Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 480 Historical Methods and Historiography Research Guide

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Using reference books such as encyclopedias and historical dictionaries is an excellent way to begin your research.  Encyclopedia and historical dictionary articles provide broad overviews of topics, critical questions and issues about topics, and bibliographies. 

Search the USD Library Catalog for reference works.  For example, enter United States History Encyclopedias as a subject search and browse the results.

Also, see the various e-reference works history databases in the Research Gateway.  

Search for Books at USD

Search the University Libraries Online Catalog: 

Go to the Advanced Search for more catalog search options.

Look for Books Beyond USD

Use WorldCat to find books in other libraries through the world.  Click on the "Request Item" button in the record of any book you wish to order.

 

Use ILLiad to request books that you find in the WorldCat catalog.  If you don't have an ILLiad account, sign up now.

eBook Collections

Browsing the stacks

Library of Congress Classifications (call numbers) can help you locate books and browse through possible topic areas.  After searching the catalog use these call numbers to browse other books that might be of interest.  

Class C- Auxiliary Science of History

Class D- World History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc

Class E-F- History of the Americas

Theses and Dissertations

Theses and dissertations can be searched online through Proquest.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0