Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 476/576 History of South Dakota Research Guide

Primary Sources at the University of South Dakota

Archives and Special Collections is a rich resource for the study of the Dakotas, with strengths in Native American history and culture, South Dakota politics, settlement of the Northern Plains, and the history of USD. 

New York Times Historical provides full-text articles and images from issues of the Times between 1851 and 2006. (USD access only)



Primary Sources on the Web Related to South Dakota

 

The Digital Library of South Dakota is growing collection of digitized diaries, letters, photographs, newspapers, and more from the collections of university and college libraries in South Dakota 


Search the Collections of the South Dakota Oral History Center

The South Dakota Oral History Center collects and preserves voices of the people of the Northern Plains. It is located in Dakota Hall on the USD campus.  Search the Catalog

Primary Sources

Primary sources may take many forms--letters, diaries, newspapers, artifacts, and works of art are among these forms.  Common to all primary sources is that they provide firsthand evidence or documentation of a event, person, movement, or cultural trend.  Learn more about primary sources at the UCLA Institute on Primary Sources.

 

Dakota Territory Trader's Ledger, Archives and Special Collections

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0