Skip to Main Content

Finding Children's Award Winning Books

The most common children's book awards given yearly are the Caldecott Award, the Newbery Award, and the Orbis Pictus Award.

2016 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

Image result for john henry bookImage result for mirandy and brother wind

Jerry Pinkney is the winner of the 2016 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honoring an author or illustrator, published in the United States, whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. His numerous works include [Julius Lester’s] “John Henry” (Dial Books for Young Readers, 1994) and [Patricia C. McKissack’s] “Mirandy and Brother Wind (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2009).

Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal

Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal

The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, a bronze medal, honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. The first medal, awarded in 1954, was given to Laura Ingalls Wilder herself. 

The award is administered by the Association for Library Service for Children, a division of the American Library Association.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0