Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 476/576 History of South Dakota Research Guide

Begin Your Research with Reference Works

Encyclopedias, historical dictionaries, atlases and handbooks provide an overview of topics, places, people, ideas, or events.  They are excellent resources as you begin your research because they provide a summary view, point to key books and articles, and make connections to related topics.  

    

 

A Sample of Historical Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks Related to South Dakota

Encyclopedia of North American Indians by Frederick Hoxie.

REF E76.2 .E53 1996

Over a Century of Leadership: South Dakota Territorial and State Governors. Edited and Revised by Lynood E. Oyos.

REF F650 .O83 1987

Encyclopedia of the Great Plains.  David J. Wishart, editor.

REF F591 .E4856 2004

The American Midwest: An Interpretative Encyclopedia.  Andrew R.L. Cayton and Susan Gray, editors

REF F351 .A534 2007

Doane Robinson's encyclopedia of South Dakota.

Chilson F649 .R65

Encyclopedia of the Great Plains Indians. David J. Wishart, editor.

REF E78.G73 E53 2007

Handbook of North American Indians.  William C. Sturtevant, general editor.

REF E77 .H25

Search the USD Catalog for Reference Works

Search the Catalog for encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases and biographical dictionaries at USD, inlcuding those in e-book format.

Encyclopedia of the Great Plains.
Ebooks Corporation
Wishart, David J., 1946-
EBL ebook available to University of South Dakota users - click link to access: Full text
Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, c2007.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0