It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
German Language Resources for Students and Teachers: Resources for Teaching German
This guide provides resources to support learning and teaching of the German language.
This is a site where teachers can upload teaching materials and "borrow" from other teachers. Since it's a German site, the materials can support subject-based teaching of German as well as German language instruction.
This site is a collaboration of several German universities, German publishers, the Goethe Institute, and the American Association of Teachers of German. It offers teaching tips and materials, a German-teaching blog, and other resources for German teachers and students.
The Auswärtiges Amt provides current awareness information on Germany and the German language, as well as opportunities for language learning and a toolkit for recruiting students into German langauge study.
This site, sponsored by the George Lucas Educational Foundation, provides support for teachers who wish to use active-learning techniques like blended learning and project-based learning, and comprehensive assessment.
“SCOLA is a non-profit educational organization that provides authentic foreign language resources in more than 175 native languages. SCOLA receives and re-transmits foreign TV programming from around the world and provides other foreign language resources, language lessons, and learning material on this website.” SCOLA's resources include video and radio resources.
This site is a collection of open-access teaching materials and curricular resources related to sustainability and environmental topics. In addition to 15 modules on relevant topics, there are worksheets, a description of how learning objectives relate to the National Standards, a bibliography, and links to additional online resources.
This is an organized, searchable/filterable, curated directory/collection of free resources for comprehension-based communicative German language education, with a guide for teachers of how to use those resources.
Sponsored by the American Association of Teachers of German in conjunction with Wunderbar Together. This project is a collaborative initiative funded by the German Federal Foreign Office and implemented by the Goethe-Institut. It contains A new way to view materials: Standards-based materials that are accessible on almost any device.
This tool is intended to help clients identify machine translations submitted by professional translators, but it can also be used to show students how easily they can be caught if they submit machine translations as their own work.
This free site allows teachers to create customized Jeopardy games. Teachers can also browse the database of Jeopardy templates, including ones related to German language, history, and culture, created by others.
Languages Online allows teachers to create interactive activities (matching, memory, tetris, among others) and also provides ready-made interactive games and activities in several languages, including German.
Cambridge University's Language Center makes two types of FL teaching resources available: language courses and language learning objects. Both are available for free use under the Creative Commons License.
Super Teacher Tools allows teachers to create games (Jeopardy, Who Wants to Be a Millionnaire?, Matching) for instructional purposes. THere's also a classroom timer, a group creator, and a random name generator.
Voca is a free vocabulary learning tool for Windows- and Linux-based computers. You can download the tool and vocabulary lists, some of them created for specific textbooks and curricula, some of them thematic.