It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citation Analysis: Alternate Sources for Cited Reference Search
This guide covers resources for conducting citation analysis, finding impact factors and journal rankings. Useful for promotion and tenure.
Not all disciplines, journals, and document types are covered by tradtional sources of citation analysis, such as Web of Science and Scopus. Therefore, you may need to find alternative sources for locating citations to an author or published work. Some of the Library databases now include a cited reference search facility and/or times cited feature. These numbers are based on the the total number of time as publication has been cited within that specific databses in the journal titles that it covers. Listed below are databases that include a cited reference feature:
Academic Search Premier: Scholarly journal articles and popular magazines covering all topics. To search for cited references, click on Cited References on the blue bar.
America: History and Life: Summarizes scholarly articles about the history of the United States and Canada. 1964-current. To search for cited references, click on Cited References on the blue bar.
CINAHL Complete: Scholarly journal articles about nursing and allied health. Includes nursing interventions, management, education, theory, and history. Also includes allied health topics such as physical and occupational therapy. 1981-current. To search for cited references, click on Cited References on the blue bar.
Communication and Mass Media Complete: Articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies. Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s.. To search for cited references, click on Cited References on the blue bar.
Historical Abstracts: Summarizes scholarly articles in history of "the world" (South America, Europe, Africa, etc.) excluding the United States & Canada. Articles published from 1954-current. Historical events from 1450 to present. To search for cited references, click on Cited References on the blue bar.
PsycINFO: Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior. Cited reference searching is available. Comprehensive coverage of cited references from 2001 forward, some cited references from 1998. To search for cited references, click on Cited References on the blue bar.
Science Direct: Varies by title; most 1995 to present. To search for cited references, click Search; in the All Source form, enter author's name, select within Authors, then click Search; Click on the article; click Cited By.
Social Services Abstracts: Summaries of current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. 1980-current. Cited references from all journal articles from 2004 forward. To search for cited references, do an author search then click on the Cited by link in the record.
Sociological Abstracts: Scholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning. 1963-present.Cited references from core journals from 2002 forward; cited references from all other journals from 2004 forward. To search for cited references, do an author search then click on the Cited by link in the record.
Full-text Journal Collections:
HighWire Press - hosts journals from over 140 scholarly publishers with emphasis on the life sciences.
JSTOR - covers past years of scholarly journals in all disciplines, cutting off at volumes published one to five years ago.
Project Muse - covers approximately 400 humanities and social sciences journals representing over 60 scholarly publishers.