Skip to main content

HIST 480 Historical Methods and Historiography Research Guide

Journals@USD

Check the Journal List to see if the University Libraries have the journal, newspaper, or magazine for which you are looking.  

InterLibrary Loan

Ask ILL (interlibrary loan) for an article if it is not available in the University Libraries.

Do you want an ILLiad account?  Click here for help: ILLiad.

U. Get It

What if the record contains the U. Get It button? 

 

 First, it indicates that full-text of the article is not immediately available. 

 Second, it will lead to options for finding full-text or print copies of the article or give you the opportunity to request it through ILL.   

Looking for Articles

The Research Gateway includes the key databases that you will need to locate scholarly articles on topics in U.S., European, and World history.  Some pertinent databases are listed below.

America History and Life (EBSCOhost)

America History and Life (AHL) is a comprehensive index to scholarly articles in the field of American history.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)

Historical Abstracts is an index to scholarly articles on topics in European and World history.

L'Année Philologique

L'Annee Philologique is an index of publications related to the history, language, literature and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome. It includes periodical articles, articles in book collections, festschriften, dissertations, and conference papers. 

Learn more about this database here.

JSTOR

JSTOR contains full-text,  scholarly articles on topics in the fields of U.S., European, Middle Eastern, Asian, African, and Ancient history. 

ProjectMuse

 

 ProjectMuse is helpful in finding articles in the areas of gender studies, ethnic studies and other interdisciplinary approaches to the field of history.  It also includes journals in early Christian history, architectural history, and other diverse areas.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0