It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legal Research Resources for USD Students (Non-Law): Federal Administrative Law
This guide is intended for academic research in legal resources by University of South Dakota graduate and undergraduate students from colleges and schools other than the School of Law. The information in this guide is not intended as legal advice.
May search/browse current volume only or search/browse volumes from 1994 through current volume.
Federal agency rules and regulations are published on business days in the Federal Register. After publication in the Federal Register, rules and regulations are codified (arranged by subject) in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).
The easiest method to find a rule or regulation is to locate the rule or regulation in the e-CFR. This website is current through the last two or three business days. Then use the official Federal Register or the Federal Register 2.0 to update the regulation or rule through the last two or three days.
The CFR is the official annual codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive branch departments & agencies. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to federal regulation.
GPO Access has three supplemental services: the List of CFR Parts Affected Today, Current List of CFR Parts Affected, and Last Month's List of CFR Parts Affected. Search/browse current volume only or search/browse through 1997 to current volumes.
Includes the Federal Register (1936-2015), the Federal Register Indexes (1936-2014), Codes of Federal Regulations (1938-2014), the CFR List of Sections Affected (1958-2014), and the CFR Compilation of Sections Affected (1949-2000).
Refer to the diagram on the Courts and Case Law tab. Under Legal, choose "Federal Statutes and Regulations" and Advanced Options. Click on CFR - Code of Federal Regulations to browse by title, chapter, part and section. Check only CFR and use the box to conduct a segment search i.e. HEADING(search term), keyword or Boolean search.
The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules and notices as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Search within results.
The President of the United States also may have consitutional or statutory authority to issue documents that have legal effect. See Steven M. Barkan, Legal Research Illustrated: An Abridgement of Fundamentals of Legal Research at 247.
This collection includes the Messages and Papers of the Presidents (Washington to Hoover), Public Papers of the President, the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, as well as other documents and books related to the United States Presidency and individual presidents.
This collection contains the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. (1993-present)
This collection, from the National Archives, is an editorial codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders from 1945 to 1989. Its purpose is to provide a reference source for proclamations and executive orders with general applicability and continuing effect.
The document archive of this project, established in 1999 and a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters of the University of California, Santa Barbara, contains over 109,000 documents related to the study of the presidency. It includes the Messages and Papers of the Presidents (Washington to Taft, 1789-1913), the Public Papers of the President, from Hoover to G.W. Bush (1929-2007) as well as thousands of other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, and Statements of Administration Policy.
This guide provides a short explanation of federal administrative law, as well as lists of major federal government regulatory agencies, major federal administrative rule making laws and other resources for researching federal administrative law.
This guide includes sections on the history of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations, the contents and organization of the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations, Electronic Sources, Finding Older Issues, Citations, Indexing, and the List of Sections Affected.
Includes the Administrative Decisions under the Immigration and Nationality Laws (1940-2012), Decisions and Orders of the National Labor Relations Board (1935-2010), Decisions of the United States Environmental Protection Agency (1972-2010), and many more.
Decisions of federal administrative agencies generally are published by a variety of sources - the agencies themselves, the United States Government Printing Office (GPO), or commercial publishers. The sites below provide links to current and defunct agency websites, government publications, and information about government agencies.
Researchers can identify federal agency publications by searching by authorizing agency, title, subject. or general keyword. Includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides links to those that are available online.
A collection by the University of North Texas Libraries and the United States Government Printing Office to provide permanent public access to the Web sites and publications of defunct United States government agencies and commissions.
Provides comprehensive information on federal government agencies. Also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the U.S. participates, boards, commissions, and committees.