Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUS 781 Introduction to Music Bibliography

The purpose of this guide is to organize the most relevant USD Library resources for participants in MUS 781.

Contents

> Tips

> Using the USD Library Catalog interface

> Searching for printed music (Classic catalog)

> Searching for audio and video (Classic catalog)

> Online audio

Tips

> Title searching works well when searching for books and journals; however, 'Keyword' searching is recommended when looking for musical scores and recordings because it can be difficult to predict how a title will appear on a score or CD.

> If you know the composer and title, combine terms from both for your search. For example brahms "string quartets"

> If you want to find scores or parts, you can include terms in your keyword search to help narrow it down, like "vocal scores" or parts.

> If you specifically want a CD and not an LP, include digital in your keyword search. This elminates most, but not all, of the LPs.

Online Audio

The University Libraries provides Naxos Music Library which contains a comprehensive collection of classical music online and offers the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues as well as Jazz and World music, educational products and a growing range of historical recordings featuring the biggest performers in the history of classical music. Multiple users can simultaneously listen to the same content or different contents at the same time.

Search the Catalog

You will find the library catalog linked from the library home page (select the link to "Advanced Search", the classic interface pictured below to search for local holdings.

See the screen shots below which illustrate several of the collection and format limiters to try for Music items.

  • To find scores, in the library catalog, set the Collection menu to Main Collection Books/Scores and do a search using the last name of the composer, set the limit to Author, and the name of the musical or song you are looking for, and set the limit to title.
  • To find librettos in the library catalog, set the Collection menu to Main Collection Books/Scores and do a search for the name of the show on the first line in the search, and the word libretto on the second line
  • To find video, audio, or other media such as LPs you can search by Collection and set it to Audio Recordings, or DVD/Video.  You can also use the Format limiter and choose Sound Recordings or Video.

  

Call Numbers for Scores

CALL NUMBERS FOR PRINTED MUSIC - M

  • M 1-3 Anthologies, including Composers Collected Works
  • M 6-1400  Instrumental Music
  • M 6-175 Music for one instrument
    • M 20-39  Piano
    • M 40-44  Violin
    • M 60-64  Flute
    • M 80-84  Horn
    • etc.
  • M 177-990 Music for two or more solo instruments
  • M 180-298.5 Duets
  • M 300-386 Trios
  • M 400-486 Quartets ...etc.
  • M 900-990 Nonets and larger combinations of solo instruments
  • M 1000-1075  Orchestral music
    • M 1001 Symphonies
    • M 1010-1011  Piano concertos
  • M 1100-1160  String orchestra
  • M 1200-1366  Other ensembles
  • M 1497-1998  SECULAR VOCAL and DRAMATIC  MUSIC
  • M 1500-1527.8  Dramatic music
  • M 1500  Operas, full scores
  • M 1503  Opera vocal scores
  • M 1520  Ballets,  scores
  • M 1528-1529.5 Duets, trios, etc. for solo voices
  • M 1547-1610 Choruses
  • M 1611-1624.8  Songs for one voice 
    • M 1621.4  Song cycles with piano
    • M 1621.5  Songs, high voice, with piano
  • M 1627-1853 National music, folksongs, popular music

  • M1999-2199 SACRED VOCAL MUSIC
  • M 2000-2007  Oratorios
  • M 2010-2017.7  Services
  • M 2018-2019.5  Duets, trios, etc. for solo voices
  • M 2020-2101.5  Choruses, cantatas
  • M 2102-2114.8  Sacred songs for one voice

WorldCat

Search for an item in libraries
near you, and anywhere in the world!

WorldCat.org >>
Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0