Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Contemporary Media & Journalism: Recommended Web Sites

Intro

The Web sites on this page are a good starting point for your research in the area of Contemporary Media and Journalism. If you know of a website that would be useful that isn't on this list, please let us know--our goal is to create a valuable resource with current and useful resources.  

Orgs/Associations

These Web sites are for the organizations and agencies related to various aspects of Contemporary Media and Journalism.

National Association of Broadcasters

National Communication Association

Native American Journalists Association

Society of Professional Journalists

Internet Sites

When evaluating Internet sites and deciding whether to include the information you found in your research, remember to evaluate webpages for accuracy, authority, currency, and coverage before using information you find. Here's a useful guide from Cornell: http://www.library.cornell.edu/olinuris/ref/research/webcrit.html

Web Resources

Listed below are some websites that may be useful when doing research on journalism and mass communication topics.

Ad*Access 
This site provides digital images of advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers from 1911 to 1955.  The ads fall into five main categories: radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II. (http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adaccess/)

Advertising World 
This site, compiled by the Advertising department at the University of Texas-Austin, provides an extensive directory of advertising websites. (http://advertising.utexas.edu/world/)

American Communication Association 
This site provides information about this association and links to resources on various aspects of communication studies and mass media. (http://www.americancomm.org/)

AssignmentEditor.com 
This site is designed to help journalists find stories and do research on the Internet.  It includes links to television news sites, various directories, online reference sources and much more. (http://assignmenteditor.com/)

Douglass Archive of American Public Address 
This site is an electronic archive of American oratory and related documents.  Speeches are both historical and contemporary; the date, occasion and text of the speeches are provided. (http://douglassarchives.org/)

FAIR Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
(FAIR) is a media watch group that monitors media bias and censorship. (http://www.fair.org/index.php)

FCC Media Bureau
The Federal Communications Commission Media Bureau page provides official information on broadcast television and radio. (http://www.fcc.gov/mb/)

Finding Data on the Internet
This site provides links to data and information journalists might need when researching or writing a story. (http://www.robertniles.com/data/)

First Amendment Handbook
This site provides an introduction to the laws affecting a journalist’s right to gather and disseminate news.  The text is maintained and updated by the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. (http://www.rcfp.org/handbook/index.html)

Free: The Freedom Forum Online
Sponsored by the Freedom Forum, a nonpartisan foundation dedicated to free speech, this site provides information about the first amendment, diversity in journalism, and an interactive museum of news. (http://www.freedomforum.org/)

hallikainen.com FCC Rules
This site by Harold Hallikainen provides information on FCC Rules and Regulations.  (http://www.hallikainen.com/FccRules/)

Journalism & Media References & Resources
Compiled by a journalism professor, this site offers links to information on freedom of speech, trade and professional groups, news media sites, trade publications, advocacy groups, reporting tools and more. (http://jmc.sbu.edu/faculty/dwilkins/resources.html)

Kidon Media-Link
This site is a directory of newspapers, magazines, television, radio and news agencies throughout the world.  (http://www.kidon.com/media-link/index.php)

MCS: Media and Communication Studies Site
This site provides links to online articles and information relevant to the study of media and communication.  (http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=3657)

Media History Project
This University of Minnesota site provides links to information about the history and development of media.  (http://www.mediahistory.umn.edu/)

NewspaperArchives on the Web
This site provides links to newspaper archives on the web.  It lists dates of coverage and the cost for obtaining articles.  (http://www.ibiblio.org/slanews/internet/archives.html)

Pew Research Centerfor the People & the Press
The Pew Research Center is an independent opinion research group that studies attitudes towards the press, politics and public policy issues by conducting national surveysand polls.  (http://people-press.org/)

Power Reporting: Resources for Journalists
This site provides links to resources for journalists as well as links to sites covering subjects such as crime, economics, politics and science.  (http://www.powerreporting.com/)

Poynter.org
This site provides information about topics such as graphic design, photojournalism, writing and editing, television and radio.  (http://www.poynter.org/)

PR Watch
This quarterly publication sponsored by the Center for Media and Democracy reports on the public relations campaigns of corporations, industries and governments.  (http://www.prwatch.org/prwissues/)

Project for Excellence in Journalism
This site provides research and information designed to raise the standards of American journalism.  (http://www.journalism.org/)

Radio Days (Old Time Radio) 
This site provides information about the history of radio, radio series and radio news.  (http://www.otr.com/index.shtml)

Radioinfo: Radio’s Complete Resource Center
This site is a directory of radio stations and suppliers to the radio industry.  It also provides a list of additional radio sites.  (http://radioinfo.com/)

This site is a collection of journalism done under cover or through using deception. Stories and resources are available on a wide range of topics.
Virtual Institute of Information
This site provides information about telecommunications and mass media and considers the future growth and development of these areas.  (http://www.vii.org/)

Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies Page
This site provides links to information on media theory and history, journalism, television, film, radio and more.  (http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2720)

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0