It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legal Research Resources for USD Students (Non-Law): Federal Legislative History
This guide is intended for academic research in legal resources by University of South Dakota graduate and undergraduate students from colleges and schools other than the School of Law. The information in this guide is not intended as legal advice.
John V. Sullivan, Parliamentarian, U.S. House of Representatives (2007).
The United States Serial Set - USD Database
The United States Congressional Serial Set contains legislative and executive documents published since 1817. It includes House and Senate committee reports, presidential communicatons to Congress, treaty materials, executive department publications, and non-governmental materials. By special order, selected hearings and bill texts from the 19th and early 20th centuries were included. See Richard J. McKinney, An Overview of the United States Congressional Serial Set(last revised 2012).
The Serial Set is available from the University Libraries in an online searchable database, as well as on microfiche and in print (see USD Books and Microfiche box below).
The American State Papers, from the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection, includes the legislative and executive documents of Congress from the years 1789 to 1817.
The United States Serial Set - USD Books and Microfiche
The United States Congressional Serial Set by United States Government Printing Office (G.P.O.)
Call Number: Y 1.1/2:SERIAL
Publication Date: 1818-present
1818-1918: To locate these documents, go to Special Collections on the 3rd floor of I.D. Weeks Library, Room 305.
1919-present: These documents are located on the 2nd floor of I.D. Weeks Library in the Government Documents area.
A "compiled legislative history" is a collection of the documents created during the legislative process for one major piece of legislation, or an "Act." To locate a compiled legislative history of a particular Act of Congress, it is important to know its "Public Law Number." This number, assigned to the Act soon after it is signed by the President, includes the Congressional Session and the order in which the Act was passed during the Session: Pub. L. No. 95-598.
Search current federal legislative information and legislative history documents. Choose "Current Legislation" or "All Legislation" (1993 to present). Search by Public Law Number (e.g. 112-139), Popular Name of an Act, or bill number (hr5 or s7). Click on "Tips" for additional prefixes.
This Library contains the Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories Database and the U.S. Federal Legislative History Title Collection (full-text legislative histories of some of the most important and historically significant legislation of our time).
Includes the Debates of Congress, from the Annals of the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), Congressional Globe (1833-1873), Congressional Record (1873-2010) to the Congressional Record Daily (1980-2015). Also includes the Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789).