Skip to main content

Anatomy Resources

Anatomy Resources, Some Free and Some Available to USD Students, Staff and Faculty from the University Libraries

Brain/Brain Stem/Neuroanatomy

From "Atlases of the Brain," University of Utah

  • Brain Maps  
    BrainMaps.org is an interactive brain atlas that is based on over 20 million megapixels of sub-micron resolution, annotated, scanned images of serial sections of both primate and non-primate brains and that is integrated with a high-speed database.
  • The Human Brain Atlas  
    Includes both electronic anatomically labeled three-dimensional atlas of the human brain created from MRI images and anatomically labeled stained sections that correspond to the three-dimensional MRI images. From Michigan State University.
  • Spinal Cord/Brainstem Interactive Atlas  
    A web based, interactive, anatomical atlas consisting of twenty-seven plates of transverse sections of the spinal cord and brainstem. Produced by Mark Wiegand, Ph.D., PT, Bellarmine University Physical Therapy Program.
  • Whole Brain Atlas  
    A catalog of medical images of actual human brains - from models that are normal and healthy to specimens with diseased, injured, and disordered tissue. Includes clinical information. From Harvard Medical School.

Other Atlases

From "Interactive Atlas of Thoracic Viscera," Univ. of Washington, Seattle

  • Visible Body  
    Argosy Publishing's Visible Body is a comprehensive human anatomy visualization tool that includes over 1,700 anatomical structures, including all major organs and systems of the human body.
  • Medical Gross Anatomy Atlas Images  
    From the University of Michigan
  • Muscle Atlas  
    From the University of Washington Department of Radiology

           

Classical & Historical Atalases

  • Anatomia Collection, 1522-1867 (University of Toronto Libraries)  
    Approximately 4,500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.
  • Anatomy of the Human Body by Henry Gray  
    The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings - many in color from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries. Free access, with full-text searchable feature.
  • Historical Anatomies on the Web  
    Selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts.
  • This is an excellent website for accurate anatomical drawings:

http://anatomyatlases.org/atlasofanatomy/index.shtml

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0