uses follow in alphabetical order. All of the dictionaries in this list are of good quality, and some might appeal to individual learners more than others. Try them out, and see which ones work for you!
This is a very useful tool for translating web sites (simply paste a URL into the Lingro search box, and the tool will translate words from the web site into your choice of 11 languages. It also contains a dictionary, whose wiki-like structure allows users to contribute translations.
This dictionary is a multilingual (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, and Spanish) dictionary of corpus-based word usage. This online resource is different from traditional print dictionaries in that it is based on large electronic corpora, which illustrate how words are used in real life contexts. Learners can access all the information about the exhaustive inventory of contexts in which a word may appear. Each lexical entry provides detailed information about a word’s register, its frequency, and how it is related to other words.
This page contains links to pages of German morphemes (the building blocks out of which words are constructed) and common categories of German words.
Print works on German
An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Language and LanguagesRef P29 .C68 1992
Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics Ref P29 .B875 1996
The World's Major Languages RefP371 .W6 1987
Print Dictionaries for Learners
Der deutsche Wortschatz nach Sachgruppen Ref PF3591 .D6 2004
This compilation of German vocabulary lists words in subject categories.
Der Duden in 10 Bänden Ref PF3625 .D84 1988
The Duden is the standard reference work on the German language. Especially helpful for language learners are the following volumes: Stilwörterbuch (thesaurus) and the Aussprachewörterbuch (pronunciation dictionary).
Wörterbuch Deutsch als Fremdsprache Ref PF3625 .K46 2000
This dictionary is compiled for learners of German and contains good definitions and information on pronunciation and usage.