LibGuides: Freshman English Information Literacy Instructors' Guide: Subject Specific Databases

Anthropology

These databases focus on anthropological topics.

Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute This link opens in a new window
900 journals in the Library of the British Museum Department of Ethnography, now known as the Anthropology Library, which incorporates the former Royal Anthropological Institute library.

Literature and Language

Humanities International Complete
A database of literary criticsm and creative writing.
MLA International Bibliography
Citation database of journal articles, books and dissertations; coverage dating back to 1963. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database of scholarly articles.

Project Muse
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language.

Medicine

CINAHL
CINAHL Complete provides full text articles from nursing & allied health journals and is useful for focused information on medical topics.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “MW Main Word in Subject Heading” if you are using a CINAHL Subject heading term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “CINAHL Headings” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for CINAHL subject terms.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
This is a useful database for many general medical topics across the medicine field. Most of the articles are full text.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Subject Term” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.
MedLine
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Use this database for in-depth medical information .
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “MeSH” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms. MeSH stands for Medical Subject Headings and are specialized subject terms for the medical field.
PubMed
PubMed provides articles and research papers on all topics of medicine. This database is useful if you want to know in-depth medical research. PubMed provides citations but may not provide full text access.

Sociology

SocINDEX with Full Text
This database covers the sociology field and offers full text articles from over 700 journals. Use this database if your topic involves social issues.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Subject Term” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.

Sports

SPORTDiscus
Comprehensive bibliographic database about sports, including: physiology, kinesiology, physical therapy, nutrition, coaching, management, education, leisure studies, and tourism, among others. Contains journal articles and monographs as well as dissertations and theses, magazine articles, books, conference proceedings, and more.

Library & Information Science

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provided by the South Dakota State Library
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text indexes more than 600 periodicals, more than 100 are available in full-text plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wlison) (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This database indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year. Charts, graphs, photos, and other valuable graphical information.