Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Contemporary Media & Journalism: Find Books

WorldCat Search

Search for an item in libraries
near you, and anywhere in the world!

WorldCat.org >>

Library Catalog

CMJ Call Numbers

The materials in I. D. Weeks are arranged according to Library of Congress classification and call numbers.  The following call numbers are a few of those assigned to topics relating to Contemporary Media and Journalism.  You may choose to view the collection (mainly housed on the 3rd Floor) by browsing these call number locations.

HE 8689-8900.9   Radio and Television Broadcasting
HF 5801-6182   Advertising
HM 263   Public Relations.  Publicity
PN 4699-5650   Journalism

CMJ Subject Headings

The following Library of Congress Subject Headings relate to Contemporary Media and Journalism and can be used as search terms in a catalog search.

Advertising Oral Communication
Advertising campaigns Photojournalism
Broadcast journalism Public relations
Broadcasting Radio
Communication Radio broadcasting
Digital communications Radio journalism
Graphic arts Reporters and reporting
Journalism Television broadcasting
Mass media Visual communication
Newspapers Written communication

CMJ Reference Materials

These are some of the great materials hiding out in the reference section on the 1st floor of I. D. Weeks.  They provide an introduction or overview of topics as well as definitions of key concepts and theories and are a good place to start with your contemporary media and journalism research.

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, HF5803 .A38 2003

The Encyclopedia of American Radio: an A-Z Guide to Radio from Jack Benny to Howard Stern
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, PN1991.3.U6 L29 2000

The Encyclopedia of American Television: Broadcast Programming Post World War II to 2000
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, PN1992.18 .L3 2003

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, HF5837 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of New Media
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, QA76.575 .E5368 2003

Gardner's Film, Video & TV Dictionary
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, TR847 .G37 2003

Dictionary of Mass Communication & Media Research: a Guide for Students, Scholars, and Professi
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, P87.5 .D449 2005

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, P87.5 .W38 2003

The Dictionary of Multimedia: Terms & Acronyms
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, QA76.15 .H318 2005

The Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Radio
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, TK6544 .M84 2004

The Practical Media Dictionary
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, P87.5 .O75 2003

SRDS Newspaper Advertising Source
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, HF5905.S73 2009

SRDS Radio Advertising Source
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, HF5905.S74 2009

2010 Editor and Publisher Marketing Guide
REFERENCE 1ST FLOOR, HF5905.E38 2010

 

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0