Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide for AP U.S. History and National History Day Projects

Primary Sources Available at USD (Just a few suggestions)

Archives and Special Collections is a rich resource for the study of the Dakotas with strengths in Native American history and culture, South Dakota politics, settlement of the Northern Plains, and the history of USD.  Visit I.D. Weeks 305.

The South Dakota Oral History Center collects and preserves voices of the people of the Northern Plains. Included in the Oral History Collection are over 5500 interviews which preserve indigenous memories and experiences from the 1890s to the present. Visit I.D. Weeks 231.

The New York Times

Access the New York Times Historical Archive at the link below.

Congressional Serial Set/American State Papers

Primary Sources You Can Access Anywhere/Anytime

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers provides access to newspapers published before 1923.

The Digital Library of South Dakota is a growing collection of digitized diaries, letters, photographs, newspapers, and more from the collections of university and college libraries in South Dakota.   

The Digital Public Library of America will connect you to digitized historical materials.

Primary Sources in Books at USD

Collections of letters, speeches, diaries and more are often published in books. 

For example, try searching for Martin Luther King.  Search the Catalog at USD.

Primary Sources

 

Primary sources may take many forms. Letters, diaries, newspapers, artifacts, and works of art are among these forms.  Digitized primary sources can be found at the Digital Library of South Dakota

  

Civil War letter, Archives and Special Collections

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0